Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
63 Reviews
1234.904765
Write A Review
October 27, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 27, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Our wonderful and amazing son was born with a rare brain malformation. Not knowing what to expect we turned to early intervention to help evaluate and educate him. We picked 5 therapists that worked with our son and 4 of those came from UPC. We had the best experience with each of the therapists. Not only did they give therapy to our son they taught us as well. We have learned so much from what we need to do to help our son to where to go for resource material and help. The biggest most valuable thing our therapists helped us with was how to appreciate and cherish our son's accomplishments and not compare him to any other child. That means the world to us because we no longer dwell on what he can't do and are truly happy and blessed for our son being who and where he is today. Our son has benefited the most from our experience. It is because of the dedicated, caring, and talented therapists that he is able to now meet some awesome milestones. He can roll, high five, eat by mouth, activate toys, give hugs, give doggie kisses, and take steps in his gate trainer all because of the therapists that worked with him. This is only the beginning, because of the awesome foundations he received he will be able to build off them and we know he will achieve much more in life. The therapists are like family and we couldn't ask for more knowledgeable, wonderful people.
October 21, 2014

more

October 21, 2014

The children that I am raising all have special needs and UCP gives them opportunity to do things as a family to enjoy activities with out being hindered thank you very much.
October 20, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 20, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

UCP is the only place anywhere near me that offers Sibshops for siblings of children with disabilities. It is well worth the 45 minute drive once a month for my daughter to be able to interact with a group of other kids who have differently abled siblings. The people who run this program are fantastic, truly caring people. We also utilize a respite program that uses one of UCP's adult day program centers, and we have always been pleased on how the UCP staff works with both our children....special needs or not. Highly recommend UCP!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 20, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 20, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

My entire family has been blessed by the work of UCP. We have participated in a variety of activities, as a family, including the Christmas Craft Party and Swim Parties. My younger son has participated in a wonderful program called Sibshops for the siblings of children with disabilities. Both my boys have enjoyed trips to Monkey Joes as well as the Fall Family Fun Festival. All of these programs have been available to us for a nominal donation. We have definitely been blessed by the work of UCP and the terrific people that work there.
October 20, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 20, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

As a parent with a special needs son, UCP has been invaluable to not only our son, but to our entire family as well. We have been to UCP's many family functions as well as Sibshop for our neurotypical son. This is an amazing organization that is well run, always striving to improve, frequently seeks parental input, and is very supportive of the family as a whole, not just the person with special needs. We have recommended different programs within UCP to friends because we see the value in those programs and wish to pass the help along. We are so appreciative of all the work UCP has done over the years!
October 10, 2013

more

October 10, 2013

I have two children, one attended the daycare for two and a half years from age 3-5, the other has been enrolled in the daycare program since 12 weeks old and continues to attend. We moved our oldest child to the daycare center because of the smaller number of children in each room. She was at another daycare center where the class size increased to 18-20 children with 2 teachers at age 3. Not only did my daughter find that overwhelming, but I did too. At Capital Area Children's Center the classes have typically had 8-10 children with 3 teachers, thus providing much smaller classroom sizes, and a better teacher to student ratio, to allow more focus on educating the children. My youngest child has experienced the same situation with the 3 classrooms he has been in so far. The center always seems very calm and the teachers, regardless of classroom, know all the children's names. What we like most about the center is the way the children are taught to help one another through continual interaction with teachers, and are actively involved in creating a calm and orderly learning environment.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 10, 2013

more

October 10, 2013

I have been involved with UCP Central PA for many years, first as a volunteer, then as a camp counselor, and most recently as a parent of a child in their daycare program. Every employee that I have worked with truly cares about the program and overall mission of the organization. I look forward to my family's continued involvement with UCP Central PA.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2010

more

October 31, 2010

My daughter has been served by UCP for almost 30 years......Early Intervention with Physical and Speech therapies in the 80's, Summer Camp in the 90's and Day Programs and the Lending Library in the 00's........... They also have a new Apartment Plus Program in Carlisle that provides staff and support for the residential needs of consumers with MR who need more that 6 hours of support a week. This organization is also a strong advocate locally, state-wide, and nationally as this special population faces more and more budget cuts. They continue to provide different services for different needs at different times in the life of the consumer.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

services for my daughter over a span of almost 30 year

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

increase public awareness of available services.

October 30, 2010

more

October 30, 2010

My family has utilized UCP’s services for over 10 years, starting with my 14 year old son attending their wonderful inclusive preschool program. Also my daughter has participated in their Sibshop program for 5+ years, I have been to a many presentations and trainings offered for parents who have a child with a disability, and my family has attended various Family Activities. Having a child with a disability affects my entire family in many ways. It has been great to have these services and opportunities available to us to help strengthen our family, network with others in similar situations, and enjoy activities that we would not have been able to in a typical environment. Thanks so much for all you do!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

utilizing the many programs offered in Family Support Services and the inclusive preschool classroom when my son was younger.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

like to see more funding available for them to continue to grow and make even more of an impact on the lives of families and children with disabilities.

October 28, 2010

more

October 28, 2010

We became involded with UCP Central PA after our daughter was born with CdLS. They have provided our family with many valuble services including their "Sib Shop" for the siblings of special needs children. This is a wonderful program that allows brother and sisters to share their experiances. We have also gone to many other parent oriented programs and have found them all to be worthwhile and very well done. UCP of Central PA is staffed by a truly wonderful group of talented and caring people.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Education and programs for our children.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Start a parent support group with childcare.

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers