Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
55 Reviews
1234.872735
Write A Review
November 6, 2012

more

November 6, 2012

As a middle school and high school teacher both in the secular and religious community, I have taken many groups to serve meals at each of the three Transition Projects' shelters: Clark Center, Jean's Place, and what used to be the Glisan Center. Not only did the TP staff make it easy for us to arrange to volunteer by responding quickly to scheduling requests, but all the staff was welcoming once we arrived at the shelters. The truly exceptional part of these experiences came from serving the residents. Each time they were polite and appreciative and made our teens and preteens feel at ease. The applause at the end always made our group feel special. Often my students recount years later how meaningful the shelter feed experience was and how it transformed their views about volunteering and put a face to homelessness. Often they approached the experience with trepidation, but by the end of the evening expressed surprise at how comfortable they felt while interacting with the residents and how motivated they were to continue helping in this way. There are so few opportunities for young people to directly serve people in need in our community; more often they are left to do fundraising or donation drives. Taking students to Transition Projects is my "go to" when trying to teach the value of volunteering!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 6, 2012

more

November 6, 2012

Our youth group was looking for a way to help others. As young people they felt helpless seeing needs around them and not being able to serve. We have been serving dinner for over a year, every month. One 7th grader (who has not missed a single month of service) told me this is the best things she does all month. She loves it so much she changed her birthday party because we were serving on that date. Our kids cook everything from scratch (including dessert), take it down, serve it and then have dinner talking with the men. It has put a face to helping others and given us ALL way more than we give in service! We feel so blessed to have found not only a way to serve others, but a place where our youth are welcomed, encouraged and taught the joy of service to others! What wonderful life lessons! Jody J.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 6, 2012

more

November 6, 2012

There is absolutely nothing that compares with serving at Transition Projects. Our church youth group have been BLESSED to serve meals to many homeless men in the Portland area. In all circumstances the men have been so appreciative. Sam Haffey the volunteer coordinator is one of the kindest hardest working people I've ever met. This is a well run, highly gratifying place that makes you feel so fortunate to have what you have in life and so thankful that you've shared your time to help so many.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 6, 2012

more

November 6, 2012

I have been priviledged to volunteer at Transition Project's Bud Clark Commons since opening. I walked by it everyday to work and home during construction, and knew it had potential to be Portland's most progessive programs and facilities for the less fortunate. Showers, restrooms, lockers, clothing, shoes, laundry, mail boxes, kitchen, hair shop and a computer lab are available to walk-ins. And that's just the day center. There is also short term housing for 90 men on another floor, and 130 studio apartments on upper floors for the city's most vunerable and needy. I started out in the hygene center a few evenings a month handing out everything from towels to tampons. I am now in the computer lab once a week and I might assist visitors filling out job or housing applicaptions on-line, to goggling area codes they need to complete submissions. And last night I even helped with this kid's tie. No, not an interview, but I wonder how his date went?

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 6, 2012

more

November 6, 2012

Transition Projects, Incorporated is a worthy and critical non profit that serves over 9000 Portlanders as they transition from homelessness to housing. From shelter, meals, showers, phone message serve, computer access as well as couseling and training, they are an amazing support for their clients. For the last 8 years my family and I have volunteered at Transition Projects, Inc. in a variety of ways.Our church and soccer groups made and served meals. Our sons conducted coat drives for their scout projects. I served as a philanthropy liason for a mother daughter organization, National Charity League, and I adopted TPI as my focus. My daughter and friends offered clients home made blankets, dontated silverware packets, made and served meals, conducted toiletry and coat drives, made and donated haunted gingerbread mansions and flower centerpieces and flower pots, and delivered homemade cards and stamps for their clients' use. At the conclusion of their 6 year membership in NCL, over half the graduating class of 2012 listed Transition Projects, Inc as their favorite philanthropy. I help organize a community work day for our local high school and TPI utilizes a group of highschoolers to help with organzing and support for the shelter. The administration and staff is committed, caring and professional and deserves credit for their valued service to better the lives of so many worthy members of our community.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 6, 2012

more

November 6, 2012

I have volunteered for Transition Projects Inc at their Bud Clark Commons and am always impressed by the commitment of their people, and especially their Executive Director Doreen Binder, which is a testament to her good works and leadership. They are truly an inspirational organization who provide quality services to a part of our community that often gets overlooked. We are very grateful and lucky to have such a devoted non-profit making a difference in our community.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 6, 2012

more

November 6, 2012

I've been helping periodically at TPI for about a year...everyone is on time, on point and successful in their mission. Wonderful results and wonderful people!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 6, 2012

more

November 6, 2012

My church & I have been preparing & serving monthly meals at the Bud Clark Commons center for going on 2 years. My work is also preparing & serving quarterly meals at Bud Clark Commons for 2 years. What a great program Ttranition Project Inc (TPI) has for the men at the shelter. The people who work at TPI are always upbeat and willing to help anyone. It's not just the meals, but the help, support and classes that are provided that makes TPI so important to all that need their services. You can see how greatful the men are at the shelter for everything. It has been a life change for me since I've started volunteering. In these times, it's great to have a nonprofit like TPI in Portland.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 6, 2012

more

November 6, 2012

TPI provides a broad spectrum of social services to homeless citizens in our community that have a direct and positive impact on people's lives and longevity, from simple hygiene services like a shower and change of clothes to more complex case management like housing placement and addiction counseling. TPI is a great place to volunteer; experiences are hands-on and yield immediate, visible results. TP This is a well-managed organization that provides real leadership in our community and a unique opportunity for volunteers to give and give back.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 6, 2012

more

November 6, 2012

My co-workers and I have prepared and served meals to the men at Clark Center for the past six years. We've also been involved in their yearly coat drives and have donated food and much needed cooking utencils. It's the most popular volunteer event among my colleagues because we see the direct impact a hot meal has on the men who live there. From the moment we arrive, a few guys run out to our cars to to help carry in food, there's always someone asking if there is anything they can do to help, and after we finish serving they clean the kitchen and put dishes away. That's just one example of the unique community aspects and 'were in this together' feeling that keeps us coming back.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers