Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
58 Reviews
1234.862075
Write A Review
September 24, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 24, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

This organization helped keep me sane. Our son was diagnosed at 25 weeks in utero with Trisomy 18. Not knowing what that meant, and needing to have more information than what the doctor provided, I immediately turned to the web. It didn't take long to find the Trisomy 18 Foundation link. Once there, I spent hours reading the parent-friendly information about T18, as well as other families' stories, trying to make some sense of what was happening to our family. The support boards are a tremendous help, as you often feel very alone in an experience like this, and being able to share with others who understand your situation is incredibly soothing. Since February 2007, when our son was born and passed, the T18 website has been a great resource. Sharing his story via the Legacy page program helped with our healing.

We have also had excellent experiences with the staff at the T18 foundation. A fundraiser was held at my husband's workplace, and the staff at T18 were very helpful in sending us information to be distributed. Anytime we have wanted to do anything (e.g., fundraiser, family picnic, etc.), the staff at T18 are quick to show support. Our most recent experience, a photo session with RJ Lewis, in partnership with the T18 foundation, was also a healing experience. The more these stories are able to be shared, not only does it help the family, but will also hopefully help others who are going through similar experiences.

I think that the T18 Foundation does an excellent job at educating families, friends, and professionals. Their advocacy, on behalf of T18 (and other) families is needed and appreciated.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 12, 2014

more

October 12, 2014

I am the Grandmother of the most beautiful Granddaughter ever, though she was only with us for one month, the impact she had on myself and my family can never be put in to words. this Foundation was and still is an amazing gift for families going through the struggles of having a child diagnosed with Trisomy 18. They helped me with so many questions and made me feel like I was the only one they were helping but wasn't alone at the same time....They genuinely care for our families and our babies and our hearts
October 9, 2014

more

October 9, 2014

As a grandmother this diagnosis tears at your heart for your grandchild and even more for your children facing the biggest challenge a parent can. For months I visited the site to gain knowledge which I did but also came away with peace. Not in understanding the whys...but in finding solace in knowing all these emotions are shared.
September 30, 2014

more

September 30, 2014

Our first child was diagnosed at 24 weeks gestation after a battery of tests. Being our first child, first grandchild for my in-laws, it was crushing and devastating news. We had never heard of such a thing as Trisomy 18 and thought it was something we would go through alone with many questions going unanswered. However, this group has made a world of difference in our understanding, healing and growth. We now have two beautifully healthy and happy children but they know all about their big sister. We celebrate her birthday every year and use her name daily. Thank you so much.
September 30, 2014

more

September 30, 2014

Our daughter was diagnosed with T18 after markers were noticed in our 20 week ultrasound. Nothing could have prepared us for what T18 meant for our family better than this organization. The information shared via message boards with other parents, and online resources cannot be found anywhere else online or in most communities. The website helps guide parents/family for the decisions that they will face from the time of diagnosis until after the birth of their precious child. Equally as important, each person involved with Trisomy 18 Foundation seems to have also been touched by Trisomy 18 in some way. This is so crucial in helping people heal! It is hard to truly empathize with someone who has never had to deal with T18 if it is something you have never dealt with yourself.
September 29, 2014

more

September 29, 2014

My husband and I were devastated by a prenatal diagnosis of Trisomy 18 for our daughter. In spite of the information we received from doctors, we weren't really sure what it meant on a personal level. The internet can be a scary place when you're trying to get accurate and relevant information about health issues. I found great comfort when I discovered the Trisomy 18 Foundation website. In addition to the clinical information about the condition, the personal stories by community members made the site a valuable resource. It helped me to feel less alone with this grief.
September 26, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 26, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

My daughter Adyssun Rae was born August 2, 2010 with T18. I had 7 previous miscarriages before Adyssun and despite the medical professionals advice to terminate the pregnancy my husband and I decided to proceed and let nature take it course. I had to fire two OB's that left me in tears after each doctors visit. After many interviews with hospital board members and experts, we finally found the OB that was supportive and made us feel comfortable with our decision. We were advised of our incredibly low chances of of our baby reaching 1 week old, if she was even to survive the birth. Adyssun made it through the birth and lived for 6 months. The 6 months that my husband and I cared for her was the most special time of our lives. There are no words to describe the joy we felt caring for our very special baby and witnessing the miracle of life daily. Our beautiful Adyssun was tiny and mighty. Our baby bonded our entire family and changed each of our lives for the better...forever. It's true our story is bitter sweet but it is our most cherished life experience.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 25, 2014

more

September 25, 2014

My second son was diagnosed with Trisomy 18 and this was back in 1999. My former husband and I were so unprepared and miss informed by well meaning doctors who really did not know how to help except to suggest ending the pregnancy. That was such a sad and terrible time. The Trisomy 18 foundation makes a real difference to parents facing having a baby with this disorder. I have been blessed by the stories of others and have found a special community of understanding here.
September 25, 2014

more

September 25, 2014

This foundation has helped me. Three months ago I gave birth to a beautiful baby girl. She was small but I thought nothing of it. Two weeks later I was told she had Trisomy 18. I nor my husband heard of this disease. The doctors said she wouldn't live to see her first birthday and we were devastated. She is now 3 months but doing poorly. She can leave me any day now. This organization has given me the strength to spread the awareness because a lot of people never heard of this disease. I thank them for what they are doing because it is helping me through this tough time.
September 25, 2014

more

September 25, 2014

This organization has been a blessing to me since the prenatal diagnosis of our little girl with T18. The information was factual yet uplifting, it helped my husband and I have hope and choose to carry to term. Our "Maggie" was born at 39 weeks gestation and was in our arms when she passed a short time later. The foundation gave us the courage and support to travel this scary road allowing us the opportunity to receive the blessings that came with traveling this road. Thank you to everyone!
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers