Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
100 Reviews
1234.815
Previous | 1 2 3...10 |
Write A Review
October 2, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
October 29, 2013

I have been sponsoring a little boy in Honduras for two years. While I am sure my money is going to help him and his family, the blessing he has given me is just as wonderful. We exchange letters re... more

October 2, 2014

I have sponsored a child through Unbound since 2011. It is a wonderful organization. The emphasis is on the children and elderly served - not on the staff and employees of Unbound. I highly recommend this charity for anyone who truly wants to help the poor and disadvantaged.
October 29, 2013

I have been sponsoring a little boy in Honduras for two years. While I am sure my money is going to help him and his family, the blessing he has given me is just as wonderful. We exchange letters regularly. I would like to sponsor more children through CFCA in the future.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 18, 2012

I sponsor a little boy in Honduras. It is a very rewarding experience. CFCA is a very caring organization. The relationship which builds between sponsor and sponsored is truly rewarding. I would highly recommend CFCA.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 27, 2014

more

August 27, 2014

I highly recommend this wonderful charity. It is the most professional and ethically responsible sponsorship program I have come across. Sponsoring a child through this program has been very rewarding for my family, especially for my children. It teaches them so much about the world and our place in it. They will be better people because of this organization. Best of all, we know that we are helping another child achieve his dreams.
August 21, 2014

more

August 21, 2014

Sponsoring a child through Unbound has been a totally rewarding experience. My wife and I enjoy exchanging letters with our sponsored child. We really feel connected to him, his family and his community and we learn how our encouragement and support are helping him. We are very impressed with the positive and personal impact Unbound is able to accomplish with our modest contributions - so impressed that we also contribute to a number of special Unbound funds which provide supplemental support to the communities or people it serves. Most impressive about Unbound is that it conducts "mission awareness" trips, so sponsors can travel to meet their sponsored child and observe first-hand how effectively their contributions are being used.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

...not change anything. It does an exceptional job.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 21, 2014

more

August 21, 2014

Marie is an elderly woman participating in Unbound. We visited Maria in Guatemala and gave her a simple blanket. She later wrote that when she prays for us or is in pain she wraps herself in this blanket.
This relationship brings great joy to each of us and to our world.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 20, 2014

more

August 20, 2014

I have previously written reviews for Unbound. You are free to use them in any of your PR and advertising efforts.

Anne F. Kriz, sponsor

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Speed up the translation and delivery of sponsor letters, as well as the approval of newly sponsored children after Awareness trips.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 20, 2014

more

August 20, 2014

I am very happy to be a part of the Unbound family. The connection which is encouraged between sponsors and individuals makes for a personal relationship and a deeper understanding of other cultures.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 20, 2014

more

August 20, 2014

Older children don't seem to be as attractive to sponsor. After reading his story,I choose a 24 year old in India who wants to become a policeman. I plan to help him finish his education and make a difference on the other side of the world which normally we really can't influence. In our high tech world,exchanging old fashion letters with Nicholas has grown into a true friendship.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 20, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 20, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

My wife and I have been sponsors with UNBOUND (formerly known as CFCA) since 1998. Between 1998 and 2004 we sponsored two young girls in Mexico. Each of these sponsored children, for one reason or another, dropped out of the program. While this was initially disappointing, there can be many reasons for this - failure to co-operate with the program, moving to a different location where services cannot be provided, etc. In each case we were notified by CFCA/UNBOUND and given the option of suspending our contributions or selecting another child. We are so glad that we selected another child as that is when Sofia came into our lives; she was eight years old at the time. In 2008, after having corresponded for four years, we went on a mission awareness trip (MAT) to Mexico to meet Sofia and to see firsthand how this organization operated and how our funds were used. During our week in Mexico we met our adorable, shy Sofia (then 12 years old), and we have been forever changed. Over the next four years, as Sofia matured, her correspondence matured as well. Our relationship deepened, and we were so proud to call her our Godchild. We looked forward to another trip to visit her, but violence in the area of her project forced CFCA to suspend trips to that area of Mexico. Unfortunately in 2012, after 8 years of sponsorship, complications made it impossible for Sofia to continue in the program. We shed more than a few tears over that, but we know that we are better off for having known her, and she us. Sofia is still our Godchild; her picture still graces our home; she is still in our prayers. We know that God is looking after her.

Since that first MAT to Mexico in 2008, we have since made MAT's to Guatemala (4), Costa Rica (2), and Chile where we sponsor or have sponsored one or more children/youth. In both Guatemala and Costa Rica (because of our return trips) we have been able to see the changes in the lives of those we sponsor. It is gratifying to see that we can make a difference, and it is humbling to realize that we are receiving more than we can possibly give.

We encourage you to join us as sponsors through UNBOUND.

Steve

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

change nothing

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 22, 2014

more

June 22, 2014

A priest came to our church and spoke about this way to help others. I was able to choose someone with a learning disability to honor my father who has a special desire to help those with learning challenges. I am glad unbound provides such detail about people we can help. I was also impressed that less than 7% of the donation goes toward administration and fund raising. I am very happy there are people in this world that dedicate their lives to help others while living modestly so that the donated funds may go to help those most in need in our world.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 20, 2014

more

June 20, 2014

My wife and I have been a sponsors for 6 years and the experience has lead us to sponsor 6 children at this time. While participating in Mission Awareness Trips in the Philippines and India, I have seen first hand Unbound's amazing work which provides the children and their families a hand-up and not a hand-out. Unbound focuses on keeping the children in school and assisting the mothers, through mother's groups, to be confident in helping improve their environment developing small businesses which brings in more income. While in India, I met at least 20 alumni who were former sponsored children who now college graduates. There was a lawyer, several nurses (one with a Master's degree) engineers software developers, a priest, a motivational speaker and other good careers. I readily endorse Unbound and encourage others to sponsor child, youth or aging who are in need of a hand-up.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

They are on the right track

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Previous | 1 2 3...10 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

help out at an Unbound presentation in your community. Volunteer