Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
5 Reviews
12.2345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
August 21, 2013

more

August 21, 2013

The below reviews are interesting and it appears that the theme is more about "mission drift" and administrative complaints. Upon further examine, it also appears that the complaints are based out the Pennsylvania corporation when reviewing the complaints. The recent entry from a board member drew my attention to further explore the history of the 990's to this organization. Yes, over time it does appear that this organization has had fiscal difficulty (specific to the past several years), but many community based organizations have had similar difficulties. What I find interesting is the fact there does not seem to be much in the way of diversity of services, funding streams, innovative approaches to service delivery, etc.... over the past years. Furthermore, the board of directors (at least going back to 2008) appears to be almost the same members. Term limits are set via by-laws to promote change and garner that innovative/entrepreneurial spirit that inspires non-profits to shift in how they navigate "turbulent times" as mentioned in an old annual report that remained on the web-site.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Perhaps a thorough review by its volunteer members (board) and an articulate / strategic plan to obtain new leadership (volunteer). It does appear that the current volunteer structure of members are devoted and committed to the organization which could be valuable to elicit new members. Additionally, the administrative staff-PA-seem to be under scrutiny by the general public. Perhaps a more comprehensive survey of the community, funders, contractors, vendors, etc... would shed some light

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 10, 2013

more

January 10, 2013

I am a board member and longstanding supporter of Try-Again Homes(TAH). I also serve as a director on several other local boards of both non-profit and for-profit organizations. I felt compelled to write this review in light of the recent, and I believe unsubstantiated, negative review posted here on GuideStar. I have remained involved with TAH because of the excellent work they do in our communities, providing critical services to children and families in need. During my tenure at TAH the organization has received excellent program reviews and clean fiscal audits. TAH continues to maintain longstanding favorable relationships with its service contractors such as Washington County CYS and the WVDHHR , as well as with its donors and other stakeholders. TAH consistently strives to improve upon its strong historical performance and utilizes client and staff satisfaction surveys in their continuous quality improvement initiatives. The organization continues to reflect a stable financial condition with healthy fund balances in both the Pennsylvania and West Virginia corporations. These fund balances have allowed the organization to incur, and comfortably absorb, operating deficits from time to time, while continuing to provide the services needed by their constituents. As with most non-profits, TAH has experienced fluctuations in revenue and expense levels over the years, and given the ever changing economic environment within which they operate, that volatility will likely persist.

I would highly recommend TAH to anyone considering a charitable contribution and encourage you to review the 990's to obtain the facts about this very worthwhile organization.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
September 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

As both a donor and lead regional reviewer, I am inclined to comment on this particular organization. It is my hope that immediate change will occur for fear that this organization operates within a bubble and its apparent lack of respect to its donors/funders and community as a whole. First let me address the program expenses: as a percent of total functional expenses spent on programs and services. While organizations are not created to make a "profit" they should not outspend their means. When an agency runs a combined deficit overtime you are inherently risking the actual mission/services. This agency has no valid revenue since 2007/2008, however, has an alarming administrative expense. Accountability not only is the responsibility of its management staff, but that of its governing board (as noted in previous comments). The wedsite to this organization has not been changed since 2009/2010 respectively, nor does it protect any prviacy (or lack of policy) of its donors (in my case). What is the quality of evidence on reported results of foster care? Has this agency adjusted or improved its results? It appears that working capital is non-existent since previous administration and no real case of improvement during uncertain economic times.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 5, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 5, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

In concert with previous review and as a neighbor/community organizer - It has become apparent that Try-Again has absolutely "lost it's way" over the years! This organization has (in a matter of several years) lost its focus and is less than professional in and around the community. Specifically, the senior leadership is oftentimes seen in restaurant/bar locales throughout the city and displays inappropriate/unprofessional displays of behavior (very specific person). It is sad to see an organization that has built a wonderful reputation and that has struggled to become a pioneer in so many ways to one now - of little impact and almost entirely staffed by "supervisors" and not frontline workers. It's budget /financial are a great exhibitor of this over the past several years. Perhaps it is time for change and for its leadership (Board of Directors) to investigate its purpose/mission/impact/fiscal responsibilities and overall management of it senior team!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 14, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
December 14, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

After over nine years of donating and participating in certain pilot/county programs. I have noitced that this organization has (over the past 3 to 4 years) become less community focused, less client/family focused and has not addressed some critical internal problems with their senior team. Specifically, there is absolutely no representation to its community in which it serves. If you view the 990's over the course of the past several years and compare it to the fiscal years of 5 to 6 years ago - their is a clear dispartiy between the "payout" of its senior team while it has lost a tremendous amount of revenue (programming) over the past two to three years. It almost appears that this organization has lost its focus, purpose, mission, and most importantly - it's ability to promote social change with its population. The number or hours served presently to several years is concerning - but again, the amount of payout to its inadequate senior team is most concerning. I have decided to not participate in this organization for 2011/2012 until its goverance board addresses these issues.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unlikely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers