Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
22 Reviews
12345
| 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
October 29, 2012

more

October 29, 2012

Lisa Bates and her team provide an extraordinary service for injured or abandoned wild animals that life among us in the southwest desert. Animals rarely have a voice in our world although humans can be great animal lovers. This is a first rate operation that provides quality medical care from surgery to rehabilitation with lots of love. When those animals that can be are released back into the wild, there is such a joyous a feeling of freedom. The Center provides excellent ongoing care, feeding, exercise and social time for those than need to remain in captivity. The surrogate animals that love and nurture babies is wonderful and provides them with realistic bonding. Our family feels this is such a worthwhile nonprofit and are happy to be a part of it!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Tucson Wildlife Center does a wonderful outreach educational program for schools. There is nothing like having a live vulture named Igor to catch a seven year olds attention and drive home the importance of man's stewardship of the animals. TWC provides an incredible and needed service in our community.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 13, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

May 13, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

On a Sunday morning, I awoke to find a baby owl in my yard with an injured wing. I grabbed the phonebook and found the hotline for the Wildlife Center. The person on the phone took the situation very seriously and worked hard to give me all the help she could. Even though I live very far away from the Center, a volunteer arrived in less than an hour to help the owl. The volunteer was courteous, skilled, and very attentive. He kept me informed about the owl's situation. I was extremely impressed with the level of professionalism, communication skills, and timely response demonstrated by this organization. I work for a not-for-profit myself and I feel very confident that my donation to this organization will be put to good use.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 30, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

April 30, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

As stewards of the land, it is imperative that we learn how to coexist with one of our most precious resources, our native wildlife. Urban development is presenting one of the greatest challenges our wildlife has to try an overcome. Decreased open areas, increased traffic & negative human interaction, whether accidental or deliberate is threatening their existence. I commend Tucson Wildlife Center (TWC) for the services they provide, free of charge. This dedicated staff is available 24/7, 365 days for emergency intervention, referral services, and education. Their mission is rescue, rehabilitation & release. The duties can be quite arduous. The hours endless, with over night rescues, feedings &/ or medications being delivered throughout the night, emergency surgeries and yet this staff is ready & willing to assist our wildlife. I am honored & proud to be associated with this outstanding group of individuals. I know TWC is making a real difference. Please help us help our wildlife, let others know about the Tucson Wildlife Center. Thank you.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 22, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

April 22, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Tucson Wildlife Center is a haven for those who are injured, orphaned or literally lost ( such is the case of the brown pelican.) I volunteered for 2 and a half years and treasured being a part of TWC, but I had to relocate recently. My favorite job was cleaning up the yards of the residents (those unalbe to be released.) I loved having the greathorns act as "yard foreman" as I raked beneath them, and hosed off the mesh to cool them down in the hot summer months. It was the same with the screetch owls, a special harris hawk and a redtail, peregrines and others. Being able to assist in the rehabilitation of a golden eagle as it regained it's flight strength was wonderful and fulfilling. What we do there benfits our precious wildlife in a direct and important manner. It is invaluable in it's ability to rehabilitate, protect and relocate animals and birds for their highest benefit. Much of the time what we do goes unnoticed. We do our best to inform and educate the public, but it just takes once for someone's heart to be touched by the life of a wild creature - seeking only to live free in natures balance. We are a part of that. Assisting in this endeavor, will enhance the lives of countless animals.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 18, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

April 18, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I volunteered at TWC for about a year until I was sidelined by an accident. I really enjoyed helping out around there mostly because the people there were pretty level headed unlike some people with some rescue groups. The center does a great job of helping wildlife and putting up with AZG&F's crap. I would love to see this facility grow so they could have a vet on site at all times and all the equipment necessary to handle the worst cases and in my time there I have seen some pretty bad stuff come into the surgery suite. I will definitely be volunteering there again in the future. A fantastic organization that I would recommend to anyone who is looking to volunteer and give back to nature.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 9, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

April 9, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

It is a pleasure to work for this organization because it is always growing, improving and helping every wild animal, no matter what the species, that comes through the door. They concentrate on getting the rescued patients, after they have healed, back to the wild with their original families, and familiar territory. They are helping close to 800 large animals every year!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 7, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

April 7, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

The fact that the Tucson Wildlife Center is staffed almost completely by volunteers giving their time, energy and resources to help rectify wildlife tragedies that are mostly human-caused really touches me. I think it's amazing that they will travel anywhere in the area to rescue an injured animal at no cost. Their selfless volunteers have given presentations to both my Rotary club and my company's networking club. They brought live animals and helped educate our people about our habitat and those we share it with. While they did not charge a fee, my organizations were glad to give them donations. My husband and I have not only donated a small sum of money, but in-kind donations of copy paper and dry erase markers in the hope that more of their organizational funds can now go to the animals who so deserve a chance to live. While we were at the center yesterday, the Education Director received a package of thank you letters from a 1st grade class to whom she and her colleagues had given a presentation. It was heartwarming to see what the kids had learned and I could tell that many of them will be good stewards of their environment now that they understand more about it. This organization deserves all the support it can get.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 6, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

April 6, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

Tucson Wildlife Center does it all. And does it with minimal administrative expenditures. Last year they admitted over 700 injured, sick or orphaned desert native wildlife. Their goal is rehabilitation and release back into the native habitat. And they do is all with 3 staff persons and many many professional and lay volunteers. In addition to treatment of the injured animals, they inform the public about the importance of the animal to the desert ecosystem. The Center allows invited guests to learn about the resident animals and the education director goes to many many schools and community events with in-house produced DVD's, wildlife posters and desert ecosystem information. This non-profit deserves recognition in the areas of environment, ecosystem improvement and wildlife sustainability.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 8, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

February 8, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

The southwest desert is a harsh environment in the best of times. Now, with a major drought and human encroachment on all remaining water supplies and lands, wild living animals are barely surviving to adulthood. Add the pressures of highways, cars, hunters, trappers, disease,and natural predators and you can see how bad the odds for desert wildlife are. One of the only organizations to stand between these terrible odds and an animals survival is the Tucson Wildlife Center. TWC. They are professional, expert and caring...a rare combination. With a brilliant volunteer staff of veterinarians, animal caretakers and office staff, they somehow manage to keep the place going...but always on the verge of survival, just like the animals they help.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers