Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
49 Reviews
1234.897965
Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review
October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

I thoroughly enjoy volunteering at UCP, as each experience is positive and life-changing. Employees and fellow volunteers work hand-in-hand to achieve the organization's mission. My brother has special needs and would not be as successful and independent as he is today without the services and support from an organization like UCP.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 16, 2013

more

October 16, 2013

I have worked with UCP as an organizational partner, volunteer, and supporter for a number of years. Our church partners with many community organizations offering services to our area. UCP is the most effectively operated, caring and helpful organization with whom we work. All of their employees, staff and leadership are outstanding. We've introduced the joy of helping those with disabilities to many of our members through the years - largely because of our UCP partnership. Because of their leadership, both the lives of those being served and those serving are changed for the better.
DHamilton

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 15, 2013

more

October 15, 2013

I am the third generation in my family to volunteer, and be involved in, service work for UCP. I, personally, have found a link between the kids at UCP and my family at home. Volunteering at UCP for many years now has changed my outlook on how i live my life and how i treat others. The workers at UCP do not look at disabilities as a negative, but as a positive, life changing thing. I am involved in many activities and groups in UCP, and they all run well with the common theme of the better good for not only those involved in UCP, but others in the community, and even others nationally.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 15, 2013

more

October 15, 2013

I work as an academic facilitator and advocate for a college student with multiple physical challenges. I became involved with UCP when, despite those challenges, their foundation office offered her an internship during the summers of 2012 and 2013.

The staff at the UCP Foundation office
went far above the typical internship duties and assignments. They provided her with challenging and career specific opportunities to contribute to their organizational efforts. She was given the chance to write pieces for their newsletters, and they even used a project she designed as an on-going fund-raiser.

She was accepted and included as an integral part of their staff, included in meetings, and her input was sought on events they were planning. The entire staff provided such a positive experience for her and encouraged her career efforts and confidence more than most people will even know. Thank you to the entire UCP Foundation staff!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Keep providing opportunities like those given to my student!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 11, 2013

more

October 11, 2013

I've been familiar with UCP and its services for about 30 years now. My mom's best friend's daughter was born with Cerebral Palsy and we always spent a good deal of time together growing up. She benefited from UCP's Early Intervention Programs from a very early age and now in her adult life she participates in the Hanover Street Neighbors, which is a joint program between UCP and CPARC (I believe).

About 5 years ago I was enrolled as a student in Leadership Cumberland, a program for professionals which promotes community involvement. We were required to serve as an intern for a non-profit board so we could witness and learn how boards work. I didn't hesitate to volunteer for the UCP Board Internship. Over the past 5 years I have learned so much about the multitude of ways that UCP works with its consumers of all ages achieve independence. I've volunteered on several committees and have now served on the Board as a full member for 3 years. This all came full circle for me when I found out that my friend was going to be one of the consumers to move into our newest group home. I've talked with my mom's friend and while it was hard to move her daughter into a new place after taking care of her 30 years, her daughter absolutely loves her new home and they are all happy.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I can't think of changes that are needed. The staff and all of the wonderful volunteers truly do a remarkable job and are so dedicated to the organization.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 10, 2013

more

October 10, 2013

I have two children, one attended the daycare for two and a half years from age 3-5, the other has been enrolled in the daycare program since 12 weeks old and continues to attend. We moved our oldest child to the daycare center because of the smaller number of children in each room. She was at another daycare center where the class size increased to 18-20 children with 2 teachers at age 3. Not only did my daughter find that overwhelming, but I did too. At Capital Area Children's Center the classes have typically had 8-10 children with 3 teachers, thus providing much smaller classroom sizes, and a better teacher to student ratio, to allow more focus on educating the children. My youngest child has experienced the same situation with the 3 classrooms he has been in so far. The center always seems very calm and the teachers, regardless of classroom, know all the children's names. What we like most about the center is the way the children are taught to help one another through continual interaction with teachers, and are actively involved in creating a calm and orderly learning environment.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 10, 2013

more

October 10, 2013

I have been involved with UCP Central PA for many years, first as a volunteer, then as a camp counselor, and most recently as a parent of a child in their daycare program. Every employee that I have worked with truly cares about the program and overall mission of the organization. I look forward to my family's continued involvement with UCP Central PA.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 8, 2013

more

October 8, 2013

From my professional involvement with UCP of Central PA, it is easy to see that this is an organization that truly cares about its mission; to assist infants, children and adults with disabilities. UCP is proud to tell their story, and I am honored to help them tell it. When producing the agency newsletter, I can see the pride in their eyes as they talk about the subjects of each article.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help them to gain more funding so that they can further their mission.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 8, 2013

more

October 8, 2013

I started volunteering for UCP last December after responding to a request on Volunteer Match. I’m enjoying working with the adults at the Colonial Park Alternatives Adult Day Program and they are glad to see me each week. I look forward to spending one-on-one time with folks who might not otherwise get that attention. While I’ve done a lot of volunteering, most of it has not involved this level of interaction. I’ve enjoyed learning what motivates each person, what they like to do. I like that the folks are getting the one-on-one time they need, and that they enjoy the activities I’m getting them involved with. They show their appreciation and let me know that I’m trusted and liked. At the same time, I’m learning talents and creativity I never thought I had. I feel good about what I’m doing for them and I feel it’s a way I can give back and help society.

I’ll be honest; volunteering for a program like Alternatives is a challenge that takes a lot of patience. But it also offers significant rewards. You help others who so badly need it. You help yourself by giving of who you are. You learn about the people and yourself. You learn over time that each person can be helped in his or her own way. You have to learn the ability levels of the folks and do what you can for each. For some it takes a lot; for others it’s just a touch and a smile.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 8, 2013

more

October 8, 2013

My first experience with UCP was through services they provided to my young daughter. I was impressed with the caregivers and all aspects of the organization. When i was later asked to get involved as a volunteer, it was a no-brainer. I felt that was the least I could do for an organization that did so much for my daughter. That was more than 8 years ago. I have been a volunteer every since. As a volunteer, I have been fortunate to be a Board Member, Secretary, Board Chair and serve on various Committees. I am inspired daily by the dedication of the employees and fellow volunteers. There is truly a collective effort to achieve the organization's mission every single day. If you or someone you know needs their help, don't hesitate to ask. If you want to get involved, don't wait. You'll be glad you did.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

i can't think of any.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers