Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
88 Reviews
1234.931825
Write A Review
October 13, 2014

more

October 13, 2014

When I heard about Trees Water People several years ago I knew this was an organization that I wanted to support. TWP not only plants trees but also has created stoves that need little wood and burn cleanly and efficiently. They are bringing simple and affordable solar to families with no electricity. This power changes their lives and does away with candles and non recyclable batteries. Now that I am a board member I am grateful to be more involved in bringing these huge changes to people around the world, which at the same time protect the environment for all.
October 12, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 12, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

TWP is an exceptional non-profit in that it works at the frontline of energy and the poor in improving lives through low cost applications such as fuel efficient cook stoves and solar air heaters. It does it through working with local organizations at the grassroots level. Ten years ago, I helped TWP set up a tribal lands project to build and install solar air heaters for low income housing. Today it is the largest solar air collector initiative in the country, impacted dozens of reservations and has built one of the only sustainability centers for training in Indian lands on the poorest reservation in the country, Pine Ridge. TWP results speak for themselves.
October 10, 2014

more

October 10, 2014

I love Trees, Water & People! My relationship with this awesome organization began back in 2012 when I took a road trip with some friends up to Pine Ridge Indian Reservation in South Dakota. TWP partners with a Native-owned solar and renewable energy company there. My friends and I helped out in the organic garden called Solar Warrior Farm located at the Red Could Renewable Energy Center campus. This was my first experience being on a reservation, and I learned a lot about Native American culture and the hardships that many American Indians are faced with. This experience left me with a strong desire to continue volunteering with both TWP and the folks at Pine Ridge.

Since that first trip, I have been back to Pine Ridge several times to volunteer with TWP. My relationship with environmentalism and social justice is nurtured through the projects I take part in, and I always leave the reservation feeling more at peace than when I arrived, and with a renewed sense of purpose to keep taking action for change.

I also decided to do my internship here in TWP's Fort Collins office to finish out the requirements for my degree in Environmental Sociology this spring. I really enjoyed getting to learn more about the organization and it's programs, and getting to work more closely with the wonderful staff (so much so, that I decided to stick around and continue volunteering after graduation!). In a way, the volunteer work I get to do with TWP has added to my inspiration to pursue my education further, so I will be starting a master's program in Sustainability and Environmental Management next year.

TWP will always be one of my favorite organizations. I love the mission and purpose, and truly appreciate the hard work they put in to helping our environment!
October 9, 2014

more

October 9, 2014

Trees, Water, People has been providing tools and support to developing nations and native american communities stateside for many years. Because they operate in a well establish international network, they are able to make a huge impact to so many people's lives.

We have the luxury of
seemingly unlimited resources in the community where we live. But in the communities where TWP operates, resources are scarce and therefore so very important. By focusing on social impact and sustainability, the results are self-perpetuating. Give a woman a fish, fish for a day. Teach a woman to fish, fish for a lifetime.

I am proud to be associated with such an extraordinary organization.
October 8, 2014

more

October 8, 2014

TWP is a quality organization making meaningful contributions to both people in need and to the environment.

I am excited by the contribution TWP makes with its partners on tribal lands and in communities throughout Central America and Haiti. Over the years, it has expanded efforts to
include clean cookstoves to reduce deforestation, and solar energy to provide alternatives to carbon-based fuels. Providing such sustainable solutions also has a positive impact on the lives of the people in the communities TWP serves.

TWP provides the opportunity to get directly involved with projects and people. Over the past two summers, I’ve participated in several volunteer trips to the Red Cloud Renewable Energy Center (RCREC) on the Pine Ridge Reservation in South Dakota. I’ve contributed to, and learned from, efforts in green building, green business development, and renewable energy. I’ve gotten to know several members of the local community, learning a lot about the Lakota people and the challenges they face today.
October 8, 2014

more

October 8, 2014

Trees, Water & People cultivates a creative, inspiring work atmosphere. I thoroughly enjoy my work as an intern. I'm challenged to think outside of the box every day.

One of the programs I'm most excited about is the new solar energy solutions: Luciernaga. TWP has been distributing
solar lamps and chargers to people in rural communities in Central America who are lacking access to the main grid. The solar lamps and chargers are inexpensive, and proving to be a vital energy resource to those who need it most.
October 7, 2014

more

October 7, 2014

It is an honor that I have been an intern for Trees, Water & People for three years. They are a very hard working, hands-on, dedicated, and noble nonprofit organization. I am so glad that I have been able to help them with their mission of improving disadvantaged people’s lives by teaching them how to protect, conserve, and manage their natural resources upon which their, and everybody else’s, long-term well-being depends on. What a great organization that eventually helps everybody, one family or community at a time, while improving the environment.
October 7, 2014

more

October 7, 2014

I've had a lot of different internships and the one with TWP has by far the most rewarding and has taught me the most in preparation for a career in sustainable development. They are very much a collaborative organization rather than to- down type of org, which I admire.
October 7, 2014

more

October 7, 2014

I think Trees, Water & People is great because it is hands-on progress. No one is trying to convince anyone of anything here....it's clear that clean water, healthy trees, and people living joyfully are all related. And that the sun is a huge free energy source. This is one group that is really making it happen. Progressive change should be this direct more often!
October 6, 2014

more

October 6, 2014

I had the privilege of working with Trees Water and People in a project on the Pine Ridge Indian Reservation. My coworkers and I have twice traveled to South Dakota to help furnish the Solar Earth Lodge. Trees Water and People is facilitating the production and training of renewable energy for native americans. The Lakota people are trained to build and install solar heaters greatly reducing heating bills. The native americans we worked with were truly working to improve their lives and to protect their planet in partnership with Trees Water and People. The is a grass roots organization that partners with people with great needs and great dignity
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help with administrative work in our office located in Fort Collins, CO. We also work with volunteers to maintain our xeriscape garden in the spring and summer months. Volunteer