Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
88 Reviews
1234.931825
Write A Review
November 6, 2012

more


2 previous reviews - show all
April 24, 2012

Trees, Water & People does remarkable, impactful, on the ground work to help some of the poorest of the poor in our world improve their lives through shifting resource use. In ways we can barely imag... more

November 6, 2012

Trees, Water & People works with a network of partners in the U.S. and abroad to deliver enterprise based resource solutions to under served communities. Critical issues such as energy for heating and cooking, reforestation, and solar lighting and charging are addressed via creation of local businesses and jobs that provide much needed market development as well as life changing services. I have been thrilled and honored to serve as a Board member for almost a decade, and have had the uplifting opportunity to witness our programs at work in places like Haiti, Nicaragua, and Honduras as well as the Pine Ridge and Rosebud Reservations in the Northern Plains. Meeting and working with our partners such as AHDESA and Prolena in Central America and Lakota Solar Enterprises at Pine Ridge has helped me realize the phenomenal impact appropriate and green technologies can have in developing world settings. And visiting the people we serve in their villages and homes, and seeing first hand the way lives are changed and improved gives me real hope for the future of all of us.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 24, 2012

Trees, Water & People does remarkable, impactful, on the ground work to help some of the poorest of the poor in our world improve their lives through shifting resource use. In ways we can barely imagine living in the developed world, TWP helps deliver health, economic, and environmental benefits via strategic partnerships that promote local ownership and sustainability. For 14 years the organization has helped to lead the cutting edge of development strategies to enable people and communities to lift themselves up from the survival level of poverty to become productive, contributing members of societies with hopeful futures. A contribution to Trees, Water & People is a social investment that pays dividends many times over.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 2, 2011

I have been involved with Trees, Water & People for 7 years as a Board member. I was attracted to them by the wonderful practicality of their appropriate technology work. We live in a complicated world, where it's easy to fill separated and inconsequential. TWP employs straightforward and meaningful approaches to make real differences in the lives of individuals, families, and communities, in cost effective, sustainable, and environmentally intelligent ways. They're at the vanguard of the new movement that's redefining international development and poverty alleviation via enterprise collaborations.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

solar heating projects on tribal homelands in the American West. This program creates jobs in system manufacturing and field installation, while delivering clean, low cost heat to at need Tribal members.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

seek to obtain additional support and funding so programs could expand.

November 5, 2012

more

November 5, 2012

I have been involved with Trees, Water & People for several years now and have been very impressed with their mission, programs and how they administer them. We have focused on reforestation and tribal renewable energy but all their programs are excellent and would highly recommend this non-profit organization.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 5, 2012

more


1 previous review
February 8, 2011

Trees, Water, People (TWP) has provided me and many of my friends with the vehichle for providing support to sustainable projects that will truly make a difference in people's lives. I have purchased... more

November 5, 2012

I have been involved with TWP for the last three years and have been extremely impressed with the many programs they are supporting. They have touched so many lives with their approach of sustainable energy, clean cooking, carbon offsets, etc. I have donated to these various programs for Christmas gifts, birthday gifts and "in memory of friends" I have lost. I will continue to look to Trees, Water and People to provide opportunities for me to help the peoples of our earth.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 8, 2011

Trees, Water, People (TWP) has provided me and many of my friends with the vehichle for providing support to sustainable projects that will truly make a difference in people's lives. I have purchased "carbob offsets" for Christmas gifts to my family and friends who are thrilled to be part of something bigger than just themselves. I have purchased stoves and contributed money to the efforts in Haiti. When working through TWP I always think of Margaret Meads memorable quote, "Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed people can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
KEEP UP THE EXCELLENT WORK!!!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have seen the work they have being doing in Central America, etc.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would continue doing all they are doing today and look to future growth of TWP in the near future!

November 3, 2012

more

November 3, 2012

As a currently development intern at TWP, I am continuously impressed by the dedication and enthusiasm of the staff. It has a been an incredible experience to learn more about the non-profit sector and the necessary resources and hard work for executing high-impact projects. Trees, Water & People are endlessly dedicated to community driven projects that improve the quality of life for individuals. As a student of engineering, I have been very impressed by their ability to connect innovate technology with culturally appropriate solutions. I hope to continue to be involved with TWP and watch their ever growing impact.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 1, 2012

more

November 1, 2012

Trees, Water, People is great in that it supports projects that have positive effects on so many different levels-- poverty, the environment, building communities. By implementing environmentally friendly energy sources into disadvantaged communities it helps the people in these communities AND is good for the environment at the same time. With projects both in the U.S. and abroad, Trees, Water, People lives up to it's slogan of "Helping People and the Planet."

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 31, 2012

more

October 31, 2012

As the International Development Intern during Fall 2011, I had wonderful experience with TWP. The staff, and everyone involved for that matter, is dedicated to fulfilling the mission and bettering the local and global communities we live in. I enjoyed the positive energy in the office and the welcoming atmosphere that created a thoughtful and forward thinking work environment.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 30, 2012

more

October 30, 2012

I had such a pleasant experience this summer as an international development intern for TWP. The staff was exceedingly welcoming and full of passion for what they do. Each one of TWP's programs is so detailed and well-organized, even though I read up on the organization before the start of my internship, I found myself learning something new about it every day. The knowledge and experience I gained about the meeting point of humanitarian work, grant-writing, and environmental conservation is invaluable.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 26, 2012

more

October 26, 2012

I've been a volunteer on and off for the last few years at TWP and have absolutely loved it! The staff, board and other volunteers are wonderful. Their approach to non-intrusively introducing sustainable, health-improving projects is thorough and deeply rooted in a belief to change communities through their own means and labor!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 26, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
April 26, 2012

I have been a donor to Trees, Water and People since its founding in 1998 and a Board member for the past nine years. In 2002 I volunteered to spend a month in Honduras building improved cookstoves in very poor, rural parts of the country. It was amazing to me the impact these simple stoves, mostly constructed with local materials, made in peoples' lives - eliminating harmful smoke from kitchens, saving time and/or money collecting or buying firewood. Good for the environment too! I have also worked on cookstove programs in Guatemala and Mexico and last year travelled to Uganda where a new pilot project has been started. This is a great organization with a dedicated and professional staff making full use of the resources it has available.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 26, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
April 26, 2012

I have been volunteering with Trees, Water & People for a year and a half and have loved every moment of my time with them. The work that this organization does to assist communities in protecting and restoring their natural resources has improved the quality of life for so many as well as the land that they live on. My work as a volunteer has evolved over the time I have been with them. Throughout this evolution the staff have always treated me with respect and appreciation, which has only driven me to want to continue my involvement. I am forever grateful for the experiences I have had with them and the ones still to come!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help with administrative work in our office located in Fort Collins, CO. We also work with volunteers to maintain our xeriscape garden in the spring and summer months. Volunteer