Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
21 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
September 20, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 20, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

Scott Coats and Chris Coats started Trailblazer Foundation with a simple assumption -- communities have within them both a desire and the intelligence to move forward. As a person with 38 years of nonprofit executive leadership and consulting experience, I know when someone just has the right idea, sweeps the silly doubts, questions and industry fads aside and does what is important in the right way. Traiblazer has done that, giving substantive expression to the term empowerment in the most vulnerable and marginalized villages in Cambodia. While more esoteric and better funded groups have their agenda about this system, that change or a host of shoulds that are completely out of touch on the ground, Trailblazer just takes another dozen steps forward, connecting local villages and regional structures, facilitating trust, nurturing hope, moving to the next village when the consistent results have manifested the roots and trunk of a sustainable future.

More feedback...

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

September 18, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 18, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I love how Trailblazer Foundation is making a huge difference in Asia, to help people who would otherwise be captive in their poverty. I love their sense of justice, giving practical help to the poorest of the poor.
Bethy B
September 18, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 18, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I volunteered for 2 1/2 months digging wells with the drill team nothing compares to see the smiles and great fullness of the families that we got water to. It definitely was a life changing experience
September 18, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 18, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Hey there !

I completely loved this experience ! This is amazing how giving your time for a good purpose make you feel so happy.
My experience at Trailblazer was my first volunteering and not the last :). I've learned a lot on myself but also on the power of volunteering.


Think about that you are helping people having access to clean water ! Imagine how you would feel, living aaway from any grosseries shops without water ? Having to go by waking/motocycling everyday just for getting water seems unbelievable for you ? but that's their daily life and traiblazer is changing this!

I am very glad I worked with trailblazer. The staff are really nice and funny, volunteers I met were also very nice and actually thanks to traiblazer I am gonna go meeting them in Canada and elsewhere.

Plus living in Cambodia was such a good experience :)

Trailblazer is really a good NGO much better than some others who are building a business on the money that they ask you to pay for volunteering...
September 10, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 10, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Although I only spent 2 weeks volunteering with trailblazer, I will defiantly go back long term & help them achieve there goals.

What trailblazer is doing is amazing, I was really happy with what I saw + all the staff are great!

Highly recommend trailblazer when in siem reap!


It's great to see someone making a difference out of there own comfort zone in someone else's backyard!
September 10, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 10, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Although I only spent 2 weeks volunteering with trailblazer, I will defiantly go back long term & help them achieve there goals.

What trailblazer is doing is amazing, I was really happy with what I saw + all the staff are great!

Highly recommend trailblazer when in siem reap!


It's great to see someone making a difference out of there own comfort zone in someone else's backyard!
September 10, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 10, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Leadership & Philosophy: Originally visiting the Trailblazer Foundation (TF) while volunteering with a partner organization, I was completely captured after speaking with the co-founder, Scott Coats, about TF's work, philosophy, staff, volunteers, and impact. I was so caputred that I asked if I could stay for a month and volunteer. The focus for TF is on actually listening to the people to help guide them towards sustainable solutions. I saw far too many nonprofit organizations throughout Southeast Asia and Cambodia that go in with preconceived ideas of what will work and then do it (in a western/non-localized way) with minimal to no villager interaction. Now those villagers are waiting for the next handout. Instead, TF has a sustainable development model where the communities invest in their own futures (for instance each villager pays a small amount for each biosand filter that is put into a village fund for the villagers to take loans from and managed by an appointed villager). This allows the villagers to feel included in their own growth, and it encourages them to problem solve and develop solutions. It may be a slower solution sometimes, but it is a far more sustainable future for these villagers to empower them to create their opportunities with TF's support.

The Crew/TF Team: The team that works at TF both inside and outside of Cambodia is incredible! It's obvious that they enjoy what they do and are proud of it! They are a smart team and very fun to work with and learn from, and they really care about the people they are supporting. They're not just building filters and wells and agricultural systems. They're providing clean water, access to water, and sources of income to some of the poorest people in Cambodia who would otherwise continue facing uncontrollable illnesses and unhealthy levels of poor nutrition.

Beneficiaries & Impact: I had the pleasure of meeting with different villagers while gathering information with a TF team member for case studies/impact assessment and for the Village Savings Funds. Wow. The beneficiaries of TF's support are truly inspirational. They all have endured challenging hardships, yet they are so resilient and share a smile with the world that brings so much warmth to the atmosphere.

Volunteer Work: My volunteer experience was different than most, but if anyone is ever looking for a more hands-on opportunity to volunteer, then the Trailblazer Foundation would be an amazing place! Most volunteers have the opportunity to help in not only building the filters, but also in delivering them to the villagers with the team. An experience that can never be replicated.

I am grateful to be a part of the Trailblazer Foundation's family going forward and continuing to support their amazing work! Thank you, TF!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

This is one of the best organizations I have ever volunteered for. They truly are trying to make Cambodia a better place and challenge poverty. I was so inspired to see how the whole organization was run and the amazing things they do for people everyday. I searched online for various volunteering opportunities in Cambodia but kept finding organizations that made you pay high prices to volunteer and had development practices that were questionable on whether they were really helping people. However, I was so glad to find a REAL volunteering experience when I stubbled upon the Trailblazer website and thought hey, this is just what I am looking for! This organization is honestly helping Cambodian people in so many ways and with very ethical, smart, just, and respectable ways. Upon arrival to the organization I found that the staff were so welcoming and really make you feel a part of a team. I got to make water filter deliveries to communities, work in the garden, filter sand, and many other hands on activities. Visiting communities with the organization really shows you what their work is doing to improve communities and lives. I was only 19 when I volunteered here, if you are a youth looking for a ethical organization to really get to know the true people, culture and realities of Cambodia then I really recommend volunteering at Trailblazer. It changed my life in many ways and I hope it does for you too. Thank you Trailblazer!!

-Rachelle from Canada.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

My friends and I went to Siem Reap wanting to help a village school build a library. We had no idea where to start. Having read about The Trailblazer Foundation in the book 'Unsung Heroes Cambodia' which had just been launched during our first visit in June 2013, it was one of the organizations we approached for advice. At the end, it was the ONLY organization that gave us plenty of advice and shared with us their experience. Their country director even helped us to get our project started and continues to help us in monitoring the progress of the building, as we are not based in Cambodia. We were very fortunate to have met Chris Coats, one of the founders, on one visit in July. We saw the various work TF is doing, first hand, and we were just in awe of the magnitude of positive effects their work has in the lives of thousands of Cambodians.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

not be able to make it any better.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 7, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

August 7, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

The Trailblazer Foundation is a fantastic organization that is truly making a difference in the local community. I had the privilege of volunteering with them for 10 weeks in 2012. During my time at Trailblazer, I volunteered with the awesome guys on the Water Filter Team, doing work involved with building, distributing, and assembling bio-sand water filters and their components, and I also helped out with agricultural projects on occasion.

One of the best parts about volunteering with the Trailblazer Foundation is that you can immediately see the impact you are having. From day one, I could understand how the work I was doing would benefit people in the local community. And, better yet, just days after I started volunteering, I was able to go on a water filter delivery where I helped distribute and assemble water filters in a local village.

On the water filter deliveries, I was able to meet the families that were receiving the water filters and see the end result of our hard work. Having the opportunity to see exactly where your time and effort are going makes a world of difference and really drives home the importance of what life-changing work is being done by Trailblazer.

In the span of my 10 weeks at Trailblazer, I was able to help build, distribute, and assemble 85 water filters in 10 different villages! It was such an incredibly rewarding experience that I won't soon forget!

I really cannot speak highly enough about the Trailblazer Foundation and all the wonderful people that work there. I'm grateful to them for letting me be a part of the important work they do, and I definitely recommend volunteering with them if you're ever in Cambodia!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Trailblazer works closely with the Cambodian Government to ensure their work efforts are prioritising the villages most in need. Their focus is to bring a permanent supply of fresh water to as many Cambodia families as possible using very simple bio sand water filters and drilling wells. Once the village's most basic need is met, Trailblazer works with them on developing agriculture projects that the villages can then continue themselves to raise their standard of living and become self sufficient. Volunteer