Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
203 Reviews
1234.743845
| 1 ... 3 4 5...14 |
Write A Review
July 12, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 12, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Three years (2010), I spent the summer after my sophomore year with Udayan Care. I was connected through the International Internship Office at my university, Princeton. The first week of my 2-month stay was very challenging and it took some time to get used the heat, the new language and just that general feeling of not always understanding what was going on. But by the end of my 8 weeks, I did not want to leave. The children are INCREDIBLE and this organization really thrives when there are foreign volunteers at the home. You WILL make a difference, though as I said before, prepare yourself for a challenge. This is difficult, but very rewarding work. I think about the 40 girls at the Greater Noida home often.
I was living in Thailand this past year and knew that I had to make a return trip to Udayan Care. I visited the Greater Noida home for a week and was amazing how much the children had grown and matured. Even after almost 3 years apart, the girls all remembered me and it took no time to get reacquainted. Once you get to know these children, they will always be a part of you.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make the volunteer orientation/introduction more consistent and thorough. Also place more adults in the Greater Noida home.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 25, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 25, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I've joined Udayan Care for 3 months, starting from April till the end of June. I've found this opportunity through my university (Bocconi University).
Initially i wasn't supposed to live in the homes provided by Udayan Care, since i envisage to pass the majority of my time during my internship
working in the head office of the organization.
At the end i decided for a "complete" experience, and i took the chance to live in the Noida Boys Home.
And definitly i cannot regret this decision.
I've spent 3 hard-working but wonderful months, since i was dividing myself between the project research at the head office and being at home with the kids.
I've held some guitar-classes at home, and it's wonderful to see how the children react to this kind of activities. They're always enthusiastic.
Life-changing experience. I'll definitly visit India again.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I spent 3 months in the boys home in noida sector 35.
And I am really happy that I decided to work there because I won alot of new experiences.
The most of the time I spent the time with the kids of the orphanage together, that was really good because all of them were verry friendly and
polite. We did alot of sports together cooked together I tried to help them with there homework and also some outside activities
During the time the children went to school I worked in the office of Udayan care. There I worked on some exel files but I also looked for some opportunities which I could do with the children for example outside activities.
All in all this trip was verry good it somehow changes my life now because its completly different there and you learn and see alot of new things.
So I really can recommend this, and ofcause its hard at the beginning because India is really completly different but keep going and you will love it :)
Regards

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 3, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 3, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I stayed at the Udayan Care girls home at Noida for 2 months. Most of the week I spend my time there, studying, playing etc. with the children. Twice a week I went to the head office where I did research work for some hours.These 2 months were so beautiful, enriching and fantastic. I really enjoyed working with this organisation. It was great to meet so many nice people, who were always helpful and caring. The work at the home was full of happiness, the children so open, friendly and cute that it soon felt like I was part of a big family. Though we mostly spend just the usual daily life together, each day was different, diverse and thus so amazing, always full of new stories, ideas and impressions. Through the work at the office I experienced another kind of volunteer work and had the chance to go to Delhi several times a week. That brought even more variety to my stay. Besides I experienced the amazing, beautiful and colorful Indian culture l through my stay at the girls home. Overall, it was a incredible time with Udayan Care in Delhi. And I'll try to come back soon!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 1, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 1, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

My short time at Udayan started on the 9th April. I went to the Udayan Office in Vasant Vihar and was warmly welcomed into the whole organization. That I was told my first priority, which was to go the Mehrauli Home, which house 12 girls, two of which I was to tutor and generally spend time with every week day evening, in order to help improve their English, due to their impending trip to Melbourne, Australia. The next day I went to meet Dolly Annad (Dolly Auntie), who very kindly showed me around and introduced me to all the girls, including Sheetal and Shalu, the two lovely girls I would be tutoring for the next month.
I left the house that first day feeling happy, welcomed and extremely excited about the task in hand. I went home and created a plan, which involved one of the girls work book which had been shown to me by one of their other tutors. I went through the book picking out the areas I thought would be important to people going to be speaking only English for a long period of time, aware that I there would be making changes as I got to know the girls and what their strengths and weaknesses were. For the past few weeks I have spent one hour every week day going through exercises in the book and speech exercises that I have created. One of the main problems I noticed in both of the girls was pronunciation, which I have been working on now for the past few days. Their vocabulary, pronunciation and their confidence have been the areas that I have seen the most improvement in. having said that I have seen huge progress in all areas of their work, and it makes me so happy and proud to see them doing so well in their work.
It has been the most amazing experience getting know all the girls in the house. They have all been so kind and welcoming, and I am aware that it must be hard for them to see so many people come and out of their lives so quickly. I can’t believe that I am my last week; I will miss all the girls so much. There was a party last week that celebrated all the girls’ birthdays in April, and I brought my mother along with me and it was so amazing to share all the joy the past month has brought me with her. It truly showed how much the girls and Udayan has affected my life. The past month with Sheetal and Shalu started out as a task and has finished as an achievement which has bought me nothing but joy.
Throughout the past month, I have also been working on the Volunteer’s Annual Report. It was a task that was entrusted to me, despite my concerns about my lack of ability to use a computer very well and yet it was still handed to me. This has allowed me to explore another side to what I can do and for that, I will be always grateful. It has shown me how faith in a person can in turn make them grow and achieve something they wouldn't have thought they could otherwise. The research for the report has also shown me how much the organization and the volunteers have achieved in the past year and how much a difference they have made in so many young people’s lives.
An amazing month, with so much happiness from start to finish. I have a feeling I will be coming back.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 21, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

March 21, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I interned in Udayan Care for 6 weeks and found the experience truly inspiring and full of learnings. I worked in the head office for 4 weeks where I had to interact with all the corporate employees of Udayan on a daily basis for my project. I found their perseverance and passion for the cause of Udayan awe inspiring. I also visited their Chattarpur Home for 2 weeks and had the time of my life with the children there. They are such a bright, fun-loving and friendly bunch of kids, that they will hold a special place in my heart always.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 20, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more


2 previous reviews - show all
June 26, 2012

I was at the Ghaziabad Home for girls for the second time in march and last week for 6 days. The experiences I made last week were different as it took not much time to acclimatize. It was a week full... more

March 20, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I volunteered in for Udayan Care in the Ghaziabad Home for Girls for the third time.
I stayed for 3 weeks.

Again I had a beautiful and exiting stay.

My most beautiful memories are mostly small moments, the girls sharing thoughts or feelings, calm moments which each of the
girls, when they forget their thoughts and fights and just want to sit a bit and talk or ask me to sing a song or to tell a story...

Staying full-time in the Home gives the possibility to be very close to the children and to the life in a Home. You get a near impression of the life in the home and you share a lot with the children. But it also can be stressful and makes one feel tired sometimes when there is no possibility to take distance for some time.
It makes it a very intensive experience and every home is individual with its own atmosphere, characters...

The time in Ghaziabad, I think also for other volunteers in different homes, is full of extremes, but in the end there is this feeling of looking back to an intensive time of love and joy.
That’s why I am looking forward the next time and say thank you to Udayan Care, for everything you give to the children!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 26, 2012

I was at the Ghaziabad Home for girls for the second time in march and last week for 6 days. The experiences I made last week were different as it took not much time to acclimatize. It was a week full of joy as the children had holidays and we could do a lot of fun things. We painted, danced and even went to the mall together with the menthor mother. I could see some developments of the girls, for example their english-skills improve, their looks change and also the topics of interest. Every day in the home is different, full of surprises. After a `crisis´ like a big dispute or chaotic and unmotivated study-time, there is always an even bigger high and beautiful experience. I promised that I´ll come back as soon as possible, so I have to do that ... :)

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 21, 2012

I had a great time with Udayan Care in the Ghaziabad Home for girls. Sharing the every-day-life, we had much fun. Even if I don't speak hindi and they didn't speak much english that time, we were laughing a lot. Of course not everything is always easy but all in all they showed more love then I ever could imagine before. I decided some weeks ago to visit the home again, to share some more time with the girls...

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 7, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

February 7, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

In this NGO, I know a girl named Burlburl,she can dance so well.After working here ,I have know that every child has the chance to grow up happily.Every child has potential to be a star and a singer.And every child need care.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 25, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

January 25, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I had volunteered for Udayan Care as part of our institution's Social Awareness programme. The whole exercise was very enriching in terms of how we understood the intricacies of the working of an NGO, and the efforts put in by Udayan Care in their areas of cause are extremely commendable.

The project guides were helpful and encouraged us to go beyond our mandate and come up with innovative solutions as well.

I would be looking forward to another opportunity of working with them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 25, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 25, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have spend my last five month volunteering at Udayan Care. In the morning I worked in the head office and in the afternoon I visited one of the homes where I mainly helped the children in there daily life and in there studies.
It was an amazing experience which influenced me in a very
positive way, I worked together with such lovely people and the work with the children was so much fun. I really was involved in the projects I was working on and was able to give a lot of my own impact to it.
It was an impressive time and I am really looking forward to come back.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Spend time and share your skills with children.Help them with their homework, tell them stories, share their dreams. Encourage then to sing, dance, draw, paint, learn life skills, etc.Take them for a picnic, or Just invite them home. Volunteer