Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
57 Reviews
1234.894745
Previous | 1 2 3...6 |
Write A Review
October 19, 2014

more


1 previous review
October 8, 2013

I started volunteering for UCP last December after responding to a request on Volunteer Match. I’m enjoying working with the adults at the Colonial Park Alternatives Adult Day Program and they are g... more

October 19, 2014

I volunteer once a week and work with many of the clients. They give me back as much as I give them. I help them learn, play, explore and do what I can to enrich their lives. They appreciate me and I appreciate our time together. They show a lot of joy with very little effort. I know they gain from the one on one I can provide. I go home with a sense of accomplishment and gratification.
October 8, 2013

I started volunteering for UCP last December after responding to a request on Volunteer Match. I’m enjoying working with the adults at the Colonial Park Alternatives Adult Day Program and they are glad to see me each week. I look forward to spending one-on-one time with folks who might not otherwise get that attention. While I’ve done a lot of volunteering, most of it has not involved this level of interaction. I’ve enjoyed learning what motivates each person, what they like to do. I like that the folks are getting the one-on-one time they need, and that they enjoy the activities I’m getting them involved with. They show their appreciation and let me know that I’m trusted and liked. At the same time, I’m learning talents and creativity I never thought I had. I feel good about what I’m doing for them and I feel it’s a way I can give back and help society.

I’ll be honest; volunteering for a program like Alternatives is a challenge that takes a lot of patience. But it also offers significant rewards. You help others who so badly need it. You help yourself by giving of who you are. You learn about the people and yourself. You learn over time that each person can be helped in his or her own way. You have to learn the ability levels of the folks and do what you can for each. For some it takes a lot; for others it’s just a touch and a smile.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2014

more

October 17, 2014

My first introduction to UCP of Central PA was 7 years ago when my daughter received physical therapy services through the early intervention program and a therapist from UCP. Soon thereafter I began to learn more about the variety of services offered to not only children, but also adolescents and adults with disabilities, many of which have disabilities other than cerebral palsy. Compelled to give back to the community, I began volunteering with various committees and attending special events. A few years later I was asked to join the Board of Directors.

Through my experiences with UCP of Central PA, I have come to meet many great people and have witnessed the magic that this organization provides to the greater community we all live in. The staff, volunteers, and supporters all collectively serve the mission of providing for a life without limits for people with disabilities. This organization will always hold a special place in my heart.
October 17, 2014

more

October 17, 2014

Both my personal family members in the past, and all my 7th and 8th grade students are supported by UCP.
My older sister was supported until she died from complications of MS in 2006. Not only was she supported by them, so was her family. Her sons and husband owe so much to UCP for all their
support and kindness. This is important to note that no other organization offered her and her family support other than pamphlets and to join support groups which she couldn't possibly get to their meetings.
And, my students are supported every year by the awesome ATTITUDES essay contest which not only gives them a voice, but also let's them be encouraged as young writers with a great choice of prompts.
Thank you from the bottom of my heart to UCP!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

none

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 17, 2014

more

October 17, 2014

I am a volunteer at one the UCP homes in Mechanicsburg and over the past several years making periodic visits to the residents and staff. I appreciate the love and care shown by staff for the residents, which requires tremendous patience at times. There is a unique and deep family bond which I have become very keenly aware of at the home between staff and residents. I get the opportunity to witness this love and care in action at each visit I make.
It has been enjoyable to get to know the the residents and staff and always look forward to visiting along with my 2 dogs, who are always lavished with love by the people there.
Most recently, it has been a pleasure to participate in going along with staff and residents on trips to places like City Island and Riverfront Park in Harrisburg for a pleasure walk across the Walnut Street Bridge and the Susquehanna River. Sitting on picnic benches on Riverfront Park and watching the sunset over the water is always a treat. Most recently, was a trip to Highland Gardens in Camp Hill with residents to pick out pumpkins, mums and decorations. It was a joy planting the flowers at their home afterwards. It always seems like time well spent when you see the residents and staff at UCP smile and get excited with these kind of activities.
October 16, 2014

more

October 16, 2014

I first began a relationship with UCP when I moved to the area and enrolled my son in the daycare program at the age of 17 months...he is now 24 years old and UCP remains a large part of our lives. I could not have asked for better services, more caring providers and more engaged professionals than my son and I were afforded from the UCP staff. My son is still receiving services from UCP; he is living independently now and thriving under UCP coaching staff; much of his success for lviing independently is due to the exceptional care and teaching from UCP personnel through the years. We have not only received services from UCP but have had the privilege to volunteer at many UCP functions and events and work with UCP management, staff and clients throughout the years. It has been an awesome 24 year relationship with UCP....my son, Logan would have no other agency but UCP to provide him services and enjoys little more than to spend time volunteering at UCP and engaging with the staff and other clients. Thank you for giving and giving back to our children and our community!
October 16, 2014

more

October 16, 2014

I began working with UCP on a professional level as a vendor filling some of their printing needs years ago. During this time I have come to know many of the wonderful people working there and have learned so much about their mission and the great work they do. Their dedication is amazing, and the stories I've heard of how UCP has changed lives are truly inspirational. I have also volunteered at their annual gift wrap fundraiser, which is a great way to get out and share some holiday "giving" spirit by doing your part for this great organization. I have nothing but positive things to say about everyone I've ever encountered at UCP!
October 16, 2014

more

October 16, 2014

I first became involved with UCP after taking a tour of the children's center and realized that this is an organization that is doing incredible work for our community. Over my years of volunteering with UCP I have to come to believe that we have a group of the finest staff and volunteers who do such wonderful work with individuals of all disabilities. Our community is so much stronger because of the dedicated work of UCP's staff and volunteers!
October 15, 2014

more

October 15, 2014

For many years I have been involved with a very special adaptive sports camp, Camp STAR. Several years ago, we went through a difficult time and were in danger of closing the camp. UCP came to the rescue. This all volunteer camp provides an opportunity to be competitive in adaptive sports such as scuba, wheelchair racing, kayaking and basketball, to name a few. UCP stepped up to help us continue to help others through this 3 day camp. Thanks UCP!
October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

I thoroughly enjoy volunteering at UCP, as each experience is positive and life-changing. Employees and fellow volunteers work hand-in-hand to achieve the organization's mission. My brother has special needs and would not be as successful and independent as he is today without the services and support from an organization like UCP.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 16, 2013

more

October 16, 2013

I have worked with UCP as an organizational partner, volunteer, and supporter for a number of years. Our church partners with many community organizations offering services to our area. UCP is the most effectively operated, caring and helpful organization with whom we work. All of their employees, staff and leadership are outstanding. We've introduced the joy of helping those with disabilities to many of our members through the years - largely because of our UCP partnership. Because of their leadership, both the lives of those being served and those serving are changed for the better.
DHamilton

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...6 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers