Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
88 Reviews
1234.931825
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
October 12, 2014

more

October 12, 2014

TWP is an exceptional non-profit in that it works at the frontline of energy and the poor in improving lives through low cost applications such as fuel efficient cook stoves and solar air heaters. It does it through working with local organizations at the grassroots level. Ten years ago, I helped TWP set up a tribal lands project to build and install solar air heaters for low income housing. Today it is the largest solar air collector initiative in the country, impacted dozens of reservations and has built one of the only sustainability centers for training in Indian lands on the poorest reservation in the country, Pine Ridge. TWP results speak for themselves.
October 10, 2014

more

October 10, 2014

I love Trees, Water & People! My relationship with this awesome organization began back in 2012 when I took a road trip with some friends up to Pine Ridge Indian Reservation in South Dakota. TWP partners with a Native-owned solar and renewable energy company there. My friends and I helped out in the organic garden called Solar Warrior Farm located at the Red Could Renewable Energy Center campus. This was my first experience being on a reservation, and I learned a lot about Native American culture and the hardships that many American Indians are faced with. This experience left me with a strong desire to continue volunteering with both TWP and the folks at Pine Ridge.

Since that first trip, I have been back to Pine Ridge several times to volunteer with TWP. My relationship with environmentalism and social justice is nurtured through the projects I take part in, and I always leave the reservation feeling more at peace than when I arrived, and with a renewed sense of purpose to keep taking action for change.

I also decided to do my internship here in TWP's Fort Collins office to finish out the requirements for my degree in Environmental Sociology this spring. I really enjoyed getting to learn more about the organization and it's programs, and getting to work more closely with the wonderful staff (so much so, that I decided to stick around and continue volunteering after graduation!). In a way, the volunteer work I get to do with TWP has added to my inspiration to pursue my education further, so I will be starting a master's program in Sustainability and Environmental Management next year.

TWP will always be one of my favorite organizations. I love the mission and purpose, and truly appreciate the hard work they put in to helping our environment!
October 8, 2014

more

October 8, 2014

Trees, Water & People cultivates a creative, inspiring work atmosphere. I thoroughly enjoy my work as an intern. I'm challenged to think outside of the box every day.

One of the programs I'm most excited about is the new solar energy solutions: Luciernaga. TWP has been distributing
solar lamps and chargers to people in rural communities in Central America who are lacking access to the main grid. The solar lamps and chargers are inexpensive, and proving to be a vital energy resource to those who need it most.
October 7, 2014

more

October 7, 2014

It is an honor that I have been an intern for Trees, Water & People for three years. They are a very hard working, hands-on, dedicated, and noble nonprofit organization. I am so glad that I have been able to help them with their mission of improving disadvantaged people’s lives by teaching them how to protect, conserve, and manage their natural resources upon which their, and everybody else’s, long-term well-being depends on. What a great organization that eventually helps everybody, one family or community at a time, while improving the environment.
October 7, 2014

more

October 7, 2014

I've had a lot of different internships and the one with TWP has by far the most rewarding and has taught me the most in preparation for a career in sustainable development. They are very much a collaborative organization rather than to- down type of org, which I admire.
October 6, 2014

more

October 6, 2014

I had the privilege of working with Trees Water and People in a project on the Pine Ridge Indian Reservation. My coworkers and I have twice traveled to South Dakota to help furnish the Solar Earth Lodge. Trees Water and People is facilitating the production and training of renewable energy for native americans. The Lakota people are trained to build and install solar heaters greatly reducing heating bills. The native americans we worked with were truly working to improve their lives and to protect their planet in partnership with Trees Water and People. The is a grass roots organization that partners with people with great needs and great dignity
October 1, 2014

more

October 1, 2014

The representatives from this organization are hardworking and passionate. TWP's noble cause to help both the environment and the needs of a community benefit us all around the globe. My volunteer experience with TWP was so much fun. Great mission, great people, and educational as well. I hope to participate again in the near future!!
April 28, 2014

more

April 28, 2014

Trees, Water & People is truly an amazing, hardworking and inspiring organization. This group of dedicated and genuine individuals continuously strive to make positive impacts on people and the environment. As an intern for National Development I am having an extremely beneficial experience learning about the interworkings of a nonprofit and getting the opportunity to be a part of the incredible work TWP is doing nationally. The balance of a human based approach that coexists with the environment is a rare and beautiful thing. I will absolutely continue to stay involved with this organization and support thier endlessly positive impacts.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 5, 2013

more


1 previous review
February 1, 2011

I have seen Trees, Water, People's work first hand on Pine Ridge Reservation in South Dakota. This organization works WITH the Lakota people, empowering them to help themselves. Henry Red Cloud oper... more

April 5, 2013

Trees, Water, and People is.a unique organization. They are small enough To have personal contact with The projects they sponsor and large enough to make a real impact through careful planning and collaboration with local groups. I'm excited about the new garden initiative on t he Lakota Pine Ridge Reservation in South Dakota. I have seen in person how these projects can raise self esteem AND conserve energy on the part of the people receiving help from TWP. I participated in an Ecotour to the reservation sponsored by TWP.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 1, 2011

I have seen Trees, Water, People's work first hand on Pine Ridge Reservation in South Dakota. This organization works WITH the Lakota people, empowering them to help themselves. Henry Red Cloud operates a renewable energy center with the help of TWP. He trains Lakota men and women to construct and install solar heaters. Hundreds of reservation families are now warmer while honoring the Earth by reducing their dependence on fossil fuel.

Trees, Water, People also has projects in Central America and Haiti. These help to address the loss of forested land by replacing inefficient and unhealthful cooking stoves with ones requiring 70% less wood, while producing less smoke. Local women are consultants to assure that the type of stove matches the style of cooking in the area. Local entrepreneurs are encouraged to set up factories using local materials. TWP stove owners are delighted with the lower cost of cooking and cleaner air. In Haiti especially the ability to boil water to combat disease is critical.

I highly recommend this organization.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Honduras, South Dakota

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand their capacity to set up more stove factories and solar heat training and construction centers. I would increase publicity for this organization so that more people would know about the wonderful work that they are doing.

November 7, 2012

more

November 7, 2012

Trees, Water & People is an amazing and inspiring non-profit organization, which is why I am an intern for grant researching and writing. They help communities help themselves by teaching them how to continue the work that TWP has helped them begin. By teaching local community members how to improve their home environment (with cleaner burning stoves), how to save energy and utilize what Mother Nature offers (with solar heating), how to grow their own community gardens with healthier and heirloom produce (within a shelter to lengthen the growing season), how to grow and plant trees (to help recover after a natural disaster), and how to reduce their environmental impact footprints, among others, TWP promotes and passes on knowledge and skills to help create a healthier environment for everyone, as we are all connected. There is no better way for a community to help themselves than with using their own hands-on work and experience, and then to continue passing it on to future generations, or even other communities.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help with administrative work in our office located in Fort Collins, CO. We also work with volunteers to maintain our xeriscape garden in the spring and summer months. Volunteer