Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
55 Reviews
1234.872735
| 1 ... 3 4 56 |
Write A Review
November 7, 2012

more

November 7, 2012

For twenty plus years I have volunteered at Transition Projects. I have cooked and served meals, taught classes and served on the board. I have seen the outstanding care and skill of a remarkable staff. These folks truly do help people transition from homelessness to housing. People are offered access to new skills, respect and opportunity. The agency has grown from the basement of an urban church to three dignified, clean, safe and respectful buildings offering services and compassion to all. Transition Projects, Inc. consistently changes lives for the better.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 7, 2012

more

November 7, 2012

A great place where we help people help themselves. They offer laundry, showers, training, counseling, and so much more. I have great pride in the time I spend there helping my fellow people.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 7, 2012

more

November 7, 2012

This incredible nonprofit serves as a life-changing organization to so many clients in the Portland Metropolitan area. In a small, but significant, way we are able to help support this wonderful organization as we provide meals to clients at the Bud Clark Center, Jean's Place and the Clark Center. Volunteers are eager to help as the reward of appreciation is outstanding. The Staff is friendly, helpful and do an amazing job to support their clients as they prepare to move their lives in a positive direction. Ginny Utti, volunteer

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 7, 2012

more

November 7, 2012

Many years ago I was a resident at TPI's womens shelter. At that time I was working with the A&D counselor to modify my behavior and to create a goal that I could be accountable for. This has helped me to not only gain sobriety but it has enabled me to remain Clean& sober for more than six years now. I have been enrolled in college and remained consistant in my efforts to gain education and one day return to TPI and work with other women who are faceing life challenges. I am currently once again being assisted by TPI because they are letting me do my internship at the same facility that I used to live at. I hope to one day be employed at TPI and I am at this time a candidate for employment in several positions there. I will be working toward my masters degree and one day soon I will be able to say that through the programs and efforts offered at TPI once again I am able to live an independant life free of my past mistakes. As a student at Marylhurst University I am learning how faceing our past and accepting our mistakes we are able to help other to do the same. At TPI and the many branches of help they offer I believe that I will one day realize my dream.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 7, 2012

more

November 7, 2012

This center helps people change their lives from being part of the problem to part of the solution. What could be better than that? Mike

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 7, 2012

more

November 7, 2012

I volunteered to cook and serve meals once a month for the Clark Men's Center in Portland and got to know several of the staff very well. The organization is very well run and the staff truly care about their clients. They worked very hard to meet the needs of the men and to make the center a warm and comfortable place. They also made it easy for groups to come in and cook meals in their kitchen, and helped us throughout that process.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 6, 2012

more

November 6, 2012

As a middle school and high school teacher both in the secular and religious community, I have taken many groups to serve meals at each of the three Transition Projects' shelters: Clark Center, Jean's Place, and what used to be the Glisan Center. Not only did the TP staff make it easy for us to arrange to volunteer by responding quickly to scheduling requests, but all the staff was welcoming once we arrived at the shelters. The truly exceptional part of these experiences came from serving the residents. Each time they were polite and appreciative and made our teens and preteens feel at ease. The applause at the end always made our group feel special. Often my students recount years later how meaningful the shelter feed experience was and how it transformed their views about volunteering and put a face to homelessness. Often they approached the experience with trepidation, but by the end of the evening expressed surprise at how comfortable they felt while interacting with the residents and how motivated they were to continue helping in this way. There are so few opportunities for young people to directly serve people in need in our community; more often they are left to do fundraising or donation drives. Taking students to Transition Projects is my "go to" when trying to teach the value of volunteering!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 6, 2012

more

November 6, 2012

Every year my family sits down and determines how our charitable giving dollars will be allocated. My wife, son and myself look at the many local options. One such program that has drawn us to support it for several years now is Transition Projects. Their commitment to helping their clients succeed in the real world is amazing and refreshing. Everyone is held accountable for their actions and expected to be an active part of their transition to real life. The staff is very caring and committed. The Leadership, both Board and Director are committed to their principles and they stand by them. A truly excellent program worthy of financial support.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 6, 2012

more

November 6, 2012

Our youth group was looking for a way to help others. As young people they felt helpless seeing needs around them and not being able to serve. We have been serving dinner for over a year, every month. One 7th grader (who has not missed a single month of service) told me this is the best things she does all month. She loves it so much she changed her birthday party because we were serving on that date. Our kids cook everything from scratch (including dessert), take it down, serve it and then have dinner talking with the men. It has put a face to helping others and given us ALL way more than we give in service! We feel so blessed to have found not only a way to serve others, but a place where our youth are welcomed, encouraged and taught the joy of service to others! What wonderful life lessons! Jody J.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 6, 2012

more

November 6, 2012

There is absolutely nothing that compares with serving at Transition Projects. Our church youth group have been BLESSED to serve meals to many homeless men in the Portland area. In all circumstances the men have been so appreciative. Sam Haffey the volunteer coordinator is one of the kindest hardest working people I've ever met. This is a well run, highly gratifying place that makes you feel so fortunate to have what you have in life and so thankful that you've shared your time to help so many.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers