Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
73 Reviews
1234.931515
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
April 5, 2013

more


1 previous review
February 1, 2011

I have seen Trees, Water, People's work first hand on Pine Ridge Reservation in South Dakota. This organization works WITH the Lakota people, empowering them to help themselves. Henry Red Cloud oper... more

April 5, 2013

Trees, Water, and People is.a unique organization. They are small enough To have personal contact with The projects they sponsor and large enough to make a real impact through careful planning and collaboration with local groups. I'm excited about the new garden initiative on t he Lakota Pine Ridge Reservation in South Dakota. I have seen in person how these projects can raise self esteem AND conserve energy on the part of the people receiving help from TWP. I participated in an Ecotour to the reservation sponsored by TWP.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 1, 2011

I have seen Trees, Water, People's work first hand on Pine Ridge Reservation in South Dakota. This organization works WITH the Lakota people, empowering them to help themselves. Henry Red Cloud operates a renewable energy center with the help of TWP. He trains Lakota men and women to construct and install solar heaters. Hundreds of reservation families are now warmer while honoring the Earth by reducing their dependence on fossil fuel.

Trees, Water, People also has projects in Central America and Haiti. These help to address the loss of forested land by replacing inefficient and unhealthful cooking stoves with ones requiring 70% less wood, while producing less smoke. Local women are consultants to assure that the type of stove matches the style of cooking in the area. Local entrepreneurs are encouraged to set up factories using local materials. TWP stove owners are delighted with the lower cost of cooking and cleaner air. In Haiti especially the ability to boil water to combat disease is critical.

I highly recommend this organization.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Honduras, South Dakota

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand their capacity to set up more stove factories and solar heat training and construction centers. I would increase publicity for this organization so that more people would know about the wonderful work that they are doing.

November 7, 2012

more

November 7, 2012

Trees, Water & People is an amazing and inspiring non-profit organization, which is why I am an intern for grant researching and writing. They help communities help themselves by teaching them how to continue the work that TWP has helped them begin. By teaching local community members how to improve their home environment (with cleaner burning stoves), how to save energy and utilize what Mother Nature offers (with solar heating), how to grow their own community gardens with healthier and heirloom produce (within a shelter to lengthen the growing season), how to grow and plant trees (to help recover after a natural disaster), and how to reduce their environmental impact footprints, among others, TWP promotes and passes on knowledge and skills to help create a healthier environment for everyone, as we are all connected. There is no better way for a community to help themselves than with using their own hands-on work and experience, and then to continue passing it on to future generations, or even other communities.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 6, 2012

more

November 6, 2012

I have been included in the Trees, Water & People family for almost a year now as a National Program Intern. I cannot find the right words to describe the amount of gratitude and appreciation I feel for the excellent staff. They are people who truly care, truly want to make the difference, and who will truly go beyond all expectations to achieve positive change. I have witnessed so many community driven activities that help everyone involved to grow, learn, and open their eyes. I believe in the programs TWP has created and look forward to seeing them continue to succeed.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 3, 2012

more

November 3, 2012

As a currently development intern at TWP, I am continuously impressed by the dedication and enthusiasm of the staff. It has a been an incredible experience to learn more about the non-profit sector and the necessary resources and hard work for executing high-impact projects. Trees, Water & People are endlessly dedicated to community driven projects that improve the quality of life for individuals. As a student of engineering, I have been very impressed by their ability to connect innovate technology with culturally appropriate solutions. I hope to continue to be involved with TWP and watch their ever growing impact.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 31, 2012

more

October 31, 2012

As the International Development Intern during Fall 2011, I had wonderful experience with TWP. The staff, and everyone involved for that matter, is dedicated to fulfilling the mission and bettering the local and global communities we live in. I enjoyed the positive energy in the office and the welcoming atmosphere that created a thoughtful and forward thinking work environment.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 30, 2012

more

October 30, 2012

I had such a pleasant experience this summer as an international development intern for TWP. The staff was exceedingly welcoming and full of passion for what they do. Each one of TWP's programs is so detailed and well-organized, even though I read up on the organization before the start of my internship, I found myself learning something new about it every day. The knowledge and experience I gained about the meeting point of humanitarian work, grant-writing, and environmental conservation is invaluable.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 26, 2012

more

October 26, 2012

I've been a volunteer on and off for the last few years at TWP and have absolutely loved it! The staff, board and other volunteers are wonderful. Their approach to non-intrusively introducing sustainable, health-improving projects is thorough and deeply rooted in a belief to change communities through their own means and labor!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 26, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
April 26, 2012

I have been volunteering with Trees, Water & People for a year and a half and have loved every moment of my time with them. The work that this organization does to assist communities in protecting and restoring their natural resources has improved the quality of life for so many as well as the land that they live on. My work as a volunteer has evolved over the time I have been with them. Throughout this evolution the staff have always treated me with respect and appreciation, which has only driven me to want to continue my involvement. I am forever grateful for the experiences I have had with them and the ones still to come!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 24, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
April 24, 2012

Trees Water People is an extremely impressive NGO, my first experience with them and since then has been nothing but professional, inspiring and fun.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 9, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
February 9, 2011

Trees, Water & People is an outstanding environmental and developmental nonprofit that is truly satisfying to support. They are very community-minded in their down-to-earth relationships with local people and the organizations they serve. While they have an honest, unpretentious attitude about their mission, they are also extremely knowledgeable and experienced in the technical aspects of silviculture, watershed protection, and small-scale solar energy applications. Best of all, they had the foresight to focus on promoting the use of energy-efficient woodstoves to attack the cause of much deforestation in Central America. This has a wonderful side-benefit to the beneficiaries who adopt these stoves in homes and community buildings: clean indoor air and improved respiratory health.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Watershed conservation in my local community, as well as urban beautification of parks and other open spaces.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand and improve public awareness of their mission and activities in our local community.

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help with administrative work in our office located in Fort Collins, CO. We also work with volunteers to maintain our xeriscape garden in the spring and summer months. Volunteer