Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
63 Reviews
1234.904765
| 1 2 3...7 |
Write A Review
October 16, 2014

more

October 16, 2014

I first began a relationship with UCP when I moved to the area and enrolled my son in the daycare program at the age of 17 months...he is now 24 years old and UCP remains a large part of our lives. I could not have asked for better services, more caring providers and more engaged professionals than my son and I were afforded from the UCP staff. My son is still receiving services from UCP; he is living independently now and thriving under UCP coaching staff; much of his success for lviing independently is due to the exceptional care and teaching from UCP personnel through the years. We have not only received services from UCP but have had the privilege to volunteer at many UCP functions and events and work with UCP management, staff and clients throughout the years. It has been an awesome 24 year relationship with UCP....my son, Logan would have no other agency but UCP to provide him services and enjoys little more than to spend time volunteering at UCP and engaging with the staff and other clients. Thank you for giving and giving back to our children and our community!
October 16, 2014

more

October 16, 2014

I began working with UCP on a professional level as a vendor filling some of their printing needs years ago. During this time I have come to know many of the wonderful people working there and have learned so much about their mission and the great work they do. Their dedication is amazing, and the stories I've heard of how UCP has changed lives are truly inspirational. I have also volunteered at their annual gift wrap fundraiser, which is a great way to get out and share some holiday "giving" spirit by doing your part for this great organization. I have nothing but positive things to say about everyone I've ever encountered at UCP!
October 16, 2014

more

October 16, 2014

I first became involved with UCP after taking a tour of the children's center and realized that this is an organization that is doing incredible work for our community. Over my years of volunteering with UCP I have to come to believe that we have a group of the finest staff and volunteers who do such wonderful work with individuals of all disabilities. Our community is so much stronger because of the dedicated work of UCP's staff and volunteers!
October 15, 2014

more

October 15, 2014

For many years I have been involved with a very special adaptive sports camp, Camp STAR. Several years ago, we went through a difficult time and were in danger of closing the camp. UCP came to the rescue. This all volunteer camp provides an opportunity to be competitive in adaptive sports such as scuba, wheelchair racing, kayaking and basketball, to name a few. UCP stepped up to help us continue to help others through this 3 day camp. Thanks UCP!
October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

I thoroughly enjoy volunteering at UCP, as each experience is positive and life-changing. Employees and fellow volunteers work hand-in-hand to achieve the organization's mission. My brother has special needs and would not be as successful and independent as he is today without the services and support from an organization like UCP.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 16, 2013

more

October 16, 2013

I have worked with UCP as an organizational partner, volunteer, and supporter for a number of years. Our church partners with many community organizations offering services to our area. UCP is the most effectively operated, caring and helpful organization with whom we work. All of their employees, staff and leadership are outstanding. We've introduced the joy of helping those with disabilities to many of our members through the years - largely because of our UCP partnership. Because of their leadership, both the lives of those being served and those serving are changed for the better.
DHamilton

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 15, 2013

more

October 15, 2013

I am the third generation in my family to volunteer, and be involved in, service work for UCP. I, personally, have found a link between the kids at UCP and my family at home. Volunteering at UCP for many years now has changed my outlook on how i live my life and how i treat others. The workers at UCP do not look at disabilities as a negative, but as a positive, life changing thing. I am involved in many activities and groups in UCP, and they all run well with the common theme of the better good for not only those involved in UCP, but others in the community, and even others nationally.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 15, 2013

more

October 15, 2013

I work as an academic facilitator and advocate for a college student with multiple physical challenges. I became involved with UCP when, despite those challenges, their foundation office offered her an internship during the summers of 2012 and 2013.

The staff at the UCP Foundation office
went far above the typical internship duties and assignments. They provided her with challenging and career specific opportunities to contribute to their organizational efforts. She was given the chance to write pieces for their newsletters, and they even used a project she designed as an on-going fund-raiser.

She was accepted and included as an integral part of their staff, included in meetings, and her input was sought on events they were planning. The entire staff provided such a positive experience for her and encouraged her career efforts and confidence more than most people will even know. Thank you to the entire UCP Foundation staff!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Keep providing opportunities like those given to my student!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 11, 2013

more

October 11, 2013

I've been familiar with UCP and its services for about 30 years now. My mom's best friend's daughter was born with Cerebral Palsy and we always spent a good deal of time together growing up. She benefited from UCP's Early Intervention Programs from a very early age and now in her adult life she participates in the Hanover Street Neighbors, which is a joint program between UCP and CPARC (I believe).

About 5 years ago I was enrolled as a student in Leadership Cumberland, a program for professionals which promotes community involvement. We were required to serve as an intern for a non-profit board so we could witness and learn how boards work. I didn't hesitate to volunteer for the UCP Board Internship. Over the past 5 years I have learned so much about the multitude of ways that UCP works with its consumers of all ages achieve independence. I've volunteered on several committees and have now served on the Board as a full member for 3 years. This all came full circle for me when I found out that my friend was going to be one of the consumers to move into our newest group home. I've talked with my mom's friend and while it was hard to move her daughter into a new place after taking care of her 30 years, her daughter absolutely loves her new home and they are all happy.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I can't think of changes that are needed. The staff and all of the wonderful volunteers truly do a remarkable job and are so dedicated to the organization.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 10, 2013

more

October 10, 2013

I have two children, one attended the daycare for two and a half years from age 3-5, the other has been enrolled in the daycare program since 12 weeks old and continues to attend. We moved our oldest child to the daycare center because of the smaller number of children in each room. She was at another daycare center where the class size increased to 18-20 children with 2 teachers at age 3. Not only did my daughter find that overwhelming, but I did too. At Capital Area Children's Center the classes have typically had 8-10 children with 3 teachers, thus providing much smaller classroom sizes, and a better teacher to student ratio, to allow more focus on educating the children. My youngest child has experienced the same situation with the 3 classrooms he has been in so far. The center always seems very calm and the teachers, regardless of classroom, know all the children's names. What we like most about the center is the way the children are taught to help one another through continual interaction with teachers, and are actively involved in creating a calm and orderly learning environment.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers