Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
7 Reviews
123.8571445
Write A Review
November 11, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
1 previous review
December 8, 2012

Turrill has been doing some wonderful things in the community with homelessness especially veterans. They have been operating a shelter for homeless veterans working with the Veterans Homeless depart... more

November 11, 2013

I've seen them help so many homeless veterans from San Bernardino and Riverside County. People who had given up hope and never thought there was any thing left possible. I believe Turrill is like the good Samaritan in the book of matthew, of the bible. When you help someone hopeless and powerless, it comes back in return full force. Also there was the treatment side that I was apart of and to see their lives change was a blessing and a life changing experience that I shall never forget. Turril has a heart of gold and so much compassion for those who don't have it themselves.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 8, 2012

Turrill has been doing some wonderful things in the community with homelessness especially veterans. They have been operating a shelter for homeless veterans working with the Veterans Homeless department like Ms. Escalante and Ms Conrad who have helped place these homeless men in permanent housing after their stay in Turrills Shelter. Bully for these ladies and their efforts to improve the lives of americans who have serviced this country and need help.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 9, 2014

more

November 9, 2014

Michael Stava had made mistakes in the party but had put his heart and soul into this veterans project. He is currently trying to do whatever it takes to make sure it succeeds in opening. He is spending his own money to Carew for a few veterans without donations or grant money. The Veterans currently living there were chronically homeless with no hope or future. Michael is fighting for this program alone as his own boats I'd directors just wants to kill the program or of greed. The Veterans program would already be open if they had agreed to it being transferred to citadel but they refused saying if they didn't get any money than nether would Mr. Stava. Mike just wants the program to go forward and open. So shame on anyone who doesn't, can't or won't see that. Turrill is basically dead. Note the question is, is the veterans program dead with turrill?
December 20, 2013

more

December 20, 2013

blkdevcon,
You hit it on the nail!!! You are so correct about Michael D. Stava, it's frightening!!! I would advise any charitable Grant givers or private investors to never donate any money to any shady scheme Michael D. Stava is involved in...And trust me, if Mr. Stava is involved, it's
definitely something shady and/or illegal. I can guarantee you that when this scheme falls through, Mr. stava will have screwed over a lot of people...and he really has nothing to lose because it was everyone else's money. Michael D. Stava is nothing more than a smooth talking Sociopath. Any business deals he makes are always Shady!!! I know of a private investor that invested close to $100,000...and he's going to get screwed over, in the end. Also, not only was Stava convicted of embezzelment, he was also convicted of tax fraud, teaching people how to commit tax fraud, by falsifying their tax returns-creating false business expenses, grossly inflating any actual business expenses, decreasing income, etc. Check with the California accountancy board, you'll see what i'm talking about. PS I could show you a whole lot more of his tax fraud schemes that occured fairly recently ;)

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would advise anyone to never do a business deal with the founder of this company...and as far as my responses below go: I would have nothing to do with this organization. This organization will have a significant impact on the people who invested in this building, and in a very bad way! I will definitely tell everyone what i know about the founder of this company, for sure!!!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 3, 2013

more

December 3, 2013

lets call a spade a spade, Chriss Duff aka blkdevcon. You dont really know anything about us! We help alot of people and as far as all the trash talk thats all it is!!! Turrill Has given me hope and helped me find my way back into society. Its sad that you need to bash a good thing. Says alot about who you are.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 20, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
November 20, 2013

This comment is mainly in responce to blkdevcon
Turrell Transitional Assistance Program (TTAP) helped me when i needed them, this was before this new home came out for VETS, I am a Vet I WAS HOMELESS I WAS HOPELESS and i was so lost. TTAP helped me with more then just a place to live and
forgiveness they helped me with a new direction in life. I now Own my own company (HCHM) HandiCapable Home Mods. and i could not have done this with out them. Now I read that someone thinks this is a Shady and prays on humanity. i ask them were they came up with that statement??? did you live in one of there homes? or are you just a single sighted person not looking to help others but help yourself? I say to you come talk to me Mike Stave, Tom Kanavos, there office staff are god sends, they will help no matter what it takes they will do what they can to make sure your in a better place. I OWE THEM MY LIFE so i take GREAT offence in what you said. What do sex offenders have to do with the Homeless Veteran Housing program? You are so single sighted it sickens me. MY NAME IS JOSH WENDT I AM A VETERAN I AM A MAN WITH A PAST (that im not proud of) I AM A MAN THAT HIT ROCK BOTTOM, I AM A MAN THAT OWES EVERYTHING TO TTAP they dont care about your past they dont condemn. I guess you never made any kind of mistakes in your life. if i had to chose between TTAP & all its people to you and the city... i would chose TTAP. yea we make mistakes that affect out personal lives but your mistakes affect everyone's life in the city. you can talk about our pasts all you want but you know what "Everyone has the power to change there lives, though it may take help from others in a time of need, and anyone willing to ASK for that help is a person looking for that change, we all make mistakes, what kinda of person are you if you cant admit that mistake? do you learn from it that way?"

Please dont condemn TTAP for having a heart and not holding peoples past against them. Their only goal is to help anyone and everyone willing to ask for there help. you cant help the unwilling.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase there houses available to the Homeless weather or not there VETS

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 5, 2013

more

November 5, 2013

Turrill Transitional Assistance Program advertises assisting veterans and helping the addiction community but falls short. This non-profit is an extremely shady organization preying on humanity’s pity to assist Veteran SEX OFFENDERS. Why would any city willingly condone or wish to help sex offenders or pedophiles? Don’t let the smooth talk of Michael Stava or Tom Kanavos distract you from what this non-profit is actually doing. Along with the assistance of sex offenders it is quite apparent that this non-profit preys on charitable grant givers collecting upwards of $500k this year alone from organizations like; California Wellness Foundation, McMillan Family Foundation, San Manuel Band of Indians , AnnenBurg Foundation and others just to list a few, yet have nothing to show for it. The charitable money these foundations have donated to Turrill Assistance should have been utilized to help addicts and veterans seriously seeking help to recover. The last item I would like to point out is the fact that Michael Stava has been convicted of Embezzlement from non-profits in his past along with a variety of other felony convictions. Don’t become a victim of this non-profits pity pot scheming act.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have the organizational structure relinquished to another non-profit organization that would adhere to business and ethics standards.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers