Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
32 Reviews
1234.906255
Previous | Next
Write A Review
April 15, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
September 24, 2013

I worked as a volunteer with Trickle Up from the early 1980s, when I met the founders, Millie and Glen Leet. And I served on the board in the 90s. It was an amazing organization from the start, with t... more

April 15, 2014

I have been associated with Trickle Up almost from the beginning in 1979. It is a fabulous organization doing important work among the poorest of the world's poor. It is well managed; almost all the money goes to programs. Every year it grows a bit, as it certainly should. I can't rate it high enough or say too many good things about this wonderful work. Entrepreneurs everywhere should revel in it and give it their attention and financial support. It is a model for creating powerful motivation on the part of the world's poorest people, especially women, to take charge of their lives and their communities with start-up businesses to support families and send kids to school. Those who receive Trickle Up's modest grants (not loans) can truly say: "We did it ourselves!" ----ron nelson, carmel, ca.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give it a million dollars.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 24, 2013

I worked as a volunteer with Trickle Up from the early 1980s, when I met the founders, Millie and Glen Leet. And I served on the board in the 90s. It was an amazing organization from the start, with total integrity and a powerful idea that the poorest of the poor should not fall into debt. Hence, the concept of the $50 grant rather than a micro-loan, funding the start of a business of the recipient's own choosing. At one point, Trickle Up was making grants and educating the poorest of the poor in basic business procedures in over 100 countries. Over its 34-year history, and with evolving leadership, Trickle Up has played a key role in helping the ultra poor get their foot on the first rung of the economically upward ladder, helping small groups, predominantly women, help themselves, each other, their families and children to a better and more secure life. Children pursued education while experiencing working in the Trickle Up business. Primitive shelter improved; nutrition got better. Today, Trickle Up continues the traditions of its founders while evolving with the times, focusing its efforts ever more successfully on the evolving realities of ultra poverty, and growing the assets which it annually applies to its mission: giving the ultra poor the opportunity of a lifetime to improve their lives and grow their self-respect. What a priceless gift is Trickle Up!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

November 7, 2012

Trickle Up is the only organization I know that is dedicated to enhancing the lives of the world's very poorest people, those who mostly can't even qualify for a modest loan through micro-finance. Which is why the Trickle Up grant -- as opposed to a repayable loan -- is a critical form of support and encouragement, one that needs to be continued and expanded. Since 1979, Trickle Up has provided that crucial first step up onto the first rung of the ladder to a better life, better nutrition, better shelter, and education for the world's poorest children. I have been volunteering and giving to Trickle Up for almost 35 years, and I continue to keep this organization at the top of my charitable giving list. I personally have never found a more deserving organization. And I continually marvel at the professionalism and dedication of those brave souls who are directing this important and successful effort to reduce world poverty in some of the world's most difficult places. I support the work of Trickle Up one thousand percent, and I will continue to do so.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

Trickle Up ROCKS!!!!!! The company I work for, Newton Running, is involved with Trickle Up and has had an incredible experience doing so.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

We have worked with Trickle Up over the last two years and we have complete confidence in the organization. TU satisfies three primary concerns that often arise when examining an NGO's effectiveness: Have they identified the root causes of an issue? Have they developed a sustainable solution to overcome those issues? And finally, do they have a team that can manage the plan and evaluate progress? We have seen this on paper in TU's regular updates and in person from the beneficiaries of their programs. Trickle Up is focused and efficient in empowering the ultra-poor and their work has become model for similar programs. The overall social return of TU's programs has vastly exceeded the financial investments backing the programs. We looking forward to continuing our support of Trickle Up in 2013. Alex & Claire.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

I became involved with Trickle Up three years ago through a friend. My family and I donate to Trickle Up over other micro-financing/grant organizations because of its commitment to and success at equipping the ultra poor with the knowledge, skills and financial tools (i.e. savings groups and income diversification) needed to weather the inevitable periods of upheaval and scarcity that those in their position face. Through my involvement with the organization I have come to meet a number of its wonderful staff members all of whom exhibit the essential balance of professionalism and passion needed for a non-profit organization to be effective. The organization shows an equal commitment to improving the individual lives of those it works with and to developing ways to work with other non-profit organizations and government agencies so as to maximize its impact on global poverty.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012

more

November 8, 2012

Trickle Up is a great organization completely dedicated to helping women, children, families out of extreme poverty. I'm honored to have been able to get to know these folks and to have witnessed their work being done. They are truly making positive differences in the lives of people who are desperately in need.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012

more

November 8, 2012

Trickle Up has demonstrated an enduring and high impact system for causing long term change. Impressively they do this on a tight budget!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012

more

November 8, 2012

The work that TUp is doing has a profound impact on the lives of women and children in some of the poorist communities around the world. Women have their own money to buy food and clothing for their children, and the children are able to attend school. TUp's approach is an example of true humanitarianism

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 6, 2012

more

November 6, 2012

Trickle Up do the most amazing work where it is needed the most. They are leaders in the design and implementation of effective aid programs. I ran the Philadelphia marathon for them and was so proud to support them. In particular I love the passion of the people who run Trickle Up and their lifelong dedication to their work.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Join our Young Professionals Council of NYC, a dedicated group of volunteers supporting Trickle Up through fundraisers, awareness campaigns and networking opportunities! Volunteer