Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
32 Reviews
1234.906255
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
October 1, 2013

more

October 1, 2013

My time at Trickle Up lasted 4 months and I can safely assert that Trickle Up is probably the best managed Non-Profit organization I was fortunate enough to work in. The staff are dedicated to uplifting the very poor from the trenches of poverty and you feel that energy in the office. It also helps when they are very good at what needs to be done.

I also was able to visit their branch office in Kolkata, India. There, I learned about the challenges of development work in the field, which made it all the more remarkable how Trickle Up is able to successfully run projects and empower people in three different continents.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 1, 2013

more

October 1, 2013

I interned with Trickle Up in the Summer of 2009 with Jo Sanson, the head of Metrics. Jo was incredibly empowering as a boss. She gave me the opportunity to build a variety of data entry, validation, and analysis tools that I used to measure the impact of grants given to more than a dozen communities in rural Guatemala. I had a great experience at Trickle Up because of Jo's guidance, as well as the mentorship of other staff members like Joanna Tinsley. I appreciated how hard they work, how much they care and think critically about their organizational mission, and how they constantly asked questions about what was working, why, and how to prove it. Trickle Up was the first and only organization I've worked with that had weekly lunch discussions of a selected reading--including "Good to Great" by Jim Collins.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Ask them to introduce control communities where grants were also given, but delayed by 6-24 months. This would allow for rigorous comparative analysis that currently does not exist. Without control groups, it is impossible to determine whether change in income, consumption, health, and education are the result of micro grants or whether they are are caused by 'random' or exogenous factors like geography, weather, politics, or inflation.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

September 30, 2013

more

September 30, 2013

Trickle Up is one of those organizations, which practices what it preaches.
In the office there is an atmosphere of harmony and collaboration always. Not only my own supervisor (Jo) was available whenever I ran into a problem, but also the other members were ready to extend help.
Yoga in
the office is like cherry on the top!
I would definitely help out in the future also, as and when I am able to.
Wishing them all the very best!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 30, 2013

more

September 30, 2013

I volunteered as an intern in Trickle Up for more than a month during the summer. It was a fantastic learning experience and a privilege to work with such a fantastic team.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

nothing

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 15, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
September 24, 2013

I worked as a volunteer with Trickle Up from the early 1980s, when I met the founders, Millie and Glen Leet. And I served on the board in the 90s. It was an amazing organization from the start, with t... more

April 15, 2014

I have been associated with Trickle Up almost from the beginning in 1979. It is a fabulous organization doing important work among the poorest of the world's poor. It is well managed; almost all the money goes to programs. Every year it grows a bit, as it certainly should. I can't rate it high enough or say too many good things about this wonderful work. Entrepreneurs everywhere should revel in it and give it their attention and financial support. It is a model for creating powerful motivation on the part of the world's poorest people, especially women, to take charge of their lives and their communities with start-up businesses to support families and send kids to school. Those who receive Trickle Up's modest grants (not loans) can truly say: "We did it ourselves!" ----ron nelson, carmel, ca.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give it a million dollars.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 24, 2013

I worked as a volunteer with Trickle Up from the early 1980s, when I met the founders, Millie and Glen Leet. And I served on the board in the 90s. It was an amazing organization from the start, with total integrity and a powerful idea that the poorest of the poor should not fall into debt. Hence, the concept of the $50 grant rather than a micro-loan, funding the start of a business of the recipient's own choosing. At one point, Trickle Up was making grants and educating the poorest of the poor in basic business procedures in over 100 countries. Over its 34-year history, and with evolving leadership, Trickle Up has played a key role in helping the ultra poor get their foot on the first rung of the economically upward ladder, helping small groups, predominantly women, help themselves, each other, their families and children to a better and more secure life. Children pursued education while experiencing working in the Trickle Up business. Primitive shelter improved; nutrition got better. Today, Trickle Up continues the traditions of its founders while evolving with the times, focusing its efforts ever more successfully on the evolving realities of ultra poverty, and growing the assets which it annually applies to its mission: giving the ultra poor the opportunity of a lifetime to improve their lives and grow their self-respect. What a priceless gift is Trickle Up!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

November 7, 2012

Trickle Up is the only organization I know that is dedicated to enhancing the lives of the world's very poorest people, those who mostly can't even qualify for a modest loan through micro-finance. Which is why the Trickle Up grant -- as opposed to a repayable loan -- is a critical form of support and encouragement, one that needs to be continued and expanded. Since 1979, Trickle Up has provided that crucial first step up onto the first rung of the ladder to a better life, better nutrition, better shelter, and education for the world's poorest children. I have been volunteering and giving to Trickle Up for almost 35 years, and I continue to keep this organization at the top of my charitable giving list. I personally have never found a more deserving organization. And I continually marvel at the professionalism and dedication of those brave souls who are directing this important and successful effort to reduce world poverty in some of the world's most difficult places. I support the work of Trickle Up one thousand percent, and I will continue to do so.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

I interned with Trickle Up in 2009 and it was a wonderful opportunity to learn more about the incredible work they are doing from the inside. The staff in the U.S. and in the countries around the world where they fund microfinance programs are working each day to ensure that more and more people have the tools to lift themselves out of poverty and sustain their livelihoods over the long term.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

November 9, 2012

more

November 9, 2012

Trickle Up is an AMAZING program & should be recognized for all of the great work that they do. I have been contributing to this program for a few years now and the work that they do can not be compaired. The fact that this organization finds people who are in desperate need of help- gives them the tools to succede by creating their own business and must maintain it really creates a sense of success in these women. They have responsibility for creating and maintaing their future. They also give back by helping others. this organization teaches women that there is a way out and they can support themselves and their families instead of just waiting for food to come. I love this organization because they teach people to be proactive and dillagent which = success. They even tackle savings!! They make the ladies save so they have future $$$. I mean really- you can't ask for a better/smarter organization making women successful instead of just dependent on charity! I VOTE TRICKLE UP!!!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012

more

November 8, 2012

TUP is a leading organization in the field of microfinance. Everyone in the organization from the board of directors, the staff and volunteers are really passionate about helping those living in poverty by helping them break the cycle. TUP is unique to other microfinance organizations in the sense that they provide micro grants (not micro loans) to individuals (mostly women who are the head of the house hold). In addition, they provide training (not just $$) which is an essential element in ensuring the success of the micro enterprise.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012

more

November 8, 2012

An organization that has a distinct niche of expertise that it fills masterfully. They are experts in capacity building and at constantly working to meet the needs of their target population: the very poorest of the poor. The staff is highly dedicated and committed to a thoughtful, rigorous, and pragmatic approach.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 8, 2012

more

November 8, 2012

Having volunteered at this nonprofit for a year, one of the many positive aspects I noticed is the impact Trickle Up creates in communities that have very little resources. I witnessed first hand struggling clients go from receiving public assistance or no assiatnce at all to writing a business plan then owning a business with the guidance of NGOs/NPOs, staff members and volunteers that helps to help clients become self-sufficient. It's a model that works in my opinion and I am truly honored to be associated with Trickle Up. I would volunteer with Trickle Up again in a heartbeat!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Join our Young Professionals Council of NYC, a dedicated group of volunteers supporting Trickle Up through fundraisers, awareness campaigns and networking opportunities! Volunteer