Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
36 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
May 8, 2013

more

May 8, 2013

I was fortunate enough to travel to Cambodia in January/February of 2013, to visit Transitions Global and the girls they serve. As a mental health therapist in the US, I have worked with various organizations/foster care facilities/ transitional schools- and was beyond impressed with all of the work Transitions does and in the way the organization itself is run. In my opinion, the work they do in rehabilitating the girls in terms of therapy, education, socialization, recognizing their dreams and setting goals, and in simply teaching them how to just be teen girls again meets if not exceeds the quality of organizations in the US. The love and dedication poured into this organization is obvious when visiting, and I am so thankful to have learned and experienced so much of what they do while there.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 8, 2012

more

November 8, 2012

I and 7 of my graduate art therapy students from Naropa University are fortunate to have formed a partnership with Transitions to bring art therapy training to the clinical staff. In considering a partnership we looked long and hard to find an organization we felt was not only offering quality care, with good end results, but also had an impressive financial report. Athena and James, and the staff work diligently to uphold their principles and values, and their success is unprecedented. Transitions is doing cutting edge work in their aftercare program, integrating evidenced based models of therapy to address the complex trauma histories with which the girls present. As a professor in a counseling and art therapy program and having a good understanding of trauma, and sexual abuse, I was quite impressed with the solid and high quality program they have at Transitions that is not only holistic in it's approach, but it works too! Art therapy has been welcomed and incorporated into the girls treatment as well as for self care for the staff in dealing with their own vicarious trauma. Transitions offers a model of care that other aftercare programs in Southeast Asia and the West should aspire to be like.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 7, 2012

more

November 7, 2012

We have had the honor of working in tandem with James and Athena Pond for the past four years and I can honestly say our partnership with them and their great organization Transitions Global has been a highlight to a very dark epidemic. Educating and bringing awareness to Human Trafficking in America is not an easy task, but having the Pond family and their organization lead the way makes even a hard task seem easy. Transitions Global is an organization whose mission has had major impacts on combating human trafficking and exploitation domestically and globally – these impacts not only have saved lives but have restored the self-esteem to so many victims. Transitions Global’s efforts on education, prevention and awareness need to be commended without a doubt but it’s the ongoing restoration and aftercare to many victims that should be applauded; what they have done for these kids is remarkable! We are honored to call them not only our partners but our friends! Michelle A. Bart, President NWCAVE

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 23, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
February 23, 2011

Transitions Global is serving as a well established facility in Cambodia to reach out to sex trafficked women to rehabilitate and restore them to productive lives within their cultural context. I direct a program that integrates a student ministry component that often involves students working with non-profits. I also have done a significant amount of non-profit work, both involved with sex trafficking within an academic context of organizing serve trip for University to go to Thailand as well as village development in El Salvador serving the rural poor. These activities caused me to have great interest in Transitions Global, as well as recognizing the local community problem of sex trafficking within Portland. My husband and I travelled to Cambodia to visit the Transitions Global facility. We were highly impressed with the organization that has been established and wish to recommend James and Athena Pond in their efforts of establishing and continuing Transitions Global. We met the staff and girls, learned of the trauma they go through and the process of their rehabilitation. We are also fully aware and involved in Transitions efforts to raise support within the United States. Our son and his wife have served on staff with this organization in Cambodia and are highly supportive of this activity here and abroad. I highly recommend this organization for award. It is well run, has a well trained, strong staff, is cognizant of working within cultural contexts, works with other NGOs to make the most of what is available to them so as not to waste resources, and provide a safe work environment with training for those that support their facility overseas. They look to establish more facilities based on this model, so are moving forward with this goal in an appropriate manner. We have done work with other non-profits and find this to be one of the better and more efficient operations we have come in contact with. KUDOS to Transitions Global, we give our votes to you and hope you do too!!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I've personally experienced the result of this organization by visiting in Cambodia, witnessing the debilitating results of sex trafficking and what a facility such as Transitions Global can do for women within their cultural context.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Provide them more money and resources to help establish facilities based off the well established model they have worked hard to create in order to open more facilities of this type and staff them.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

What is unique about this organization?

Effective

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 8, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
February 8, 2011

I visited Transitions Global during a media trip to Cambodia with my organization. I did not know of them thought they came highly recommended. I was impressed by:
- the scope of knowledge of their founders, James and Athena Pond
- the systematic and structured professionalism of the
program
- the strength and capacity of the women in the program
- the counseling services and level and systemization of clinical support provided
- the peer endorsements I heard during and since
- the quality of education and communication provided to donors

I wholeheartidly endorse Transitions Global

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

our team had extensive interaction with program beneficiaries and were impressed with their strength and confidence despite the degredations and abuse of their pasts

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Their capacity is too small. The number intakes they are able to receive is far too small. Their model is demonstrating success and they've proven they can manage.

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers