Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
21 Reviews
1234.380955
Previous | Next
Write A Review
April 8, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
October 28, 2013

I learned of the Traveling Guitar Foundation through Google+. As an artist and wife of a musician, I was immediately drawn to their wonderful gift of music education in schools. I was fortunate enough... more

April 8, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

I originally wrote a positive review for this organization and then I started to question their integrity after many things happened that I was not feeling good about. I won't go into the details but rather just implore people who want to support an organization to really look into what they do and who is in charge and where the money is ACTUALLY going. Don't just read their website and take them for their word. Read up on them, check sites like this one as well as other non profit websites that allow others to give feedback who have dealt with the organization in the past.

ASK QUESTIONS. Be 100% sure of where your donation is going and find out if the founder is true to his/her word.

I not only gave this organization a cash donation, but items for them to make money on, as well as constant social media sound bites on Twitter, G+ and Facebook. In the end, I felt taken. I've tried to contact Damon and others in the organization only to be ignored. It's a great learning experience for me and I hope others will learn before they give to TGF as well.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Question his Board of Directors where your donations are going, although he has removed his BOD of his TGF website, so good luck with that. I'd say question Damon himself, but you will probably never get an answer so that's useless. I'd love to say he's a great guy, but he's just another person taking advantage of people who want to do something good for what feels like a good cause. In the end, I think TGF is a cover for Damon Marks getting his own perks.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013

I learned of the Traveling Guitar Foundation through Google+. As an artist and wife of a musician, I was immediately drawn to their wonderful gift of music education in schools. I was fortunate enough to be asked to donate artwork for a fundraiser of theirs in Los Angeles just this past summer. What a lovely group of people to meet! They are incredibly passionate about their cause and they give not only with their time and money, but most importantly, with their hearts. I donated 10% of my sales of my very first art show to them last spring and I continue to offer 10% of my sales on Fine Art America. What they do is so very important for our next generation, but also for the teachers and the schools who obviously benefit from their contributions and are able to see these kids shine. Bravo to TGF! They are an amazing group!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get more satellite offices throughout the U.S. where more people can get the word out and more schools can benefit from their program.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 24, 2013

more

October 24, 2013

When you realize what an impact music has on the development of a child's mind, you have to do everything possible to keep the art alive. Music should be a part of every child's learning experience - they should at least have the chance to hear it, feel it and learn it. Supporting this foundation is one of the best ways to make it happen.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 5, 2012

more

October 5, 2012

I am a proud donor. This nonprofit is my one of my favorites. I consider myself very lucky to have seen a performance at a school where I worked a few years ago. Their mission is simple but a powerful one: Keep the arts in schools.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers