Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
36 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

I first met James and Athena in early-2009 when they were consulting on an aftercare project in India with our church. I was immediately touched by their story of moving their family to Cambodia to help girls rescued from sex trafficking after seeing a Dateline NBC special. I was so impressed by their knowledge of the issues related to trafficking and aftercare, how much they care for each of the girls, and their success, that I began contributing monthly. They ensure that each girl receives the care she needs AND has the ability to dream again. It's been touching to hear success stories from the girls through the years. I've had the opportunity to begin volunteering for them a few months ago, which has made me feel even more positive about the organization, and will be traveling to Cambodia in late-January. I can't say enough about James and Athena, what they do, and HOW they do it. Transitions Global is definitely a GREAT non-profit!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

Transitions Global is a wonderful organization focusing on the whole health of the girls they serve. James & Athena have developed an organization that focuses on the girls and their individual needs, seeking to bring healing and wholeness to their lives thru education, health care and most importantly providing hope for a bright future. TG is truly an amazing, live giving organization and I am proud to know James and Athena and their team.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

I had the pleasure of meeting James and Athena Pond in 2009. In early 2012, I went to Cambodia to observe the work of Transitions first hand. It was one of the best trips I’ve ever taken. I thought I knew a lot about Transitions and was so impressed with their programs before. I didn’t think I would leave even more impressed and inspired. To see them in action, meet the girls they are serving, talk to the very impressive and dedicated staff and meet with other NGOs who collaborate with Transitions was just amazing. Going on this trip, you might be worried that it will be difficult and emotionally taxing. But it isn’t hard and the emotions are all of hope and joy. I think we all left with such a positive feeling, knowing that these young women had a bright future ahead of them thanks to Transitions. The difference in Transitions’ program is attention to mental and physical health, life skills, and encouraging the girls to dream big about their future. No career is off limits and the staff will go to great lengths to find the education or training needed. To think about what these girls have been through, and then know that they emerge from Transitions’ programs empowered and confident is so thrilling.
Transitions learned early on that providing a safe and loving environment for these girls is a good start, but it is far from enough. Thanks to their approach, graduates of Transitions' programs are now working as restaurant chefs, yoga instructors, bakery managers and social workers.
The privacy and needs of each girl are respected and no one is ever expected to speak publicly about their past unless they volunteer to do so. I can’t say enough about how great this organization is and I am running out of complimentary adjectives to describe them!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 11, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 11, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

After living in southern Africa and witnessing the atrocities of sex trafficking occurring around me, I returned to the U.S., making a new home in Cincinnati, Ohio. There I met Transitions Global. A nonprofit organization that was combating what I had witnessed in Africa – sex trafficking of young girls. Traveling with a team in January of 2012, I had the opportunity to engage in Transitions’ work in Cambodia.

During a True Body Project activity, a program developed to empower the girls, I sat next to Molika as she drew a beautiful picture of a tree. A tree with stretching roots and many branches indicating how she felt – feeling strong but with room to grow. Another girl drew 2 trees – one big, one small – and expressed how before she came to Transitions she felt like the small tree – minimally noticed as if forgotten – but now she was the big tree – strong and loved.

Without a doubt, the trip to Cambodia reminded me of the disturbing and ongoing struggle with modern day slavery. Yet seeing the nature of Transition’s work gives me hope. But the girls I met on the trip have given me the most hope. They have in many ways seen the darkest side of human nature, yet they have not given up; they continue to push on and persevere. They are truly survivors – and it is through Transitions that have found their hope, their voice, and that reason to keep moving forward.

In speaking with passionate people who want to invest (either time or money) into a nonprofit organization, I always recommend Transitions. They are game-changers not only in the world of sex trafficking, but also in nonprofit development. They get it and they do it.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 9, 2012

more

November 9, 2012

After volunteering for transitions for more than 3 years (6 months of which was full-time in Cambodia) I am proud to say that I continue to be impressed by the organization's effectiveness and integrity. This organization is something special - real people who have made something happen that is truly extraordinary. Transitions is undoubtedly a leader in their field , and the organization's work in Cambodia is profound. Having personally seen the lives they have been able to touch, I would encourage anyone to get involved and learn more about this incredible organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 9, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 9, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

In a time when everyone seemingly wanted to jump on the anti-trafficking bandwagon, I was searching for the world's leading experts in this field…and I believe I found them! The Ponds (founders of TG) are not only incredibly dedicated to the aftercare of children rescued from trafficking, they are also extraordinarily committed to adhering to the most honoring, educated and informed guidelines for the rehabilitation of these kids. Just look at their board of directors and advisors: https://transitionsglobal.org/about/board/

It was such an incredible honor to be chosen as a Transitions intern. I spent the summer of 2011 in Cambodia photographing these precious children who otherwise would have been experiencing atrocities unimaginable. As I got to know the organization, I was so incredibly impressed with the excellence by which every little detail is carried out. I appreciated the fact that Transitions had empowered Cambodian nationals to fill many of the leadership positions throughout. I also appreciated how highly the girls and their dreams were honored and esteemed. The healing process incorporates a multi-faceted plan of rehabilitation specifically designed for these children. Transitions provides two or more hours per week of one-on-one counseling with a professional counselor, and a curriculum containing goal-setting, positive reinforcement, dreaming big and level achievements—all bundled into a family-style environment. The relationships these kids have with the staff, founders, counselors and especially the house mothers—seriously touched my heart! It is certainly the most holistic approach to aftercare I have seen in the worldwide anti-trafficking movement.

In America, I currently work with a similar population and they are often seen as criminals...The American residential facilities could benefit tremendously from the Transitions’ model. Oh if Americans cared for children impacted by sexual trauma in such a profound way!

Overall, I believe Transitions stands out as a global leader in the anti-trafficking campaign because they are so intentional about seeking out the best practices, preserving the dignity of those rescued, constantly educating themselves and others, incorporating the most innovative approaches to healing and restoration, and underneath it all is a family with an incredible heart who have sacrificed everything for the cause. The longer I know James and Athena Pond, the more impressed I am by their commitment to excellence in everything they do. Support this organization in any way you possibly can!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012

more

November 8, 2012

I had the benefit of touring with Transitions global in Cambodia this past January. We toured not only their agency, but related social service offices that they work with and directly impact the anti-trafficking community in that part of the world. I have never been on anything like it. Impressed does not even begin to explain that experience. Transitions global is doing amazing work that is empowering, strength-based, self-reflective and intellectual. They know what they're doing and they are dedicated to improving themselves and serving their client based as much as physically possible. I love this organization! Touring with them changed my life and I cannot wait to go back to Cambodia largely because of the experience I had learning about their fabulous agency and the kind of work they do to improve their clients lives. Athena and James are hero's in my book. I am just astonished at what they have been able to accomplish - especially not coming from social service backgrounds. They get it, the understand it and what they don't understand, they research, investigate, debate and struggle to master until they succeed. I would encourage anyone to learn more about Transitions Global and recommend to anyone that has the time to go on one of their tours of their facility in Cambodia - it will change your life.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012

more

November 8, 2012

I and 7 of my graduate art therapy students from Naropa University are fortunate to have formed a partnership with Transitions to bring art therapy training to the clinical staff. In considering a partnership we looked long and hard to find an organization we felt was not only offering quality care, with good end results, but also had an impressive financial report. Athena and James, and the staff work diligently to uphold their principles and values, and their success is unprecedented. Transitions is doing cutting edge work in their aftercare program, integrating evidenced based models of therapy to address the complex trauma histories with which the girls present. As a professor in a counseling and art therapy program and having a good understanding of trauma, and sexual abuse, I was quite impressed with the solid and high quality program they have at Transitions that is not only holistic in it's approach, but it works too! Art therapy has been welcomed and incorporated into the girls treatment as well as for self care for the staff in dealing with their own vicarious trauma. Transitions offers a model of care that other aftercare programs in Southeast Asia and the West should aspire to be like.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012

more

November 8, 2012

I had the opportunity to go with my husband after our wedding to Cambodia, and I can honestly say this was one of the most educational experiences I have had traveling overseas. There are many organizations out there that educate on the importance of education in sex trafficking, which is great, and it is vital to our communities, but not only does Transitions bring awareness to this issue, but when I was there it was so refreshing to see them handling this issue hands on, actually working with these girls, and giving them all the therapy they need. My experience in Cambodia was AMAZING! I got to learn about this unfortunate issue through James and Athena, as well as being able to see the work they do. They took me to the houses for the girls. I was just blown away by the resources that are being used to work with these girls, honestly I did not even know this was possible.. The conditions of these places are amazing, and these Girls are so Fortunate to have James and Athena as well as the amazing staff by their sides, although Transitions would probably say that they are fortunate to have these girls by their side.... the love for organization and the Girls is just heart warming and unbelievable to me. I look forward to going there again soon, and getting our families involved as well as much as we can.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 7, 2012

more

November 7, 2012

In a time when sex trafficking has become such a buzz topic that seems to be just about everywhere, you can find new non-profits popping up literally daily. It can sometimes make it feel confusing when deciding who to suppport, but feel assured that when supporting Transitions you are supporting an organization with a well educated wholistic approach to the after care of girls that have been victims of sex trafficking. They didn't just pop up yesterday, they have an amazing track record of success. As someone who has actually had the opportunity to travel to Cambodia and witness their operations first hand, this organization has my heart. Not to mention that they offer vocational training and college preperation for girls to realize their dreams and live succesful lives beyond the dream home.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers