Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
217 Reviews
1234.737335
Write A Review
February 26, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 26, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I had such an amazing experience volunteering for the Udayan Care girls home in Greater Noida earlier this year. The sense of family and friendship was so evident as soon as we got there. The girls, Auntie and Uncle warmly welcomed us & made us feel right at home. We refurbished the dining room and tv room during the mornings and lead workshops with the girls later in the afternoon.

I was able to experience first hand the work that Udayan Care do, not only for their residents, but for the local community. Their work is truly life changing and they give young boys and girls a chance to succeed, to ensure their future is much better than their past.

I would recommend Udayan Care to anyone looking to volunteer in the future!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 25, 2014

more

February 25, 2014

Udayan Care do some excellent work with the children that they home - providing shelter, food, an education and most importantly a sense of family! I thoroughly enjoyed my time at the home in Greater Noida, Delhi and look forward to visiting again. Mitul Lakhani

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 25, 2014

more

February 25, 2014

I visited the Greater Noida Home in Delhi, with a team of 6 members from asos.com we helped to refurbish their TV Room and the Dining area but we also ran workshops with the children. I was there for 10days..

My Experience at Udayan Care has truly been amazing! From all the refurbishment
work to every single workshop carried out by all volunteers, it got better day by day. I have learnt so much in only 10 days and the entire experience has inspired me to continue working with local communities in london to really make a difference

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 25, 2014

more

February 25, 2014

The 10 days spent with Udayan Care and the Girls were the best 10 days of my life. It was a life changing experience, the love and respect we received from the girls was incredible. We hope they are enjoying their new refurbished TV and Dining room.

The work Udayan Care do is life
changing, they give young boys and girls a chance in life, a chance to become something and a chance to decide their future.

Ankita Patel x

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

NONE

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 7, 2014

more

February 7, 2014

EXCELLENT ORGANIZATION! In my search for an NGO based in Delhi to volunteer my time with I happened to stumble upon Udayan Care. I feel very fortunate for having found such a passionate and caring organization to volunteer with. Udayan has diverse rolls available to volunteers; ranging from being a mentor to children at a Udayan home (ghar) to advocacy work. There is no shortage of volunteer opportunities for one to help in Udayan Care’s mission of empowering India’s disadvantaged youth to realize their full potential by providing quality care and education to those in their care. Everyone I encountered during my time with Udayan was welcoming with open arms and passionate about Udayan Care’s mission. I was happy to learn during my orientation about Udayan’s commitment to transparency and accountability at all levels of the organization, and this becomes apparent during one’s volunteer period. I had the wonderful experience of being placed in the Gurgaon boy’s home to improve the children’s English. The mentor parents at the home, Mr. and Mrs. Ghosh, are two of the most wonderful people I have had the pleasure of knowing. The love and affection shared between everyone is immediately felt when you arrive at the home. It brings a smile to one’s heart when you see the impact Udayan Care’s work has on the orphaned and disadvantaged children of India. I could not recommend a better organization to volunteer one’s time with. You will be sad when your volunteer period is over, but you can take solace in knowing you contributed to a great organization and are now part of the Udayan Care family.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 1, 2014

more

February 1, 2014

I did my internship with Udayan Care in January, 2014. Initially, I did not have much idea about the activities of the organization, but when I spoke to several people at the NGO, I was very inspired with the kind of dedication and commitment put by them in all activities of the organization. During the three week internship stint, we developed a case study on Udayan Care, covering several aspects of the organisation. I also had the opportunity to visit Udayan Ghars and interact with the kids and mentor mothers and I was very impressed by the entire Ghar model. The organization’s administration was extremely helpful and made us feel completely at home. I would like to thank them for the brilliant work they have been doing for the past 2 decades and hope they can keep this up for decades to come.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Integrate the functionalities of the organisation by bringing in advanced IT systems, employ professionals at positions like COOs

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 31, 2014

more

January 31, 2014

I interned with Udayan Care in the month of January, 2014. When I went to the NGO, I did not have a lot of idea about the functioning of the institute. But of the very first day, I was very impressed by the activities of the NGO and how it goes ahead to achieve its goals. During my three week stint, my team developed a case study on Udayan Care, covering several aspects of the organisation. The institute's administration was extremely helpful and made us feel completely at home. At the end of three weeks, I felt like my stay at the NGO had been really short and would have loved to continue my association with Udayan. Unfortunately, my hectic academic schedule does not allow that sort of freedom and I hope to associate with Udayan once I am in my professional life.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Integrate the functionalities of the organisation by bringing in advanced IT systems, employ professionals at positions like COOs

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 30, 2014

more

January 30, 2014

I had an incredibly enriching experience at Udayan Care. I learned about NGO and program management from some extremely dedicated people who work at the organization. I benefited from writing policy at the headquarter level, but I've also benefited largely from interacting with the wonderful children at the foster home.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 29, 2014

more

January 29, 2014

Udayan Care, a child welfare NGO, is solely driven by the enthusiasm and the dedication of its employees. The trustees and employees of Udayan Care are passionately committed to serve the society and one can feel their dedication just by observing their daily routine. Despite facing several challenges like attrition of employees, procuring more funds etc, Udayan remains true to its purpose- to empower vulnerable children, women and youth. I had the opportunity to visit their Sant nagar and Mayur Vihar ghars, which offered conducive environment for the children to grow into successful human beings and the activities that were carried out ensured a great balance between their academic rigour and extra-curricular events. Interacting with some of the children like Lucky, who is the youngest member of the Sant Nagar home, made it quite evident that children felt safe and were enjoying their stay at Udayan thanks to the motherly love given by some of the mentors like Mrs Madhu Gupta. To sum up, the past 3 weeks at Udayan was a very enriching experience and hopefully my association with them continuous forever.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Employ a COO who would reduce the load off Dr. Kiran Modi, who is the managing trustee at Udayan Care.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 29, 2014

more

January 29, 2014

I was attached with Udayan Care for 3 weeks and during this time I have come to admire the organization greatly. The dedication and commitment of the people of this organisation is truly commendable. I have has the opportunity to visit children homes in other cities and locations but the Udayan Ghar model is by far the most thought out and amazingly well executed. Their importance on giving the children a home like environment to grow in is truly remarkable and you can clearly make out the difference interacting with the children.
Even the other programmes like the Udayan Shalini Fellowship programme is a great step in promoting education of girls/women and the results are very heartening with so many of the graduates of the programme doing so well after graduating from the programmes.
I wish all the success to the Udayan Team and would also like to thank them for the splendid work they have been doing for the past 2 decades and hope they can keep this up for decades to come.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Spend time and share your skills with children.Help them with their homework, tell them stories, share their dreams. Encourage then to sing, dance, draw, paint, learn life skills, etc.Take them for a picnic, or Just invite them home. Volunteer