Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
62 Reviews
1234.903235
Previous | Next
Write A Review
October 17, 2014

more

October 17, 2014

My first introduction to UCP of Central PA was 7 years ago when my daughter received physical therapy services through the early intervention program and a therapist from UCP. Soon thereafter I began to learn more about the variety of services offered to not only children, but also adolescents and adults with disabilities, many of which have disabilities other than cerebral palsy. Compelled to give back to the community, I began volunteering with various committees and attending special events. A few years later I was asked to join the Board of Directors.

Through my experiences with UCP of Central PA, I have come to meet many great people and have witnessed the magic that this organization provides to the greater community we all live in. The staff, volunteers, and supporters all collectively serve the mission of providing for a life without limits for people with disabilities. This organization will always hold a special place in my heart.
October 16, 2014

more

October 16, 2014

I first became involved with UCP after taking a tour of the children's center and realized that this is an organization that is doing incredible work for our community. Over my years of volunteering with UCP I have to come to believe that we have a group of the finest staff and volunteers who do such wonderful work with individuals of all disabilities. Our community is so much stronger because of the dedicated work of UCP's staff and volunteers!
October 11, 2013

more

October 11, 2013

I've been familiar with UCP and its services for about 30 years now. My mom's best friend's daughter was born with Cerebral Palsy and we always spent a good deal of time together growing up. She benefited from UCP's Early Intervention Programs from a very early age and now in her adult life she participates in the Hanover Street Neighbors, which is a joint program between UCP and CPARC (I believe).

About 5 years ago I was enrolled as a student in Leadership Cumberland, a program for professionals which promotes community involvement. We were required to serve as an intern for a non-profit board so we could witness and learn how boards work. I didn't hesitate to volunteer for the UCP Board Internship. Over the past 5 years I have learned so much about the multitude of ways that UCP works with its consumers of all ages achieve independence. I've volunteered on several committees and have now served on the Board as a full member for 3 years. This all came full circle for me when I found out that my friend was going to be one of the consumers to move into our newest group home. I've talked with my mom's friend and while it was hard to move her daughter into a new place after taking care of her 30 years, her daughter absolutely loves her new home and they are all happy.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I can't think of changes that are needed. The staff and all of the wonderful volunteers truly do a remarkable job and are so dedicated to the organization.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 8, 2013

more

October 8, 2013

My first experience with UCP was through services they provided to my young daughter. I was impressed with the caregivers and all aspects of the organization. When i was later asked to get involved as a volunteer, it was a no-brainer. I felt that was the least I could do for an organization that did so much for my daughter. That was more than 8 years ago. I have been a volunteer every since. As a volunteer, I have been fortunate to be a Board Member, Secretary, Board Chair and serve on various Committees. I am inspired daily by the dedication of the employees and fellow volunteers. There is truly a collective effort to achieve the organization's mission every single day. If you or someone you know needs their help, don't hesitate to ask. If you want to get involved, don't wait. You'll be glad you did.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

i can't think of any.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 8, 2013

more

October 8, 2013

My family has directly benefitted from services provided by UCP of Central PA. The professionalism, knowledge, and care shown by its volunteers is a testament to the organization. My wife and I would have been lost without the care and expertise of our son's physical therapist. His first steps were a direct result of her care. These truly dedicated volunteers and staff are a great asset to Central Pennsylvania!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 21, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
February 21, 2011

I have been involved with UCP Central PA for 25 years, beginning as a volunteer for special events. I have served on many committees, worked as a volunteer on multiple fundraisers and served a term as Board President. I have always said that the dedication of the staff is my reason to stay very involved. I learned about UCP and its excellent programs from fellow volunteers and cannot recall the number of parents of service recipients who have praised UCP and its staff for miraculous results of therapies, counseling, etc. Good friends and parents of Joey credit UCP with his current school success. Staff commitment, innovation, and caring never waver. Staff inspires me to remain a lifelong volunteer!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Parents, who are friends, have shared the positive results of UCP programs for their children.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

If I could, I would further ensure UCP's future financial stability through fundraising for the UCP Foundation.

December 21, 2010

more

December 21, 2010

I have participated on the Board of Directors of UCP Central PA for many years and I continue to be amazed at the number of people with disabilities they help every day. This is a well run, efficient, effective community resource and I am proud to be a small part of it.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

...by witnessing the services they provide to people with disabilities throughout our community.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

...not know what to change!

October 29, 2010

more

October 29, 2010

Over 12 yrs ago I was introduced to UCP of Central PA. What makes this organization stand out is the dedication and passion the employees have towards their job, and the consumers they serve. The programs and services this organization provides to the community go way beyond just suppporting individuals with Cerebral Palsy. They have developed programs to assist and support all types of disabilities, and the family members of those individuals. It is an organizations like UCP that make a community shine! I am inspired, honored and humbled by being on the Board of this great organization.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have friends around me who have had their lives changes because of the support they received from UCP of Central PA.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

October 25, 2010

more

October 25, 2010

UCP Central PA offers services to all ages and levels of special needs. I am not only a board member, but both my children attended UCP's Inclusive daycare. This experience allowed my children not to differentiate or judge those with special needs and taught them acceptance of all. I also needed early invention when our son had meningitis. UCP tested our son for developmental delays so we could work with him to improve his abilities that were affected. UCP is here to help with anything from early childhood delays to providing housing to adults with special needs to give them the opportunities to live a fulfilling life. UCP has touched the lives of many people in our community in a positive way and continues to provide quality service to anyone in need.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

When my daughter attended the inclusive daycare there was a boy in her infant room who could not walk, talk or feed himself and the parents were given little hope from doctors for improvement i saw this boy improve over the years he was able to feed himself and had learned to speak several words. The most moment us achievement was at their preschool graduation when he came onto the stage with a walker and walked to receive his diploma. There was not a dry eye in the house.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

The most difficult task with UCP Central PA is educating the public so that everyone knows that they help with all needs not only cerebral palsy. Every person who volunteers, works for or has received services from UCP has accepted this challenge and continues to promote the depth of this organization.

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers