Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
13 Reviews
1234.692315
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
November 13, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 13, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I first found TIER about 4 years ago when I went to a Volunteer Day. This rescue is one amazing place and Gail it's founder is the most remarkable selfless person I have ever met. I have personally seen the complete transformation of so many terribly abused horses that Gail has brought back to health. I feel blessed to be a small part of helping Gail help the many many horses that otherwise would not be here if it not for her tireless hours of hard work and sacrifice. Love, love this place and love this lady!!
November 13, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 13, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

TIER is a wonderful rescue that puts their horses first. TIER takes amazing care of their animals and never shies away from even the most difficult of cases. The compassion, respect and love that Gail shows to each and every equine resident of TIER is nothing short of amazing. TIER is a truly wonderful rescue and Gail is an amazing person to dedicate her life to saving the lives of her equine friends.
November 13, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 13, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I am honored to be a board member of TIER since 2010. Our founder, Gail, has been a tremendous leader to our supporters and volunteers and an angel to many neglected and abused horses from California. She selflessly gives her every day and energy to make the horses of TIER happy, healthy and safe. I am humbled by her dedication the rescue and forever in awe over her devotion to saving horses. Thank you Gail from the bottom of my heart!!!
November 13, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 13, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

Love Love Love TIER.and that is what is given to
the horses that are lucky enough to be rescued by Gail.
I have been a volunteer here for the past 2 years and have
been in awe of the unrelenting commitment that is given
to the comfort and healing of all the animals. The
horses
always come first.
Marilyn Middleborn

November 13, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
November 13, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

T.I.E.R. is a great rescue to the horses of Southern California. They rehabilitate horses from the local shelter and those abandoned or neglected. Love their volunteer days and meeting all the lovely horses at the rescue!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 11, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 11, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

It appears that TIER is but another of the plethora of horse rescues who think they can ignore the accounting and live off of the public's donations. This rescue is based at the director's own personal property and she is behind on her mortgage. How can they ask the public to bail them out? Why is the rescue mixed with personal property?

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 2, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 2, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I met Gail over 6 years ago at the Horse Expo. I admired her from the start. All donations go straight to the horses, donkeys, etc. She loves and cares for the animals. Love ya Gail.... Ellen

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

September 15, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 15, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

True Innocents Equine Rescue is heaven on earth. Not because it is luxurious, but because it is spare. Not because there is no hardship, but because the hardship is being overcome—one day at a time, one horse at a time. When the abused mustang “Chino” finally allowed a human to touch him, that was a victory. When Annabelle the donkey was able to walk again, after the farrier trimmed off eight inches from her overgrown hooves, that was a victory too.

Volunteering at TIER, knowing the stories of unspeakable abuse and inhuman neglect that the horses suffered at the hands of their prior “caretakers,” is sometimes almost too much to bear. I walk onto the TIER property, and my first emotion is blood-boiling anger when I see a new arrival that is so emaciated, it looks like a skeleton, or I see a mare that Animal Control just rejected and carted over, who has gaping, open wounds on her back.

But there is no time for the luxury of anger. There is work to be done; manure to be shoveled, fences to be mended, and horses to be loved. When I focus on these tasks, the hours slip away and my fury fades into a sense of satisfaction. At TIER, I can do more good in the space of an afternoon than I can ever do at my salaried work.

So in the end, I benefit from my labor at TIER far more than the horses do. My perspective shifts; the petty nuisances of the daily grind become meaningless. I am better at saving my worries for things that are actual problems, and I discovered that there are far fewer “problems” in my life when I think about those horses, and about Gail’s daily struggle for the very existence of TIER.

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

adopting and abandoned horse. Gail arranged the adoption of an elderly thoroughbred mare who was being boarded at a stable. The owner lost her job, moved out of state, and turned the mare over to the stable owner. The stable owner contacted Gail, who thought that the mare would be a good match for my son, and she was right. They are inseparable.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make sure that Gail had steady, reliable, daily volunteer help. Gail is solely reponsible for the daily care, feeding, and watering of about twenty-five horses. This is a Herculean daily task that she does herself. Most volunteers work on the weekends, since that is when they are available, but there are simply not enough hands on deck.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

August 25, 2011

more

August 25, 2011

What a wonderful organization. They work with abused, sick, and unwanted horses. They provide them a safe enviroment while they heal. They work to find forever homes for these poor horses and give them a second chance for a decent life. They are an excellent organization. Thank you for all you do!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I read the stories of these horses. I see their pictures when the arrive. They are sad, skinny, and frighten. When they have spent a little time at Tiers, they look happier, have gained weight, and are healing from their wounds.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

More people donate to them.They are a very worthy organization.

August 21, 2011

more

August 21, 2011

I got my 1st horse from Gail on July 1999 - Majestic Spirit (Magic) and later a PMU baby May 2002 - Jypsi Treasure.
Gail helped me to live my dream of having a horse and I lost my heart to them very quickly. Magic was with me till 2006 when she passed over the rainbow bridge and I still have
Jypsi.
I would be a different person - an unhappy one without my babies. Thank you Gail for being there when I needed you.

Judi Meade

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Gail was there when I needed her to save these beautiful creatures - Tha nk you Gail!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

none - they are perfect - just need more money to care for the horses.

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers