Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
36 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
May 29, 2013

more

May 29, 2013

Since my mom's cousin, Athena, and her husband, James, founded Transitions in 2007, I've had it in the back of my mind that I wanted to help out in some way. When I decided to take a gap year between high school and college to travel, I knew Transitions would be a perfect place to spend some time. This past fall, my best friend and I travelled to Cambodia to volunteer for TG for three months, and it was an AMAZING experience. I fell in love with Southeast Asia, Phnom Penh, the organization, and all the people I met. I had so much fun teaching knitting, baking, and tutoring English in my time there. I think about and miss the girls, the other volunteers, and people I met working for TG every day. I hope that the girls learned just as much from me as I learned from them! Someday I hope I will be able to return to Phnom Penh and work with Transitions again!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 6, 2013

more

May 6, 2013

I was lucky enough to be able to volunteer with Transitions for 3 months in 2013. It was such a life changing experience to work with a team of people who are so passionate about the cause and changing girls lives. Everyone who works at Transitions are dedicated, hard working and inspiring.
The level of care exceeds anything I could have ever imagined and the love that each of the girls receive is incredible. They are so much more than rehabilitation they are about allowing these girls to dream again and believe in themselves. It was something that I got to witness first hand and it is truly amazing.

I could not speak more highly of Transitions and believe they are an astounding non-profit.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

I have worked with Transitions in Cambodia for the past 3 years. The level of professionalism and excellence with which they serve their clients is inspiring and setting the bar for anti-trafficking work around the world. I cannot say strongly enough how highly I recommend this organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

The summer between my second and third year of law school, I went to Cambodia to do volunteer legal work for the organization. My life has forever been changed. Transitions Global provides aftercare services to rescued female sex trafficking survivors. Unfortunately, many organizations that claim to make a difference in this field do not actually do any good. Human trafficking is such a hot topic right now, and many organizations just want to be involved while it is trendy. Transitions Global is not one of those organizations. The people that work for Transitions Global treat these girls the way they would their own daughters. The girls are loved, provided for, and protected. The joy on each girls' face is the true testament of the impact Transitions Global has. I would have never thought that a girl so sexually used and destroyed could have such joy and peace--but that is what Transitions Global does. The organization restores what was once broken. I will never forget watching the youngest girl play a game on my laptop. She laughed so long and so loud while playing--I cried watching her. The girls actually can laugh again...they can have a life...have joy...have love...have peace. The work Transitions Global does is truly incredible. I will never forget that summer. My life was changed.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 11, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 11, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

After living in southern Africa and witnessing the atrocities of sex trafficking occurring around me, I returned to the U.S., making a new home in Cincinnati, Ohio. There I met Transitions Global. A nonprofit organization that was combating what I had witnessed in Africa – sex trafficking of young girls. Traveling with a team in January of 2012, I had the opportunity to engage in Transitions’ work in Cambodia.

During a True Body Project activity, a program developed to empower the girls, I sat next to Molika as she drew a beautiful picture of a tree. A tree with stretching roots and many branches indicating how she felt – feeling strong but with room to grow. Another girl drew 2 trees – one big, one small – and expressed how before she came to Transitions she felt like the small tree – minimally noticed as if forgotten – but now she was the big tree – strong and loved.

Without a doubt, the trip to Cambodia reminded me of the disturbing and ongoing struggle with modern day slavery. Yet seeing the nature of Transition’s work gives me hope. But the girls I met on the trip have given me the most hope. They have in many ways seen the darkest side of human nature, yet they have not given up; they continue to push on and persevere. They are truly survivors – and it is through Transitions that have found their hope, their voice, and that reason to keep moving forward.

In speaking with passionate people who want to invest (either time or money) into a nonprofit organization, I always recommend Transitions. They are game-changers not only in the world of sex trafficking, but also in nonprofit development. They get it and they do it.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 9, 2012

more

November 9, 2012

After volunteering for transitions for more than 3 years (6 months of which was full-time in Cambodia) I am proud to say that I continue to be impressed by the organization's effectiveness and integrity. This organization is something special - real people who have made something happen that is truly extraordinary. Transitions is undoubtedly a leader in their field , and the organization's work in Cambodia is profound. Having personally seen the lives they have been able to touch, I would encourage anyone to get involved and learn more about this incredible organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 9, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 9, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

In a time when everyone seemingly wanted to jump on the anti-trafficking bandwagon, I was searching for the world's leading experts in this field…and I believe I found them! The Ponds (founders of TG) are not only incredibly dedicated to the aftercare of children rescued from trafficking, they are also extraordinarily committed to adhering to the most honoring, educated and informed guidelines for the rehabilitation of these kids. Just look at their board of directors and advisors: https://transitionsglobal.org/about/board/

It was such an incredible honor to be chosen as a Transitions intern. I spent the summer of 2011 in Cambodia photographing these precious children who otherwise would have been experiencing atrocities unimaginable. As I got to know the organization, I was so incredibly impressed with the excellence by which every little detail is carried out. I appreciated the fact that Transitions had empowered Cambodian nationals to fill many of the leadership positions throughout. I also appreciated how highly the girls and their dreams were honored and esteemed. The healing process incorporates a multi-faceted plan of rehabilitation specifically designed for these children. Transitions provides two or more hours per week of one-on-one counseling with a professional counselor, and a curriculum containing goal-setting, positive reinforcement, dreaming big and level achievements—all bundled into a family-style environment. The relationships these kids have with the staff, founders, counselors and especially the house mothers—seriously touched my heart! It is certainly the most holistic approach to aftercare I have seen in the worldwide anti-trafficking movement.

In America, I currently work with a similar population and they are often seen as criminals...The American residential facilities could benefit tremendously from the Transitions’ model. Oh if Americans cared for children impacted by sexual trauma in such a profound way!

Overall, I believe Transitions stands out as a global leader in the anti-trafficking campaign because they are so intentional about seeking out the best practices, preserving the dignity of those rescued, constantly educating themselves and others, incorporating the most innovative approaches to healing and restoration, and underneath it all is a family with an incredible heart who have sacrificed everything for the cause. The longer I know James and Athena Pond, the more impressed I am by their commitment to excellence in everything they do. Support this organization in any way you possibly can!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012

more

November 8, 2012

I had the benefit of touring with Transitions global in Cambodia this past January. We toured not only their agency, but related social service offices that they work with and directly impact the anti-trafficking community in that part of the world. I have never been on anything like it. Impressed does not even begin to explain that experience. Transitions global is doing amazing work that is empowering, strength-based, self-reflective and intellectual. They know what they're doing and they are dedicated to improving themselves and serving their client based as much as physically possible. I love this organization! Touring with them changed my life and I cannot wait to go back to Cambodia largely because of the experience I had learning about their fabulous agency and the kind of work they do to improve their clients lives. Athena and James are hero's in my book. I am just astonished at what they have been able to accomplish - especially not coming from social service backgrounds. They get it, the understand it and what they don't understand, they research, investigate, debate and struggle to master until they succeed. I would encourage anyone to learn more about Transitions Global and recommend to anyone that has the time to go on one of their tours of their facility in Cambodia - it will change your life.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012

more

November 8, 2012

I had the opportunity to go with my husband after our wedding to Cambodia, and I can honestly say this was one of the most educational experiences I have had traveling overseas. There are many organizations out there that educate on the importance of education in sex trafficking, which is great, and it is vital to our communities, but not only does Transitions bring awareness to this issue, but when I was there it was so refreshing to see them handling this issue hands on, actually working with these girls, and giving them all the therapy they need. My experience in Cambodia was AMAZING! I got to learn about this unfortunate issue through James and Athena, as well as being able to see the work they do. They took me to the houses for the girls. I was just blown away by the resources that are being used to work with these girls, honestly I did not even know this was possible.. The conditions of these places are amazing, and these Girls are so Fortunate to have James and Athena as well as the amazing staff by their sides, although Transitions would probably say that they are fortunate to have these girls by their side.... the love for organization and the Girls is just heart warming and unbelievable to me. I look forward to going there again soon, and getting our families involved as well as much as we can.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 28, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
February 28, 2011

I had the fantastic opportunity to spend time with Transitions Global during a trip to Cambodia this past summer, and I cannot even begin to describe the love and respect I have for James and Athena Pond and everyone else at TG. I have personally met with a handful of anti-trafficking organizations and researched many, many more, and TG is simply the best out there when it comes to rehabilitation/restoration of sex trafficking victims.

Although learning about TG's success rate and innovative methodology and meeting with TG's amazing staff certainly impressed me, the true test came when I met the girls, and I was absolutely blown away. Coming into the trip, my team and I knew that we would have the opportunity to spend some time with the sex trafficking survivors at TG, and we had prepared ourselves to meet sad, broken little girls. I cannot even describe how wrong we were. The girls at TG were completely filled with joy and excitement. They were welcoming, friendly, extremely smart, and all smiles. They looked nothing like victims. For example, one night my group hosted a game night, and we had talked extensively how we needed to make sure that all of the girls were involved and that some of the more shy girls didn't get left out. Well, there was one girl there who, rather than being shy and timid, actually was worried about me and whether I was involved; she came up to me when I was taking a break from a very active game to make sure I wasn't feeling left out and that I felt comfortable and happy. I was awestruck by her maturity and compassion, and that's just one of many examples I can think of about the amazing restoration going on at TG.

In the midst of all of the horrors I would see and hear about in Cambodia, the TG girls provided me with new hope for survivors of sex trafficking. I know now that survivors CAN be fully restored and equipped, not just for a menial, mediocre existence, but for awesome fulfilling lives. Transitions Global has developed a formula to make this happen. Every sex trafficking victim safehome in the world NEEDS to experience the Transitions Global Model!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

See above

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase their funding so they could expand and open more safehomes!

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers