Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
208 Reviews
1234.755
| 1 ... 3 4 5...21 |
Write A Review
October 3, 2013

more

October 3, 2013

It was a wonderful experience to stay with Udayan Care in India. I made an internship of 8 weeks. Besides working in the offices I lived together with the children of one house and worked with the children of another house.
In the office I had my own project was I was working on. If I had
questions there was always a person to ask for help or for getting a feedback. The atmosphere is very comfortable. Each person is friendly and helpful. Sometimes it was difficult to make clear arrangements with some persons.
The office is located near a metro station, so it is also easy to get there.
The work and living in the house was a great and extremely deeply experience. Of course it was not always easy but all in all the children appreciate the presence of international volunteers. I helped them with their homework and stuff for school, played with them and served as a friend or person of trust. The other people were also always so friendly and warm-hearted. By living in the houses it is difficult to get along with the food. I needed a lot of time to get used to it. The staying with the children gave me unique impressions about the Indian culture and helped me also to learn more about me and my values in live. So I can recommend this experience although it is not always easy to everyone who wants besides helping these children extend his or her experiences and wants to reflect his or her way of live.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 22, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 22, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

It was great experience for me to work in India. At first, it was difficult for me to get into the different environment, because oh the difference of language and culture. But as time passed, I had been used to that difference and enjoyed it. The most remineded and challengiable experience was working with Europeans, canadian and indian with English. There were many problems but through sorting out each program, I have been attached some new ideas. Thank you

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 18, 2013

more

September 18, 2013

My experience at Udayan Care has been fantastic. At the beginning it was not easy to settle into a completely different country from Italy, but after two months I can say I had a great time and I would be ready to do the same choices.
The other volunteers and colleagues were very helpful and
always very kind to me.
I spend ten days in the Noida Boys Home and it was a great experience, I played with the children and I explain them the origin of my country and some history of this.
Udayan Care is very well integrated in local territory and a lot of people know this reality.
I hope to collaborate again with Udayan Care.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

More available data

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 26, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 26, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

The 2 weeks that changed my outlook on life- working with children is really something different and the way that Udayan Care works to nurture, educate and love these precious beings is highly commendable. I wish I could transmit to everybody the warmth and purity that the people (including other volunteers, staff members) and children of Udayan Care shared with me. Although I wish my stay was longer so that I could laugh more, learn more and most of all give more0 I wouldn't exchange my experience for anything in the world. At Udayan Care, the greatest lesson that I learnt was the importance of love and companionship that the children of Sant Nagar endowed me with. The girls lived together in such a harmonious way, forgetting all their problems and coming together as a family (if not more) to form a bond that is so precious. It was here, at Udayan Care, that I made life-long bonds and friendships with some of the girls. So thank you with each teeny tiny fibre of my soul, for giving me the opportunity to learn from these beautiful children as they grow to be the future of India. Also, know that my heart has a little spot all decked out for each one of the children and I can't wait to be back! I try and keep in touch with some of the girls who have facebook and I ALWAYS recommend Udayan Care as a volunteer program to all my friends here in Melbourne. I will be back and this time for longer.
All my love,
to the Udayan Care team

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Since the last 11 months I work for Udayan Care, which is a very well organized organization.
The staff members are very heartly and courteous whereby my work was very convenient, as they helped me directly when any problems occured.
Compared to other NGO's in India, Udayan Care has a
certain structure, which is the needed base of an organization in this dimension.
My work here as a graphic designer was very inspiring as I had very often the possibility to put my own creativity into the works. This free and relaxed working conditions are what a volunteer appreciates and needs.
I worked also with the boys from Noida Boys Home, who are very lovely children . I loved to interact with them und to change experiences and intercultural knowledge. These boys are very smart und polite und brought me very close to the indian culture, even if they're compared to other people in Delhi/NCR very modern.
One of my highlights in the last 11 months was the summer camp , which happened in May. All children from the homes got together and we, the international volunteers, held workshops, where the children have been able to participate. It was very exhausting but one of the best experiences during my whole stay in India.
Join Udayan Care! I promise, you won't regret ;)

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 12, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 12, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Three years (2010), I spent the summer after my sophomore year with Udayan Care. I was connected through the International Internship Office at my university, Princeton. The first week of my 2-month stay was very challenging and it took some time to get used the heat, the new language and just that general feeling of not always understanding what was going on. But by the end of my 8 weeks, I did not want to leave. The children are INCREDIBLE and this organization really thrives when there are foreign volunteers at the home. You WILL make a difference, though as I said before, prepare yourself for a challenge. This is difficult, but very rewarding work. I think about the 40 girls at the Greater Noida home often.
I was living in Thailand this past year and knew that I had to make a return trip to Udayan Care. I visited the Greater Noida home for a week and was amazing how much the children had grown and matured. Even after almost 3 years apart, the girls all remembered me and it took no time to get reacquainted. Once you get to know these children, they will always be a part of you.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make the volunteer orientation/introduction more consistent and thorough. Also place more adults in the Greater Noida home.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 25, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 25, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I've joined Udayan Care for 3 months, starting from April till the end of June. I've found this opportunity through my university (Bocconi University).
Initially i wasn't supposed to live in the homes provided by Udayan Care, since i envisage to pass the majority of my time during my internship
working in the head office of the organization.
At the end i decided for a "complete" experience, and i took the chance to live in the Noida Boys Home.
And definitly i cannot regret this decision.
I've spent 3 hard-working but wonderful months, since i was dividing myself between the project research at the head office and being at home with the kids.
I've held some guitar-classes at home, and it's wonderful to see how the children react to this kind of activities. They're always enthusiastic.
Life-changing experience. I'll definitly visit India again.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I spent 3 months in the boys home in noida sector 35.
And I am really happy that I decided to work there because I won alot of new experiences.
The most of the time I spent the time with the kids of the orphanage together, that was really good because all of them were verry friendly and
polite. We did alot of sports together cooked together I tried to help them with there homework and also some outside activities
During the time the children went to school I worked in the office of Udayan care. There I worked on some exel files but I also looked for some opportunities which I could do with the children for example outside activities.
All in all this trip was verry good it somehow changes my life now because its completly different there and you learn and see alot of new things.
So I really can recommend this, and ofcause its hard at the beginning because India is really completly different but keep going and you will love it :)
Regards

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 3, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 3, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I stayed at the Udayan Care girls home at Noida for 2 months. Most of the week I spend my time there, studying, playing etc. with the children. Twice a week I went to the head office where I did research work for some hours.These 2 months were so beautiful, enriching and fantastic. I really enjoyed working with this organisation. It was great to meet so many nice people, who were always helpful and caring. The work at the home was full of happiness, the children so open, friendly and cute that it soon felt like I was part of a big family. Though we mostly spend just the usual daily life together, each day was different, diverse and thus so amazing, always full of new stories, ideas and impressions. Through the work at the office I experienced another kind of volunteer work and had the chance to go to Delhi several times a week. That brought even more variety to my stay. Besides I experienced the amazing, beautiful and colorful Indian culture l through my stay at the girls home. Overall, it was a incredible time with Udayan Care in Delhi. And I'll try to come back soon!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 1, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 1, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

My short time at Udayan started on the 9th April. I went to the Udayan Office in Vasant Vihar and was warmly welcomed into the whole organization. That I was told my first priority, which was to go the Mehrauli Home, which house 12 girls, two of which I was to tutor and generally spend time with every week day evening, in order to help improve their English, due to their impending trip to Melbourne, Australia. The next day I went to meet Dolly Annad (Dolly Auntie), who very kindly showed me around and introduced me to all the girls, including Sheetal and Shalu, the two lovely girls I would be tutoring for the next month.
I left the house that first day feeling happy, welcomed and extremely excited about the task in hand. I went home and created a plan, which involved one of the girls work book which had been shown to me by one of their other tutors. I went through the book picking out the areas I thought would be important to people going to be speaking only English for a long period of time, aware that I there would be making changes as I got to know the girls and what their strengths and weaknesses were. For the past few weeks I have spent one hour every week day going through exercises in the book and speech exercises that I have created. One of the main problems I noticed in both of the girls was pronunciation, which I have been working on now for the past few days. Their vocabulary, pronunciation and their confidence have been the areas that I have seen the most improvement in. having said that I have seen huge progress in all areas of their work, and it makes me so happy and proud to see them doing so well in their work.
It has been the most amazing experience getting know all the girls in the house. They have all been so kind and welcoming, and I am aware that it must be hard for them to see so many people come and out of their lives so quickly. I can’t believe that I am my last week; I will miss all the girls so much. There was a party last week that celebrated all the girls’ birthdays in April, and I brought my mother along with me and it was so amazing to share all the joy the past month has brought me with her. It truly showed how much the girls and Udayan has affected my life. The past month with Sheetal and Shalu started out as a task and has finished as an achievement which has bought me nothing but joy.
Throughout the past month, I have also been working on the Volunteer’s Annual Report. It was a task that was entrusted to me, despite my concerns about my lack of ability to use a computer very well and yet it was still handed to me. This has allowed me to explore another side to what I can do and for that, I will be always grateful. It has shown me how faith in a person can in turn make them grow and achieve something they wouldn't have thought they could otherwise. The research for the report has also shown me how much the organization and the volunteers have achieved in the past year and how much a difference they have made in so many young people’s lives.
An amazing month, with so much happiness from start to finish. I have a feeling I will be coming back.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Spend time and share your skills with children.Help them with their homework, tell them stories, share their dreams. Encourage then to sing, dance, draw, paint, learn life skills, etc.Take them for a picnic, or Just invite them home. Volunteer