Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
58 Reviews
1234.862075
Write A Review
October 12, 2014

more

October 12, 2014

I am the Grandmother of the most beautiful Granddaughter ever, though she was only with us for one month, the impact she had on myself and my family can never be put in to words. this Foundation was and still is an amazing gift for families going through the struggles of having a child diagnosed with Trisomy 18. They helped me with so many questions and made me feel like I was the only one they were helping but wasn't alone at the same time....They genuinely care for our families and our babies and our hearts
September 29, 2014

more

September 29, 2014

My husband and I were devastated by a prenatal diagnosis of Trisomy 18 for our daughter. In spite of the information we received from doctors, we weren't really sure what it meant on a personal level. The internet can be a scary place when you're trying to get accurate and relevant information about health issues. I found great comfort when I discovered the Trisomy 18 Foundation website. In addition to the clinical information about the condition, the personal stories by community members made the site a valuable resource. It helped me to feel less alone with this grief.
September 26, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 26, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

My daughter Adyssun Rae was born August 2, 2010 with T18. I had 7 previous miscarriages before Adyssun and despite the medical professionals advice to terminate the pregnancy my husband and I decided to proceed and let nature take it course. I had to fire two OB's that left me in tears after each doctors visit. After many interviews with hospital board members and experts, we finally found the OB that was supportive and made us feel comfortable with our decision. We were advised of our incredibly low chances of of our baby reaching 1 week old, if she was even to survive the birth. Adyssun made it through the birth and lived for 6 months. The 6 months that my husband and I cared for her was the most special time of our lives. There are no words to describe the joy we felt caring for our very special baby and witnessing the miracle of life daily. Our beautiful Adyssun was tiny and mighty. Our baby bonded our entire family and changed each of our lives for the better...forever. It's true our story is bitter sweet but it is our most cherished life experience.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 25, 2014

more

September 25, 2014

My second son was diagnosed with Trisomy 18 and this was back in 1999. My former husband and I were so unprepared and miss informed by well meaning doctors who really did not know how to help except to suggest ending the pregnancy. That was such a sad and terrible time. The Trisomy 18 foundation makes a real difference to parents facing having a baby with this disorder. I have been blessed by the stories of others and have found a special community of understanding here.
September 25, 2014

more

September 25, 2014

This foundation has helped me. Three months ago I gave birth to a beautiful baby girl. She was small but I thought nothing of it. Two weeks later I was told she had Trisomy 18. I nor my husband heard of this disease. The doctors said she wouldn't live to see her first birthday and we were devastated. She is now 3 months but doing poorly. She can leave me any day now. This organization has given me the strength to spread the awareness because a lot of people never heard of this disease. I thank them for what they are doing because it is helping me through this tough time.
September 25, 2014

more

September 25, 2014

8 Yrs ago I lost my first born daughter to T18. At the time I didn't know there were organizations out there. Instead of the doctors giving support they wanted to just turn me away. Despite what doctors wanted me to do I carried my baby girl to term but she decided she wanted to fly with the angels. With no support from doctors We had a lot of family support but they couldn't give us answers and even begin to understand our ordeal. But through out these years my loss has given me strength. I just barely recently found this organization and though it has been many years since my daughters passing I feel even more comfort in knowing that families can get the support they need. Thank for doing all the wonderful work you do for these families...
September 25, 2014

more

September 25, 2014

The Trisomy 18 organization was a huge help to my family when our daughter, Alaina Joy, was diagnosed at 17 weeks gestation. Through the community I was able to gain knowledge of what may come of my daughter's life. I was able to make sound decisions as far as birth plans, and hospital care while keeping in mind that her life was going to be brief. I'm thankful for the Foundation for providing me with so much information to help make Alaina's 3 days on Earth the best 3 days in a very gut wrenching situation. We are forever family, as we are all connected by 1 extra chromosome. Thank you.
January 4, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

January 4, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

My name is Kristina I have 2 very healthy children and one angel waiting for me in heaven! I went 38 wks without knowing anything was wrong with Noah. He was born on sept 25th 2011 with trisomy 18 which we did not know this until 4 days later. He lived for 13 days he fought so hard. This is the hardest thing my family and I have ever had to do. I questioned everything but I know he is better now. I wish there was a cure or more awareness. I never knew anything about t18 until I had Noah. I think about him all the time. I hope this finds someone. I hope this all gets better one day.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 15, 2011
4 people found this review helpful

more

December 15, 2011
4 people found this review helpful

I was 19 weeks pregnant with my daughter when I was told that she had a birth defect called Trisomy 18. I didn't even know what that was never mind what it would mean for my daughter's survival. Everyone around me told me not to go on the internet but that was the place I found the most information and the most compassion I have ever received. After the loss of my daughter the Trisomy 18 Foundation brought me together with the most amazing women I could have ever met. This foundation has helped me through the loss of my daughter. They were the ones who understood exactly how I felt. I didn't find this with family or friends, I found this in a community of grieving mothers who lost their children the same way. I don't know where I would be today without their support and guidance. Thank you to all those behind this wonderful organization!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers