Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
63 Reviews
1234.904765
Write A Review
October 27, 2014

more

October 27, 2014

Our wonderful and amazing son was born with a rare brain malformation. Not knowing what to expect we turned to early intervention to help evaluate and educate him. We picked 5 therapists that worked with our son and 4 of those came from UPC. We had the best experience with each of the therapists. Not only did they give therapy to our son they taught us as well. We have learned so much from what we need to do to help our son to where to go for resource material and help. The biggest most valuable thing our therapists helped us with was how to appreciate and cherish our son's accomplishments and not compare him to any other child. That means the world to us because we no longer dwell on what he can't do and are truly happy and blessed for our son being who and where he is today. Our son has benefited the most from our experience. It is because of the dedicated, caring, and talented therapists that he is able to now meet some awesome milestones. He can roll, high five, eat by mouth, activate toys, give hugs, give doggie kisses, and take steps in his gate trainer all because of the therapists that worked with him. This is only the beginning, because of the awesome foundations he received he will be able to build off them and we know he will achieve much more in life. The therapists are like family and we couldn't ask for more knowledgeable, wonderful people.
October 21, 2014

more

October 21, 2014

The children that I am raising all have special needs and UCP gives them opportunity to do things as a family to enjoy activities with out being hindered thank you very much.
October 20, 2014

more

October 20, 2014

UCP is the only place anywhere near me that offers Sibshops for siblings of children with disabilities. It is well worth the 45 minute drive once a month for my daughter to be able to interact with a group of other kids who have differently abled siblings. The people who run this program are fantastic, truly caring people. We also utilize a respite program that uses one of UCP's adult day program centers, and we have always been pleased on how the UCP staff works with both our children....special needs or not. Highly recommend UCP!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 20, 2014

more

October 20, 2014

My entire family has been blessed by the work of UCP. We have participated in a variety of activities, as a family, including the Christmas Craft Party and Swim Parties. My younger son has participated in a wonderful program called Sibshops for the siblings of children with disabilities. Both my boys have enjoyed trips to Monkey Joes as well as the Fall Family Fun Festival. All of these programs have been available to us for a nominal donation. We have definitely been blessed by the work of UCP and the terrific people that work there.
October 20, 2014

more

October 20, 2014

As a parent with a special needs son, UCP has been invaluable to not only our son, but to our entire family as well. We have been to UCP's many family functions as well as Sibshop for our neurotypical son. This is an amazing organization that is well run, always striving to improve, frequently seeks parental input, and is very supportive of the family as a whole, not just the person with special needs. We have recommended different programs within UCP to friends because we see the value in those programs and wish to pass the help along. We are so appreciative of all the work UCP has done over the years!
October 20, 2014

more

October 20, 2014

I worked with a few UCP homes during my time as a Supports Coordinator and with the staff and gentleman at Lisburn House for many years. The house supervisor considered herself , her staff and all the guys there as a part of her family. She was dedicated and hard working. She never shied away from a challenge and there were many. I looked forward to the days when I could visit. Diane not only talked the talk she walked the walk every single day. Staff at UCP homes where I was involved were always putting clients first and showing them how they could reach their full potential as individuals in their community. I miss those days and think of all the individuals often.
October 19, 2014

more


1 previous review
October 8, 2013

I started volunteering for UCP last December after responding to a request on Volunteer Match. I’m enjoying working with the adults at the Colonial Park Alternatives Adult Day Program and they are g... more

October 19, 2014

I volunteer once a week and work with many of the clients. They give me back as much as I give them. I help them learn, play, explore and do what I can to enrich their lives. They appreciate me and I appreciate our time together. They show a lot of joy with very little effort. I know they gain from the one on one I can provide. I go home with a sense of accomplishment and gratification.
October 8, 2013

I started volunteering for UCP last December after responding to a request on Volunteer Match. I’m enjoying working with the adults at the Colonial Park Alternatives Adult Day Program and they are glad to see me each week. I look forward to spending one-on-one time with folks who might not otherwise get that attention. While I’ve done a lot of volunteering, most of it has not involved this level of interaction. I’ve enjoyed learning what motivates each person, what they like to do. I like that the folks are getting the one-on-one time they need, and that they enjoy the activities I’m getting them involved with. They show their appreciation and let me know that I’m trusted and liked. At the same time, I’m learning talents and creativity I never thought I had. I feel good about what I’m doing for them and I feel it’s a way I can give back and help society.

I’ll be honest; volunteering for a program like Alternatives is a challenge that takes a lot of patience. But it also offers significant rewards. You help others who so badly need it. You help yourself by giving of who you are. You learn about the people and yourself. You learn over time that each person can be helped in his or her own way. You have to learn the ability levels of the folks and do what you can for each. For some it takes a lot; for others it’s just a touch and a smile.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2014

more

October 17, 2014

My first introduction to UCP of Central PA was 7 years ago when my daughter received physical therapy services through the early intervention program and a therapist from UCP. Soon thereafter I began to learn more about the variety of services offered to not only children, but also adolescents and adults with disabilities, many of which have disabilities other than cerebral palsy. Compelled to give back to the community, I began volunteering with various committees and attending special events. A few years later I was asked to join the Board of Directors.

Through my experiences with UCP of Central PA, I have come to meet many great people and have witnessed the magic that this organization provides to the greater community we all live in. The staff, volunteers, and supporters all collectively serve the mission of providing for a life without limits for people with disabilities. This organization will always hold a special place in my heart.
October 17, 2014

more

October 17, 2014

Both my personal family members in the past, and all my 7th and 8th grade students are supported by UCP.
My older sister was supported until she died from complications of MS in 2006. Not only was she supported by them, so was her family. Her sons and husband owe so much to UCP for all their
support and kindness. This is important to note that no other organization offered her and her family support other than pamphlets and to join support groups which she couldn't possibly get to their meetings.
And, my students are supported every year by the awesome ATTITUDES essay contest which not only gives them a voice, but also let's them be encouraged as young writers with a great choice of prompts.
Thank you from the bottom of my heart to UCP!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

none

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 17, 2014

more

October 17, 2014

I am a volunteer at one the UCP homes in Mechanicsburg and over the past several years making periodic visits to the residents and staff. I appreciate the love and care shown by staff for the residents, which requires tremendous patience at times. There is a unique and deep family bond which I have become very keenly aware of at the home between staff and residents. I get the opportunity to witness this love and care in action at each visit I make.
It has been enjoyable to get to know the the residents and staff and always look forward to visiting along with my 2 dogs, who are always lavished with love by the people there.
Most recently, it has been a pleasure to participate in going along with staff and residents on trips to places like City Island and Riverfront Park in Harrisburg for a pleasure walk across the Walnut Street Bridge and the Susquehanna River. Sitting on picnic benches on Riverfront Park and watching the sunset over the water is always a treat. Most recently, was a trip to Highland Gardens in Camp Hill with residents to pick out pumpkins, mums and decorations. It was a joy planting the flowers at their home afterwards. It always seems like time well spent when you see the residents and staff at UCP smile and get excited with these kind of activities.
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers