Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
22 Reviews
1234.409095
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
October 1, 2014

more

October 1, 2014

I've been donating to the traveling guitar foundation for years and have even attended a school event. Before I ever do anything for a non profit I always look into them completely, the reviews below are a complete scam, they actually sound like a jealous x girlfriend. There a 501C3, everything is public knowledge, even the tax returns.. I met Damon Marks at the event and he was very enthusiastic about the foundation and helping children.. Be careful of what others say, it's a shame people resort to lies to hurt such a great cause.
April 8, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
October 28, 2013

I learned of the Traveling Guitar Foundation through Google+. As an artist and wife of a musician, I was immediately drawn to their wonderful gift of music education in schools. I was fortunate enough... more

April 8, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

I originally wrote a positive review for this organization and then I started to question their integrity after many things happened that I was not feeling good about. I won't go into the details but rather just implore people who want to support an organization to really look into what they do and who is in charge and where the money is ACTUALLY going. Don't just read their website and take them for their word. Read up on them, check sites like this one as well as other non profit websites that allow others to give feedback who have dealt with the organization in the past.

ASK QUESTIONS. Be 100% sure of where your donation is going and find out if the founder is true to his/her word.

I not only gave this organization a cash donation, but items for them to make money on, as well as constant social media sound bites on Twitter, G+ and Facebook. In the end, I felt taken. I've tried to contact Damon and others in the organization only to be ignored. It's a great learning experience for me and I hope others will learn before they give to TGF as well.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Question his Board of Directors where your donations are going, although he has removed his BOD of his TGF website, so good luck with that. I'd say question Damon himself, but you will probably never get an answer so that's useless. I'd love to say he's a great guy, but he's just another person taking advantage of people who want to do something good for what feels like a good cause. In the end, I think TGF is a cover for Damon Marks getting his own perks.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013

I learned of the Traveling Guitar Foundation through Google+. As an artist and wife of a musician, I was immediately drawn to their wonderful gift of music education in schools. I was fortunate enough to be asked to donate artwork for a fundraiser of theirs in Los Angeles just this past summer. What a lovely group of people to meet! They are incredibly passionate about their cause and they give not only with their time and money, but most importantly, with their hearts. I donated 10% of my sales of my very first art show to them last spring and I continue to offer 10% of my sales on Fine Art America. What they do is so very important for our next generation, but also for the teachers and the schools who obviously benefit from their contributions and are able to see these kids shine. Bravo to TGF! They are an amazing group!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get more satellite offices throughout the U.S. where more people can get the word out and more schools can benefit from their program.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 25, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

more

March 25, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

Amen to the last review. I worked with that clown Damon at Ray Catena in nj for a while and he conspired with others to take money from the company. He is the last guy that would do anything nice that doesn't benefit him.
Don't know what's going on here but if I was a betting man I would go
with the last guy
March 20, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

more

March 20, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

This foundation is a scam. First Damon marks has children of his own he never does anything for!
Second the guy hasn't had a full time jod for many many years but bought a $600,000 home thanks to your donations. When he travels he stays in $500/ night hotels with your money.
My hope is that
one day someone investigates and stops this guy from stealing your money
October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

As an avid musician, I've always seen the benefits of Music in Schools, and the Traveling Guitar Foundation does a great job of getting instruments in the hands of kids.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

The Traveling Guitar Foundation fills an important void in today's schools that are cutting back on music education. Matt Gibson is a veteran and we love it how he's using his platform for kids and veterans alike...

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 27, 2013

more

October 27, 2013

I just found out about this nonprofit and it sounds great! I am always interested on helping musicians or people that are interested on music. This foundation really sounds like it is needed on many places.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I don't know yet...

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 24, 2013

more

October 24, 2013

I started out as a volunteer and now I am a member of the Board of Directors. Traveling Guitar Foundation is an AMAZING organization! We have encouraged so many kids, teens and young adults to develop their passion for music! Times are tough! The arts are getting cut from the schools due to financial constraints. Traveling Guitar is here to make sure that our youth have an outlet in music and to encourage them to pursue their dreams and develop their talents. I am HONORED to be a part of such an amazing organization!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find more amazing people willing to donate their time and financial resources to give us more opportunities to reach our youth!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 24, 2013

more

October 24, 2013

When you realize what an impact music has on the development of a child's mind, you have to do everything possible to keep the art alive. Music should be a part of every child's learning experience - they should at least have the chance to hear it, feel it and learn it. Supporting this foundation is one of the best ways to make it happen.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 7, 2013

more

September 7, 2013

They are truly Earth Angels giving of themselves to raise hope and love for other generations yet to be . The energy of music that is shared is out of their hearts infinitely .

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

take them around this world .

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

1997

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers