Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
203 Reviews
1234.743845
| 1 2 3 4...20 |
Write A Review
January 9, 2014

more

January 9, 2014

I had a great time volunteering with Udayan Care. I spent four weeks teaching English at the Gurgaon Ghar for boys. The children are wonderful and we had a lot of fun together - in the classroom, but also in the garden playing cricket or in the kitchen having dance parties! Also everybody in the office and Mama and Papa at the home is helpful, friendly and fantastic people devoting their time to help the children.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I have volunteered with two other NGOs, and must say that Udayan by far is the most organized one! If there is any changes I would have liked considering my experience, it was to be assigned to a project prior to arrival. As it was my first time teaching abroad, the result might had been different if I had prepared a teaching plan beforehand and then customize it after spending time with the children.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 16, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 16, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I worked at Udayan Care for a month as an intern and the experience was really great. It was a wonderful opportunity for me to work in an organisation which is so well organised and dedicated for helping the children in need of care. In such a short period of time I was able to learn so much academically as well as personally. My seniors were always there to help with all the issues that came up during my interning period.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 16, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 16, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Interning at Udayan Care was an enriching experience. The one month I worked here, I gained not only in the academic front, but also on the personal front. Interning at this place was an eye-opener. The work was intensive, yet inspiring. The seniors never failed to make me feel at home. It was a beautiful experience.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

The two months I worked at Udayan Care as an intern in the office and as a volunteer in one of the homes have been a lifetime experience.
It was very interesting to get an impression of the structure of an NGO. Fundraising, communication, etc. - everything must be organized very well in order
to help as many people as possible. And Udayan Care is well organized and Udayan Care helps many people. It is an inspiring working environment if you keep that in mind. Besides, everybody in the office is very helpful, warm and kind. You feel welcome all the time and whenever you have a problem - on a professional or personal level - you find immediately somebody who will help you with joy.
The work with the children could sometimes be frustrating due to the lack of visible improvement regarding the performance at school or the behaviour in general, but of course most of the time the work with the children was very moving, fulfilling and a lot of fun!! I spent wonderful moments with the children: either something "ordinary" like playing cards, going to the park, singing and dancing together or something special like playing soccer in the rain, organizing a fashion show and celebrating birthdays... at the beginning, it was not easy to build a deeper connection towards the children because it was the period of the exams, everybody was busy and there were a lot of other volunteers/tutors in the home but with a little bit of time and patience I maintained a really good and intense relationship with all the girls in the end which is also made possible by the small amount of girls who live in a home (in my case only 10!) - you really get to know everybody very well.
At the office, I had several assignments: in the first month I helped the communication team with various things such as writing short reports for the facebook site, checking the NGO's representation on other websites and sending a lot of mails. In the second month I started with my "own" project called "international volunteer program as a chance of cultural exchange" which included some sort of essay, two surveys and their examination. I worked independently and could follow my own way. It was very interesting as it represented my interests and as it was complementary to my strengths.
On a personal level, I sometimes wondered whether my help was needed elsewhere more and whether I was really useful at Udayan Care because it is so well organized and because there are so many volunteers (which is actually a really really good thing!!). That occupied me a lot and even if I could for example see the impact I made on the children, still the question stayed in my mind.
BUT (or apart of that) Udayan Care is the perfect NGO to make first experiences with a big variety of things (there are so many programs Udayan Care has and you can work on, you can work in the office and interact with the children...) and to get the best impressions of NGO work.
I think nobody would regret to choose Udayan Care.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

improve the communication in the sense that international volunteers are not always informed (or only few days/one day in advance) about upcoming events. Personally, I could not attend one (of course also because of my time managment/illness/trips etc), but several times due to late Information or due to no Information which was sad because some of the events I missed at the beginning were with the children and could have helped me to build up a deeper connection right away.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 12, 2013

more

October 12, 2013

My time with Udayan Care was intensive and inspiring. Working as an Intern at the office as well as a Volunteer in one of the homes for orphaned and abandoned children was pretty challenging but amazing. On the professional side I learned a lot about non-profit management as well as the conception and implementation of projects. I really enjoyed the possibility to bring in one's own ideas and creativity. Your ideas are respected and taken seriously and while you are still learning, you are still invited to take an active part. During the ten weeks of my stay, I got to get an overview over the different projects run by Udayan Care and to balance practical experiences with the work at the office. Coming from a country like Germany it took some time and energy to adjust to the different living and working conditions, but it was worth the effort as I received so may things in return. Sometimes you might face frustrating situations due to cultural differences as well as to every day life in an organization, but as everyone is so supportive and easy-going this has never been a real problem for me. On the personal level, i was amazed by the friendly and personal tone and contact between everyone working at the office. When I came to India, I did not really now what to expect, i just wanted to gain some experience working in the social sector. My stay with this organization, showed me that this is the work, I want to be doing and how people working together can make some change. Thank you for everything, I hope to be back soon.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

The only point where I see room for improvement is the organizational structure, especially in terms of communication. Sometimes events and tasks came up very spontaneously and there was no time for proper planning. Flexibility is needed. As I believe that this is sometimes due to information lost in between the different lines, this could probably be improved. On the other hand, I could see, how people are already working on this and generally everything works out fine.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 3, 2013

more

October 3, 2013

It was a wonderful experience to stay with Udayan Care in India. I made an internship of 8 weeks. Besides working in the offices I lived together with the children of one house and worked with the children of another house.
In the office I had my own project was I was working on. If I had
questions there was always a person to ask for help or for getting a feedback. The atmosphere is very comfortable. Each person is friendly and helpful. Sometimes it was difficult to make clear arrangements with some persons.
The office is located near a metro station, so it is also easy to get there.
The work and living in the house was a great and extremely deeply experience. Of course it was not always easy but all in all the children appreciate the presence of international volunteers. I helped them with their homework and stuff for school, played with them and served as a friend or person of trust. The other people were also always so friendly and warm-hearted. By living in the houses it is difficult to get along with the food. I needed a lot of time to get used to it. The staying with the children gave me unique impressions about the Indian culture and helped me also to learn more about me and my values in live. So I can recommend this experience although it is not always easy to everyone who wants besides helping these children extend his or her experiences and wants to reflect his or her way of live.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 22, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 22, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

It was great experience for me to work in India. At first, it was difficult for me to get into the different environment, because oh the difference of language and culture. But as time passed, I had been used to that difference and enjoyed it. The most remineded and challengiable experience was working with Europeans, canadian and indian with English. There were many problems but through sorting out each program, I have been attached some new ideas. Thank you

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 18, 2013

more

September 18, 2013

My experience at Udayan Care has been fantastic. At the beginning it was not easy to settle into a completely different country from Italy, but after two months I can say I had a great time and I would be ready to do the same choices.
The other volunteers and colleagues were very helpful and
always very kind to me.
I spend ten days in the Noida Boys Home and it was a great experience, I played with the children and I explain them the origin of my country and some history of this.
Udayan Care is very well integrated in local territory and a lot of people know this reality.
I hope to collaborate again with Udayan Care.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

More available data

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 26, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 26, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

The 2 weeks that changed my outlook on life- working with children is really something different and the way that Udayan Care works to nurture, educate and love these precious beings is highly commendable. I wish I could transmit to everybody the warmth and purity that the people (including other volunteers, staff members) and children of Udayan Care shared with me. Although I wish my stay was longer so that I could laugh more, learn more and most of all give more0 I wouldn't exchange my experience for anything in the world. At Udayan Care, the greatest lesson that I learnt was the importance of love and companionship that the children of Sant Nagar endowed me with. The girls lived together in such a harmonious way, forgetting all their problems and coming together as a family (if not more) to form a bond that is so precious. It was here, at Udayan Care, that I made life-long bonds and friendships with some of the girls. So thank you with each teeny tiny fibre of my soul, for giving me the opportunity to learn from these beautiful children as they grow to be the future of India. Also, know that my heart has a little spot all decked out for each one of the children and I can't wait to be back! I try and keep in touch with some of the girls who have facebook and I ALWAYS recommend Udayan Care as a volunteer program to all my friends here in Melbourne. I will be back and this time for longer.
All my love,
to the Udayan Care team

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Since the last 11 months I work for Udayan Care, which is a very well organized organization.
The staff members are very heartly and courteous whereby my work was very convenient, as they helped me directly when any problems occured.
Compared to other NGO's in India, Udayan Care has a
certain structure, which is the needed base of an organization in this dimension.
My work here as a graphic designer was very inspiring as I had very often the possibility to put my own creativity into the works. This free and relaxed working conditions are what a volunteer appreciates and needs.
I worked also with the boys from Noida Boys Home, who are very lovely children . I loved to interact with them und to change experiences and intercultural knowledge. These boys are very smart und polite und brought me very close to the indian culture, even if they're compared to other people in Delhi/NCR very modern.
One of my highlights in the last 11 months was the summer camp , which happened in May. All children from the homes got together and we, the international volunteers, held workshops, where the children have been able to participate. It was very exhausting but one of the best experiences during my whole stay in India.
Join Udayan Care! I promise, you won't regret ;)

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Spend time and share your skills with children.Help them with their homework, tell them stories, share their dreams. Encourage then to sing, dance, draw, paint, learn life skills, etc.Take them for a picnic, or Just invite them home. Volunteer