Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
13 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

One of the strategies of Transgender Law Center has been high-impact litigation, which resulted in EEOC's decision , affirming that transgender people are protected against discrimination under Title VII of the Civil Rights Act. Transgender Law Center continues to look at policy advocacy and innovative programatic works to reenforce the rights of transgender people in health care, employment, immigration, education, housing as well as safety within the criminal justice system.

It is my great privilege to be working with such effective organization.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Actively seek out and build coalition with other social justice and social service organizations to develop a common advocacy agenda in protecting and advancing the rights of the most vulnerable in the trans community.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013

more

October 4, 2013

Whenever I talk about the Law Center, I find myself using the word "scrappy." It's just remarkable what thirteen people working on a shoestring budget have been able to do. First, they have helped thousands of people navigate the legal morass that trans folk have to deal with just to do things like change their names, get health care, and KEEP THEIR JOBS. Second, they've combined impact litigation with savvy lobbying to enact laws and regulations that allow people to live out their authentic lives in a more caring society. I wonder how many people get the significance of the EEOC ruling saying that all transgender people in the 50 states are protected from discrimination under Title VII of the Civil Rights act. It's HUGE!

Masen Davis is a great leader who has overseen a breathtaking growth in the efficacy of an organization whose achievements make the world better for all of us. Transgender people are among the most marginalized populations in America, and when their rights get established, it has benefits that go way beyond the transgender community. For who among us has never dealt with cruelty or outright discrimination when our behavior stepped outside cultural norms for our gender? Transgender Law Center's successes are successes for everyone who wants to live in a world where individual gender expression can reflect each person's authentic self.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I'd quintuple its budget.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 5, 2012

more

July 5, 2012

The Transgender Law Center (TLC) is one of the most effective legal advocacy organizations I've encountered over years. Their recent victory with the EEOC ruling (extending Title VII all forms of "gender stereotyping" - wow!) is just the most recent of many laws and policies they've positively impacted in recent years. I've been impressed by the staff and board at at TLC - the staff shows intimate knowledge and passion for the legal and policy issues that TLC takes on. Executive Director Masen Davis is smart, compassionate, and well spoken - a true community leader beyond TLC. I recently saw the TLC Board Chair, Rebecca Benton, speak on a panel. She was energetic and showed both insight into the issues and compassion for the community that TLC serves.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 28, 2012

more

June 28, 2012

I was first made aware of the Transgender Law Center years ago when I needed solid guidance on how to properly change my name. Over time, I remained aware of the Transgender Law Center and the vital work it was doing to help people like myself live a life that was safe and authentic, and be happy productive members of our community and society. Their record is amazing and pound-for-pound they get more done than many organizations twice their size. I was thrilled to join the Board and give back to an organization that has done so much for me personally and so much for our community.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 28, 2012

more

June 28, 2012

TLC has been very instrumental in challenging and changing hearts and minds in California. I have personal experience in the benefits and professionalism of their work in Fresno, California. I highly recommend everyone try and support them and their efforts in any way they can. I recommend TLC to everyone.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I am a physician in San Francisco and treat many transgender patients. A tremendous part of the health care needs of transgender patients are dependent on social determinants including access to gender segregated services, access to identity documents that reflect the lived gender of patients, and advocacy to gain access to even basic health care. Sharing clients with the Transgender Law Center I have an intimate understanding of the direct services they provide as well as their work to change services and facilities so that they are more accepting of transgender people. With the help of the Transgender Law Center's resources, advocacy and services many of my patients have finally gained access to accurate identity documents. With these in hand gaining employment, housing, and health insurance was finally possible. Their advocacy has directly resulted in some of my transgender patients being able to access medically necessary treatments including surgery which was previously denied them simply because of their transgender status. For many of my patients this access to medically necessary care, identity documents, access to appropriate sex-segregated services has not only been life changing, but life saving. With their tireless work, my ability to care for my patients has been tremendously enhanced but more importantly, my patients have been able to live healthier, happier and more authentic lives.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 27, 2012

more

June 27, 2012

The Transgender Law Center is an excellent resource for transgender people. I relied on their ID Please publication to figure out how to get my name and gender changed in California. Their EEOC win, regarding Mia Macy, was a tremendous, world-shattering decision. Thank you, TLC!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 27, 2012

more

June 27, 2012

What can you say about a small group of people that have changed the life of a whole section of society with no pretense or motive. Watching a group of people give beyond their power is inspiring. Every transgender person in this country owes them a thank you. I wake everyday grateful that I made the call to TLC. I am honored to call them my "TEAM". With the help of TLC the world is better place and that is also their intention and single goal. They give and give with their time, friendship and heart felt work. TLC is truly a non-profit, and I don't think I have ever met another group of devoted individuals to a cause as them.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 27, 2012

more

June 27, 2012

I had a question regarding a work discrimination case all though I filled in New York "Matt Wood" assured me that the ruling made by the EEOC in the state of California would still apply to my case! I also pay attention to the case's the transgender law center have fought for and have won! if I actually ever need a Law office to represent me in any further cases I would love to have them to represent me I would not hestitate to recommend them either as I have done in the past and present!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

recieved legal advice that helped

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

not change a thing

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you learn about this organization?

internet

June 27, 2012

more

June 27, 2012

I have contacted the Transgender Law Center on numerous occasions and they have always went above and beyond each time; giving me advice, suggestions and offering to contact an individual or company/business when needed (for example, social security when they were dragging their feet for weeks on changing my gender within their system). Very helpful, and courteous staff! Highly recommend.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers