Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
208 Reviews
1234.755
| 1 2 3 4...21 |
Write A Review
January 29, 2014

more

January 29, 2014

I was attached with Udayan Care for 3 weeks and during this time I have come to admire the organization greatly. The dedication and commitment of the people of this organisation is truly commendable. I have has the opportunity to visit children homes in other cities and locations but the Udayan Ghar model is by far the most thought out and amazingly well executed. Their importance on giving the children a home like environment to grow in is truly remarkable and you can clearly make out the difference interacting with the children.
Even the other programmes like the Udayan Shalini Fellowship programme is a great step in promoting education of girls/women and the results are very heartening with so many of the graduates of the programme doing so well after graduating from the programmes.
I wish all the success to the Udayan Team and would also like to thank them for the splendid work they have been doing for the past 2 decades and hope they can keep this up for decades to come.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 29, 2014

more

January 29, 2014

A grass root organization working for providing care to abandoned children - that is what Udayan Care is all about. I was given an opportunity to work for Udayan Care and it was an amazing experience of understanding the challenges that a grassroots organization face. Udayan Care has a very unique model of group foster care which aims at providing quality life to these children among its various programs. What was truely wonderful was the passion and dedication for each everyone associated with Udayan towards the common goal.
I would definitely would like to be associated with Udayan Care in future in any capacity I can contribute.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Contribute towards the great plan of affecting more lives and continue the vision of the founding trustees.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 28, 2014

more

January 28, 2014

I had a 3 week stint with Udayan Care in January,2014 as part of our b-school curriculum. This gave me a chance to understand the working of the different programmes run by Udayan Care. I was associated with the Udayan Ghar programme and the work i did was quite relevant with respect to our current curriculum. Albiet a short stint, yet i was awed to see the impact on lives of those underprivileged children, young girls being supported by Udayan. What was particularly impressive was the focus on high quality education and high quality of their programs, which is a big distinguishing factor. The role of mentor mothers and the unique group foster care model is their USP. Processes are also quite transparent in Udayan Care. Overall it was a very enriching experience.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A little

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 27, 2014

more

January 27, 2014

I was associated with Udayan Care in Delhi for 3 weeks! This gave me a chance to understand the working of the different programs run by this organisation. I was awed to see the result on lives of those underprivileged children, young girls being supported by Udayan. What was particularly impressive was the focus on ensuring high quality of their programs, which is a big distinguishing factor.
Also, the mentoring provided to the young girls associated with their Shalini program, besides financial aid, is praiseworthy. Processes at Udayan care are carried out in a transparent manner, which goes a long way in keeping the faith of donors, volunteers and everyone associated with it, and attaches a high degree of credibility which I believe is its USP.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

-

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 17, 2014

more

January 17, 2014

The two months I worked at Udayan Care as an intern will remain an unforgettable enriching grass root experience in the humanitarian field. During this short time, I learned so much personnally and professionnaly and now back in Europe, I can sincerely say this internship has changed my values and view of life. I deeply recommend Udayann Care for a first step in the NGO world. You will understand the various issues an NGO has to deal with ; how to raise funds and people's awareness, how to communicate about the projects and last but not least how to implement and evaluate them. Udayan Care is well organized and an exemple of best practises in this country.
When I came to India, I did not know what to expect, I was just wondering about my professional plans for the future. Interning at Udayan Care was eye-opener and it made me want to keep working in the social sector. I met amazing people who are completly dedicated to the children's well-being and bring about changes by working closely together. Sometimes it is not easy to adapt to the different way of living and working. You might face some personal problem or doubts about your work but you will always find someone helpful who will provide you with good advice and support. I really enjoyed the friendly and warm atmosphere at the office.
Sometimes I wondered whether I was useful for Udayan Care. I keep thinking my impact was really low due to my lack of experience but I quickly understood that everyone with creativity and new ideas can take an active part in Udayan Care work.
Thank you a ton for everything and I definitely hope to come back soon.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A little

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 9, 2014

more

January 9, 2014

I had a great time volunteering with Udayan Care. I spent four weeks teaching English at the Gurgaon Ghar for boys. The children are wonderful and we had a lot of fun together - in the classroom, but also in the garden playing cricket or in the kitchen having dance parties! Also everybody in the office and Mama and Papa at the home is helpful, friendly and fantastic people devoting their time to help the children.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I have volunteered with two other NGOs, and must say that Udayan by far is the most organized one! If there is any changes I would have liked considering my experience, it was to be assigned to a project prior to arrival. As it was my first time teaching abroad, the result might had been different if I had prepared a teaching plan beforehand and then customize it after spending time with the children.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 16, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 16, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I worked at Udayan Care for a month as an intern and the experience was really great. It was a wonderful opportunity for me to work in an organisation which is so well organised and dedicated for helping the children in need of care. In such a short period of time I was able to learn so much academically as well as personally. My seniors were always there to help with all the issues that came up during my interning period.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 16, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 16, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Interning at Udayan Care was an enriching experience. The one month I worked here, I gained not only in the academic front, but also on the personal front. Interning at this place was an eye-opener. The work was intensive, yet inspiring. The seniors never failed to make me feel at home. It was a beautiful experience.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

The two months I worked at Udayan Care as an intern in the office and as a volunteer in one of the homes have been a lifetime experience.
It was very interesting to get an impression of the structure of an NGO. Fundraising, communication, etc. - everything must be organized very well in order
to help as many people as possible. And Udayan Care is well organized and Udayan Care helps many people. It is an inspiring working environment if you keep that in mind. Besides, everybody in the office is very helpful, warm and kind. You feel welcome all the time and whenever you have a problem - on a professional or personal level - you find immediately somebody who will help you with joy.
The work with the children could sometimes be frustrating due to the lack of visible improvement regarding the performance at school or the behaviour in general, but of course most of the time the work with the children was very moving, fulfilling and a lot of fun!! I spent wonderful moments with the children: either something "ordinary" like playing cards, going to the park, singing and dancing together or something special like playing soccer in the rain, organizing a fashion show and celebrating birthdays... at the beginning, it was not easy to build a deeper connection towards the children because it was the period of the exams, everybody was busy and there were a lot of other volunteers/tutors in the home but with a little bit of time and patience I maintained a really good and intense relationship with all the girls in the end which is also made possible by the small amount of girls who live in a home (in my case only 10!) - you really get to know everybody very well.
At the office, I had several assignments: in the first month I helped the communication team with various things such as writing short reports for the facebook site, checking the NGO's representation on other websites and sending a lot of mails. In the second month I started with my "own" project called "international volunteer program as a chance of cultural exchange" which included some sort of essay, two surveys and their examination. I worked independently and could follow my own way. It was very interesting as it represented my interests and as it was complementary to my strengths.
On a personal level, I sometimes wondered whether my help was needed elsewhere more and whether I was really useful at Udayan Care because it is so well organized and because there are so many volunteers (which is actually a really really good thing!!). That occupied me a lot and even if I could for example see the impact I made on the children, still the question stayed in my mind.
BUT (or apart of that) Udayan Care is the perfect NGO to make first experiences with a big variety of things (there are so many programs Udayan Care has and you can work on, you can work in the office and interact with the children...) and to get the best impressions of NGO work.
I think nobody would regret to choose Udayan Care.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

improve the communication in the sense that international volunteers are not always informed (or only few days/one day in advance) about upcoming events. Personally, I could not attend one (of course also because of my time managment/illness/trips etc), but several times due to late Information or due to no Information which was sad because some of the events I missed at the beginning were with the children and could have helped me to build up a deeper connection right away.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 12, 2013

more

October 12, 2013

My time with Udayan Care was intensive and inspiring. Working as an Intern at the office as well as a Volunteer in one of the homes for orphaned and abandoned children was pretty challenging but amazing. On the professional side I learned a lot about non-profit management as well as the conception and implementation of projects. I really enjoyed the possibility to bring in one's own ideas and creativity. Your ideas are respected and taken seriously and while you are still learning, you are still invited to take an active part. During the ten weeks of my stay, I got to get an overview over the different projects run by Udayan Care and to balance practical experiences with the work at the office. Coming from a country like Germany it took some time and energy to adjust to the different living and working conditions, but it was worth the effort as I received so may things in return. Sometimes you might face frustrating situations due to cultural differences as well as to every day life in an organization, but as everyone is so supportive and easy-going this has never been a real problem for me. On the personal level, i was amazed by the friendly and personal tone and contact between everyone working at the office. When I came to India, I did not really now what to expect, i just wanted to gain some experience working in the social sector. My stay with this organization, showed me that this is the work, I want to be doing and how people working together can make some change. Thank you for everything, I hope to be back soon.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

The only point where I see room for improvement is the organizational structure, especially in terms of communication. Sometimes events and tasks came up very spontaneously and there was no time for proper planning. Flexibility is needed. As I believe that this is sometimes due to information lost in between the different lines, this could probably be improved. On the other hand, I could see, how people are already working on this and generally everything works out fine.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Spend time and share your skills with children.Help them with their homework, tell them stories, share their dreams. Encourage then to sing, dance, draw, paint, learn life skills, etc.Take them for a picnic, or Just invite them home. Volunteer