Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
62 Reviews
1234.919355
Write A Review
October 29, 2014

more

October 29, 2014

UMMA center has changed my life. The company I worked for the last twenty years moved out of state. So I found myself without a job, 43 years old, no specialized training and no computer skills. Thanks to the UMMA center I'm learning how to use a computer , and increasing my skills. Also at UMMA Center I was thankful to hear of a program CareerLink. This program helps with job skills, resume building, and interviewing skills. The great benefit is that you have the chance to gain an internship with a company. So thank you UMMA for being here for the community and for making this big impact on my life and family.
October 30, 2014

more

October 30, 2014

I'm thankful for the UMMA Center. It has helped me to perfect my skills with Microsoft Office. Ryan Gayer the Computer Instructor is very knowledgeable of what he is teaching. He has encouraged me to develop my computer skills. I thank GOD for my experience at the UMMA Center.

October 30, 2014

more

October 30, 2014

My name is Hattie Carter, I am a former student of the UMMA Center and I am now a volunteering TA to Ryan Gayer, the computer teacher. He is an excellent teacher who is very patient with the students and will answer any and all questions you may have.

The UMMA Center is dynamic in helping
their students, from the neighborhood and surrounding areas, in accomplishing their goals in education , in three major areas: The GED Program , which helps students that did not receive their diploma in getting their GED; The Computer Training Program for those that are new to computers and those that want to enhance their skills and proficiency in using the Microsoft Office Apps; such as computer basics, MS Word, Excel, PowerPoint, Access and including internet usage. The computer classes are given in English and Spanish. Upon completing the computer courses you will receive a certificate for completion. This can be added to your portfolio, which will definitely help those of you who wish to sharpen your skills so that you could possibly get a better paying job, advancement on your current job or just start you own business and they also offer a Financial Literacy Program, which can help to improve your knowledge on how to budget and how to balance a check book. The UMMA Center also has a Food Pantry to offer assistance to anyone in need of food.

By taking the computer classes, I have increased my computer savvy to where I can think seriously about a home based business and I don’t have to pay anyone to do my computer work. If you would like to increase your skills in order to boost your hiring power, or just for your own benefit, I highly recommend that you think about taking one or all of these classes that are offered to the community by the UMMA Center for “FREE” once again for “FREE”. You just can’t let these opportunities past you by. The UMMA Center is a great place.
October 30, 2014

more

October 30, 2014

I'm thankful for the time Mr. Ryan Gayer (umma center) spends teaching the Excel 2014 class

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 30, 2014

more

October 30, 2014

Thanks UMMA, after working for a company for 21 years, I lost my job, I didn't know what to do. All the experience that I had was nothing for the companies that were hiring. I need to know more about Excel, PowerPoint, Access, etc. I heart about UMMA and I call Ryan Gayer and started to learn more about all those program at the same day. I'm very happy to be part of this organization and I'm definitely learning a lot. I found a job where I don't need much of those program, but I'm still coming to classes, because I feel comfortable coming here. Ryan is on excellent instructor.

Thank you Ryan/UMMA and keep doing a great job!!!

Minerva Melchor
October 30, 2014

more

October 30, 2014

I immensely enjoy volunteering at the UMMA Center every time I have the opportunity. UMMA is an amazing organization that provides its community with great resources and aid. Volunteering at the UMMA center made me more aware of the disappointing issues at hand in our community today. UMMA works to diminish these stresses from those that are burdened by them. This organization takes every step it can to help its clients. Personally I interviewed a few clients this past summer and they couldn't help but be extremely appreciative of the UMMA Center. This organization has changed so many lives and will continue with great success in the future. I will definitely come back and volunteer at the UMMA Center with any opportunity I have!
October 30, 2014

more

October 30, 2014

I'm thankful for the time MR. Ryan Gayer (umma center) spends teaching these classes....
October 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

My Father teaches the class on Excel at the UMMA center and he told me I could learn a lot about Excel program if I took the class. So, I took the class and learn everything very quickly the program that taught me was quick and to the point about the basics of excel. although a have much to learn about excel I know a lot more thanks to this class.
October 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

UMMA does wonderful things in their community! The staff and volunteers truly care about the population they serve.
October 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I first learned about UMMA when the founder informed my husband and I about his idea to tackle poverty in the Lake County area. While it sounded like an impressive and ambitious plan at the time, we never imagined how much of a real impact it would make and how it would flourish as it has over the last ten years. We have met people whose lives have not only been enhanced and improved by UMMA's work, but significantly changed due to the opportunities, services and basic needs that UMMA has brought to them. I have no doubt that the success of the UMMA Center comes from the sincerity, dedication and enthusiasm of its team of staff, volunteers and board. Due to the numerous benefits that that the UMMA Center brings to the community, it is one of the organizations that is always on our list to support every year. We look forward to seeing more lives improved through it.
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Assemble food bags for over 50 low-income families and children, help distribute food, sort and organize clothes for our clothing drives, TA for computer class, Tutor for GED session, General Clean up and maintenance) Volunteer