Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
88 Reviews
1234.931825
Write A Review
October 1, 2014

more

October 1, 2014

I first learned about Trees, Water & People thru Care2. This organization not only saves lives but eye sight and the future of children. TWP improves lives by supplying solar energy to individual homes. A simple step that should become the right of all individuals in the world. This means that the people no longer die of smoke inhalation or from fires. Parents can spend more time at home instead of looking for firewood or oil. They can save a little money to improve their lives. Children can study by actual lights instead of a candle or kerosene lamp giving them the world through education. In addition they work with and teach native Americans how to start renewable green business. Best of both worlds they help here and abroad.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 1, 2014

more

October 1, 2014

Helping both Native Americans and central Americans to utilize solar energy and to live healthy lives is a superb cause that I heartily believe in.
October 1, 2014

more

October 1, 2014

The representatives from this organization are hardworking and passionate. TWP's noble cause to help both the environment and the needs of a community benefit us all around the globe. My volunteer experience with TWP was so much fun. Great mission, great people, and educational as well. I hope to participate again in the near future!!
September 30, 2014

more

September 30, 2014

Combatting soil erosion and limiting respriratory ailments can go a long way towards building a future for rural people.
In a way that makes sense to the people of Central America, TWP helps tackle these and other problems.
April 28, 2014

more

April 28, 2014

Trees, Water & People is truly an amazing, hardworking and inspiring organization. This group of dedicated and genuine individuals continuously strive to make positive impacts on people and the environment. As an intern for National Development I am having an extremely beneficial experience learning about the interworkings of a nonprofit and getting the opportunity to be a part of the incredible work TWP is doing nationally. The balance of a human based approach that coexists with the environment is a rare and beautiful thing. I will absolutely continue to stay involved with this organization and support thier endlessly positive impacts.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 16, 2014

more

April 16, 2014

Imagine you could plant trees in Central America.
Imagine those trees improving the atmosphere while feeding and shading the family who lives under them.
Imagine a clean burning cookstove can save some of those trees for the future while providing clean air indoors for the family that uses
it.
Imagine the children in that family have more time to go to school since they aren't collecting so much firewood.
Imagine that a solar light could allow them to read books after dark.
Imagine that they can charge up cellphones with solar power to connect to the rest of the world.
TWP and its partners is doing all that and more!
Imagine you could help.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 5, 2013

more


1 previous review
February 1, 2011

I have seen Trees, Water, People's work first hand on Pine Ridge Reservation in South Dakota. This organization works WITH the Lakota people, empowering them to help themselves. Henry Red Cloud oper... more

April 5, 2013

Trees, Water, and People is.a unique organization. They are small enough To have personal contact with The projects they sponsor and large enough to make a real impact through careful planning and collaboration with local groups. I'm excited about the new garden initiative on t he Lakota Pine Ridge Reservation in South Dakota. I have seen in person how these projects can raise self esteem AND conserve energy on the part of the people receiving help from TWP. I participated in an Ecotour to the reservation sponsored by TWP.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 1, 2011

I have seen Trees, Water, People's work first hand on Pine Ridge Reservation in South Dakota. This organization works WITH the Lakota people, empowering them to help themselves. Henry Red Cloud operates a renewable energy center with the help of TWP. He trains Lakota men and women to construct and install solar heaters. Hundreds of reservation families are now warmer while honoring the Earth by reducing their dependence on fossil fuel.

Trees, Water, People also has projects in Central America and Haiti. These help to address the loss of forested land by replacing inefficient and unhealthful cooking stoves with ones requiring 70% less wood, while producing less smoke. Local women are consultants to assure that the type of stove matches the style of cooking in the area. Local entrepreneurs are encouraged to set up factories using local materials. TWP stove owners are delighted with the lower cost of cooking and cleaner air. In Haiti especially the ability to boil water to combat disease is critical.

I highly recommend this organization.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Honduras, South Dakota

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand their capacity to set up more stove factories and solar heat training and construction centers. I would increase publicity for this organization so that more people would know about the wonderful work that they are doing.

November 7, 2012

more

November 7, 2012

Trees, Water & People is an amazing and inspiring non-profit organization, which is why I am an intern for grant researching and writing. They help communities help themselves by teaching them how to continue the work that TWP has helped them begin. By teaching local community members how to improve their home environment (with cleaner burning stoves), how to save energy and utilize what Mother Nature offers (with solar heating), how to grow their own community gardens with healthier and heirloom produce (within a shelter to lengthen the growing season), how to grow and plant trees (to help recover after a natural disaster), and how to reduce their environmental impact footprints, among others, TWP promotes and passes on knowledge and skills to help create a healthier environment for everyone, as we are all connected. There is no better way for a community to help themselves than with using their own hands-on work and experience, and then to continue passing it on to future generations, or even other communities.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 6, 2012

more


1 previous review
February 9, 2011

The more I learn about TWP the more impressed I am with the impact their approach to helping communites in need to manage and conserve their natural resources. I became a part of TWP through a gift d... more

November 6, 2012

As a donor to TWP my experience is from a distance, but due to the reports via FB I feel connected to a wonderful organization that is making a difference in the world. It is my hope that my donations from afar will assist in keeping the great staff going forward with their outstanding work.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 9, 2011

The more I learn about TWP the more impressed I am with the impact their approach to helping communites in need to manage and conserve their natural resources. I became a part of TWP through a gift donation and will continue with personal contributions. The success that TWP is exhibiting is due to their sustainable efforts in the communities they are working. I am excited about their future because it means we all will have a future due to their efforts.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I am new to this organization and learning of their research and how their findings are being applied to communities in need.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No changes at this time

November 6, 2012

more

November 6, 2012

I have been included in the Trees, Water & People family for almost a year now as a National Program Intern. I cannot find the right words to describe the amount of gratitude and appreciation I feel for the excellent staff. They are people who truly care, truly want to make the difference, and who will truly go beyond all expectations to achieve positive change. I have witnessed so many community driven activities that help everyone involved to grow, learn, and open their eyes. I believe in the programs TWP has created and look forward to seeing them continue to succeed.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help with administrative work in our office located in Fort Collins, CO. We also work with volunteers to maintain our xeriscape garden in the spring and summer months. Volunteer