Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
227 Reviews
1234.722475
Write A Review
August 24, 2012

more

August 24, 2012

Last summer, I was a volunteer at Udayan Care's Greater Noida Girls' home for about 4 weeks. In that short period of time, I learned so much academically, culturally, and personally. At first, Udayan Care's overall mission and goals are what convinced me to volunteer for this organization. But, each day, the children at this home are what truly gave me the passion to want to do better in this world. Udayan Care is an example of a great non-profit and my experiences there will never be duplicated or replaced. Whether being a volunteer, mentor, social worker, caretaker, etc., every role is important in shaping these children's lives and I believe Udayan Care is truly making a difference in India.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 15, 2012

more

August 15, 2012

Hello i'm Alex, and i lived in noida boys home. Really, i think that the experience was incredible, really fantastic. you will see another culture, all the bad things and the goods things, you will grow up like a person, and open your mind in another ways.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 3, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

July 3, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I was at the girls' home in Noida for 2,5 weeks. It was a great time. I learned a lot from the children and every day there happened something new. So it never got boring. We did different activities together, like Yoga, Dance-class or going to the park and playing there. I was really surprised how self-consistent the girls are. They told me a lot about living in India and I told them about living in Germany. It was a great exchange! There were also several challenges to be met, but it only made be stronger and more self confident. The staff of Udayan Care was very friendly and helpful! I would recommend such a volunteer trip to a totally different country to everyone. It is a great experience and helps you to see your life from a different view. Thank you for the great experience!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 18, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 18, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My association with Udayan Care Started in 2008. I used to visit their Noida Home where young boys who used to live on the streets, orphaned, drug abused; these kids found a Home where they were loved, cared and provided with everything that any child in a Middle class family can possibly have. I had the opportunity to teach some basic math, language skills but more than that I learned how happiness is not about receiving , it's about giving, sharing. Udayan Care is a very committed organization, doing a fabulous job and the credit for that goes to the leadership of the organization headed by Ms. Kiran Modi. If you want to Volunteer , teach kids, spread smiles get in touch with Udayan Care.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 17, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

more

April 17, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

I am linked with the organization from more than 6 years now. I still remember the first day the first talk and the way I was motivated to move ahead in life, with positivism, right attitude, considering those well, who are deprived than me.Being a Udayan Shalini Fellow, I feel proud and honored to tell all that I am learning everyday, growing every minute, enhancing my skills each second for the betterment of myself, family and the society. I owe all my achievements, success and identification till yet, to Udayan Care. It will not be wrong to say that Udayan Care is my second parent. Being a source of inspiration, Udayan Care has always extended the support every minute in my thick and thin and because of the same, I look forward to serve the society in all possible means I can. Thank you, Udayan Care! Always with you!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 23, 2012

more

March 23, 2012

I travelled to India in May 2011 with my twin sister. We both spent 4 weeks at the Greater Noida home. During this time, we were also a part of the annual summer camp. It was fantastic spending time with all the other children from the other homes, especially the younger ones. Whilst at Greater Noida, we spent all of our time with the children, talking, having fun, helping them with holiday homework etc. The children were all lovely and we became very close with them in a very short space of time....We also spent a day at the Gurgaon home. This was a lovely experience as it was a boys home and it differed to the Greater Noida home in the manner that it was being run by a couple. Ranjan Uncle and Lily Aunty are fantastic with the boys and treat them as their own. It had a proper family feel to it and we thoroughly enjoyed our very short stay with them. We hope to return again this summer to see all those bright smiling faces. Can't wait!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

March 22, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 22, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

We have been in practice at the orphanage in Greter Noida. In Denmark, we are studying both nutrition and health, and this practice was something special, partly because we had to go out and show what we could but also because we were going to the country that are so far from Denmark that you only read about in books. It has been a very special experience to stay at the orphanage and help the girls' daily routines, it has been something special to hear their views on health and see how little is actually needed to create happy times. We have learned much from being at the orphanage. it has been a great experience.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 17, 2012

more

March 17, 2012

I had a great experience working with Udayan Care. Out of the many things that I liked, there are two very striking features. The first is the level of professionalism exhibited by the employees of Udayan Care. I have been to many NGOs, but they are usually dainty places, with very little enthusiasm among staff. However, Udayan Care staff were motivated, energetic and highly professional (Like in a Corporate Company, only much kinder). The second thing that I loved about Udayan Care was the atmosphere it has created for the underprivileged children. Children here feel more confident, happier and at home compare to many other NGOs that I have visited. These are the striking features that I remember when I think about Udayan Care and the memory that I have had here, I shall always cherish.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 24, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 24, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I interned at Udayan Care for six weeks last summer and it proved to be one of the most satisfying experience of my life. The thing that touched me most is the cause that this organization works for. I have seen the kind of difference they have brought in the lives of its children. Those kids, who were once orphaned and abandoned without any hope for future, today lead a comfortable life of dignity and self reliance. I admire Kiran Modi, Founder and Managing Trustee-Udayan Care, for her dedication and will to make this society, this world a better place for the children.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

“Spirt, thy name is life” This is the most important learning which I am taking back from Udayan Care. Everybody in the organization, from the kids to the mentor mothers, shows immense will and spirit to move on with life. In spite of the ordeal they have gone through in the past they have learned how to smile and take the world in its stride.

February 16, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

February 16, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I, Ina Rüber, 20 years old, from Germany, volunteered for Udayan Care Home IV in Greater Noida for one year (2010-2011). I would say that this year changed my life. I started appreciating every opportunity I had and still have in my life more than ever before. Daily work with the Udayan kids included every kind of emotion. While studying, playing, discussing, jogging, cooking, painting, talking, storytelling, singing... I got attached to each child. Udayan Care is an organisation, which focus on the future of the kids and invests in the important things, like good education. I have seen a lot of NGO's but non, giving the child such a great environment as Udayan Care does. I still feel attached to this organisation and I will definetly support it further in my life. At my last visit I got the chance to visit kurushetra home and I was impressed. I guess like this a home should work. The unity between the kids was outstanding and the care provided by the mentor and caregiver was perfect. To achieve this in every home volunteers could play an important role, organising unity-creating activities once a week for example. Caregiver should be reminded that their work is not only household, but caring for the kids as well. They should be motivated to talk to the children, to get personaly attached. During my last visti to Greater Noida I could see one awesome improvement in a relation between Ushaunty (caregiver) and Arti (child). Arti sadly got diabetes and needs an injection every evening. Thus Ushaunty has to spend more time with Arti and this did a lot to their relationship. Due to this special care Ushaunty got quite more attached to Arti and cares for her in a much lovelier way than she did before. Udayan Care has a lot of potential, which I noticed in a lot of meetings, but sometimes there were more talks than activities. If every idea could be realized with the help of volunteers Udayan Care could grow signifacantly in providing the best for the child.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Spend time and share your skills with children.Help them with their homework, tell them stories, share their dreams. Encourage then to sing, dance, draw, paint, learn life skills, etc.Take them for a picnic, or Just invite them home. Volunteer