Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
29 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
May 19, 2014

more

May 19, 2014

I am so grateful for the work that the Travis Manion Foundation is doing, I have been a part of 8 different projects, events, or expeditions. Through their unique approach to the healing process by honoring the fallen through challenging the living, I have personally seen peoples lives transformed. Families who have lost loved ones in service to this country, have been able to remember their loved ones and see the world around them become a better place. Through serving and interacting with other families who have experienced a common loss these people are able to process their loss and heal in ways that are not possible in everyday life or on their own.
TMF is a great organization, being run by great people.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 16, 2014

more

May 16, 2014

The Travis Manion Foundation is doing an amazing job to bring health and life back to people and places that have forgotten laughter, hope, and joy. After 4 Expeditions with TMF, I am convinced they would continue on even if it meant only one person went home more whole than when they arrived at the job site. The genuine compassion they have for anyone who is willing to receive is uncommon and much needed. They have shown so many a bright future in the light of the memory of those they love.
March 12, 2014

more

March 12, 2014

When my husband was killed in Afghanistan in 2012, the Travis Manion Foundation was one of the first organizations to reach out to me. The West Coast director, Amy Looney, met with me personally. Though she did not know my husband, she had taken the time to read about both his life and his death before meeting me. I don’t think that I can adequately put down on paper how touched I was by this gesture. I knew at that moment that her concern was genuine and this was a person and foundation that truly cares about its mission. Almost two years later I still feel that level of care and concern.

I have been blessed to have been able to participate in a number of events including the 2012 heroes run, the golf dinner, and the surviving spouse trip to Colorado. All of these events have helped me to grow stronger as a person and help transform my grief. The foundation has provided me with a support system of other women who know and understand the loss I have experienced and that has been invaluable.

I love the way that the foundation honors the fallen. At every event I have been to my husband has been honored by name. It is such a comfort to hear him remembered individually and yet it happens so rarely at large events sponsored by other organizations. The TMF has gone above and beyond to remember our heroes, not just as a whole but for the unique and special people that each of them were.

Most recently, I turned the tables and volunteered at the 2013 heroes run. It felt great to give a little back to a foundation that has given me so much!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 28, 2014

more

January 28, 2014

This is the kind of organization that you are proud to be associated with. As a volunteer race director for the 2013 Heroes Run, it was apparent to me from the start that everyone involved was passionate about the Foundation and what it stands for. I feel truly lucky to have been even a small part of it all. I would not hesitate to recommend the Travis Manion Foundation to anyone looking to get more involved in our community.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 21, 2014

more

January 21, 2014

My first experience with the Foundation was as a recipient. Along with 11 other women I was given the opportunity to go challenge myself in honor of a lost loved one. That opportunity turned out not only to be a physical challenge, but an emotional one as well. Additionally I met and bonded with some of the most amazing women one could ever hope to meet. That trip was pivotal and instrumental in my healing process. I continue to be involved with TMF as a volunteer, wanting to help others heal and grow in any way possible the same way that TMF helped me. From community clean ups, to Character Does Matter in the schools, to the internship program to assist vets back into civilian life, the Foundation contributes to our community in an invaluable manner. I strongly recommend participating in any manner- volunteering and or donating, and spreading the word about the Travis Manion Foundation.
~ Shannon Shepherd

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 21, 2014

more

January 21, 2014

If you are looking to volunteer your time for an extremely important cause, directly make a difference in someone's life, meet amazing new people and have fun at the same time...this is the non profit for you. For the past 3 years I have volunteered with the San Diego 911 Heroes Run and it is always a highlight of my year. As you watch families, friends and supporters of fallen soldiers run across the finish line you cannot help but feel blessed to be part of such an amazing organization that is truly making a difference in peoples lives. Thank you TMF!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 20, 2014

more

January 20, 2014

I cannot say enough good things about the Travis Manion Foundation. They helped me and my family cope with our loss and gave a way to carry our loved one with us by doing good in his name. Travis said "If not me then who?" We my brother Mike would say "Always leave it better than you found it." I think the two had the same point of view. The foundation allows us to bring both of their legacies to life by making the world better one grant, one project, one person at a time.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give it more funding.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 20, 2014

more

January 20, 2014

Great organization that has done wonderful things for veterans and families of the fallen service member. The Travis Manion Foundation provided a challenge grant for me family and me to run the Marine Corp 10k in Washington, DC. I have also participated in a challenge grant which brought me a group of gold star families to Guatemala for a service trip. These trips have been a great way to honor my brother who passed almost 4 years ago.

I know they also provide great services and counseling to veterans. Everyone I have met through the foundation has been great and very supportive.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 20, 2014

more

January 20, 2014

I helped coordinate the 2013 5k Run in San Diego. I have been involved in several organizations over the years. TMF is outstanding. The people are driven and dedicated to their cause. I would encourage anyone to volunteer, serve, or donate asap!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

none

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 8, 2013

more


1 previous review
March 4, 2013

My relationship with the Travis Manion Foundation started when I received a challnge grant to honor my son, Marine LCPL Eric W. Herzberg. Eric gave his life for our country in October of 2006 in Al A... more

August 8, 2013

The Travis Manion Foundation generously provided a grant to me in honor of my fallen hero son, Marine Lance Corporal Eric Herzberg. I have used the grant to participate in the Foundation's Character Does Matter program, to create service opportunities for the students in the program and then award scholarships to those who demonstrate exceptional leadership. My partnership with the Travis Manion Foundation has been extremely rewarding. They are compassionate, professional and knowlegable people - a great organization!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 4, 2013

My relationship with the Travis Manion Foundation started when I received a challnge grant to honor my son, Marine LCPL Eric W. Herzberg. Eric gave his life for our country in October of 2006 in Al Anbar, Iraq. I had the opportunity to share in presenting the Charatcer Does Matter Program at Severna Park High Scool in Maryland where Eric graduated in 2005. Students were encouraged to participate in two service opportunities after the presentation - one by building homes as part of Habitat for Humanity and the other to write biographies for Fallen Heroes for posting on their memorial page as part of the Fallen Heroes Portrait Project (www.fallenheroesproject.org). The grant was used to award three $1,500 scholarships to students who participated in the service projects and demonstrated leadership qualities.

I am very impressed with the Travis Manion organization. The people they have working for them are very dedicated and friendly, and they believe in their mission. I am looking forward to helping with future programs with the Foundation as a way of carrying on Eric's and Travis legacy of selfless service.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers