Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
216 Reviews
1234.736115
Write A Review
August 9, 2014

more

August 9, 2014

What a honour it was to work with the children and the staff at Udayan Care. This is truly an agency that is visionary and progressive in serving the needs of the most vulnerable to see children empowered to fulfill their full potential. The insight, resilience and hope that is present in each of the children I had the pleasure to work with will be a motivator for community wide change. Continue to believe in your vision and hold fast to the courageous and meaningful work that is being done in individuals as well as for greater realms of society. I will always hold closely my experience with Udayan Care.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 2, 2014

more

August 2, 2014

What a great experience with Udayan!!!. I came with a perception of gaining from field work. But to my outmost surprise, Udayan has given me more than I had expected. My notion and looking at the world has been greatly metamorphosed. Seeing the satisfaction and happiness on these young faces at Mayur Vihar 1, has inspired me to be happy and content with myself. It has been a pleasure working with Udayan. The one month I spent with Udayan has really been fruitful. I hope to stay in touch with the NGO and help them with as much as i can. Thanks to the Volunteer department and the entire Udayan administration for their support.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

First and foremost: i would improve on the internet connectivity. Secondly: Would introduce the expert volunteer programs and lastly inspire and motivate the already enthused workers to continue with their good works.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 2, 2014

more

August 2, 2014

it was my great pleasure to work with Udayan Care as an intern for almost two months. i have learned the importance to give back to the society and the happiness in helping others. i will always be very greatful to this organization for providing me this opportunity to gain experience in the field of organizational behaviour.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 11, 2014

more

July 11, 2014

Working with Udayan has been a great delight. I came with a perspective of gaining exposure in field work and handling matters in the administrative level , and Udayan has given me more than I could ask for. My thinking and looking at the world has tranformed drastically , I am taking back with myself an emotion of gratitude towards what all I have. Seeing the satisfaction on these young soul's faces has been an eye opener for me. It was a pleasure working here , the one and a half months that I spent year were indeed fruitful. I hope to stay in touch with the NGO and help them with as much as i can. :)

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

For the interns , have more inspirational talks with influential figures , so we are motivated through and through

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 10, 2014

more

July 10, 2014

Udayan Care is a NGO that regenerate the rhythm of life of the disadvantaged. The six weeks that i spent my time being a volunteer there, was the best time of my life. i was able to work not only at the office, but with this kids at one of the Udayan ghars (home).
At the head office i could
collect some informations of those who help the organization with donations. Every person i met there was friendly and they made me fell home. I used to go everyday (monday to friday) to one of the homes, a house with 12 girls from 10 to 15 years old. Since the first day, i was completely in love with all of them, we had the best time ever, studying and also having fun.
What Udayan provides for this children in incredible and i will always be proud of myself for being part of this organization and thankful for what i learned with them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 1, 2014

more

July 1, 2014

I feel I had great fun working with the kids. Some of them were eager to learn, and a few were restless, but overall, all of them were very welcoming, interactive and friendly, so it was an amazing experience. The positive aspects, I believe, were that the place was not very far, and the kids lead very normal lives, like any of me and my family. They had school, homework, tuition, television, tennis classes, painting , dancing, singing, pretty much everything a middle class kid has, which made me glad that they were a part of this ghar and glad that I was a part of the volunteering programme with Udayan.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I believe that if we would have got our confirmation for working with the ghar a little earlier, we would have been able to help the kids much more. Also, I would recommend that the NGO should get into more contact with the volunteers and the placement supervisors should give us proper guidelines as to what has to be done with a kids on a daily basis.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 13, 2014

more

June 13, 2014

I have been an intern at Udayan Care for 3 months and it has been one of the most interesting and amazing experience i have ever had. I had the opportunity to work in the head office as well as in the children home.
I collected data of university and i maintained the correspondance with
universities all over the word to increase the size of our volunteer program. The office environment is relaxed and familiar, collegues are friendly and always there if you need any kind of help.
i also worked with children, girls from 8 to 15 years old. The children made my India, as i always say. They are amazing, smart and i have learnt a lot about indian culture from them. I think that UC is doing a great work for these children,what i want to underline is that children do not live in an unique building as an orphanage but they have proper home. each home has 12 girls or boys , supervisors and mentor mothers that create a familiar atmosphere . Each home is a real family, the only difference is that each girl has 11 sisters. Supervisor and Mentor Mother are amazing and they excellently educate girls.
i am proud of being part of such a organization, i strongly recommend Udayan Care to everyone is interested in this kind of organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 24, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

May 24, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I really recommand Udayan Care to everybody who wants to work with children, do something useful and discover India at the same time. Volunteering for Udayan Care really changed my life. I am in my second year of master to become primary school teacher and my work at Udayan Care was divided into two: the morning I worked on networking with International Universities for the Head Office and I spent every afternoon in one of their home teaching the basis of English to the four youngest girls(3 to 7 years old). It was a big challenge because I do not speak Hindi and my little pupils obviously did not speak English but the magic part of it is that somehow with flashcards, drawing and acting we managed quite well. As a future primary school teacher, this experience gave me the opportunity to face a situation that, back home, every teacher is scared to face because he does not know how to do and do not really have the time to experiment because he has 20 other pupils to teach to. My strategy was to teach through games and it worked quite well. As I had really few material, it also gave me the opportunity to create mine and let express my own creativity. I am proud to say that my little pupils have reach quite a level for their age, especially the 3 years old one, and I received so much love back from them. I also took some times to get to know the 9 older girls of the home and I am also glad I did. They are so lively, cute and sweet. The two mentor mothers, the supervisor, the care-giver and the social worker of my home gave me a lot of support through my stay and I have to say that they do an amazing job: the girls really feel at home, they are well treated and they receive a lot of love. It was really hard for me to leave everyone and I definitely want to go back one day at least to say hello and spend some times with them.

My stay at Udayan Care which was related to the writing of my master thesis about plurilinguism and how other languages spoken by children can be included at school, participates to that amazing mark I have received for it: 20 over 20. Thank you Udayan Care

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 14, 2014

more

March 14, 2014

Volunteering at Udayan Care Greater Noida was such an experience! I wouldn't do it justice if I was to put it into words so suggest EVERYONE takes a visit there to see how much of an experience it is! From day 1 of arriving we were made us feel so welcome: it was like we were long lost family members. Udayan Care are doing a great job and I was so glad to be a part of their mission of creating a family home for those who have come from disadvantage backgrounds. The girls were so lovely and accommodating and really made me realise that sometimes giving your time and presence is better than donating your money.
February 26, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 26, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I had such an amazing experience volunteering for the Udayan Care girls home in Greater Noida earlier this year. The sense of family and friendship was so evident as soon as we got there. The girls, Auntie and Uncle warmly welcomed us & made us feel right at home. We refurbished the dining room and tv room during the mornings and lead workshops with the girls later in the afternoon.

I was able to experience first hand the work that Udayan Care do, not only for their residents, but for the local community. Their work is truly life changing and they give young boys and girls a chance to succeed, to ensure their future is much better than their past.

I would recommend Udayan Care to anyone looking to volunteer in the future!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Spend time and share your skills with children.Help them with their homework, tell them stories, share their dreams. Encourage then to sing, dance, draw, paint, learn life skills, etc.Take them for a picnic, or Just invite them home. Volunteer