Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
14 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

This is one of the best organizations I have ever volunteered for. They truly are trying to make Cambodia a better place and challenge poverty. I was so inspired to see how the whole organization was run and the amazing things they do for people everyday. I searched online for various volunteering opportunities in Cambodia but kept finding organizations that made you pay high prices to volunteer and had development practices that were questionable on whether they were really helping people. However, I was so glad to find a REAL volunteering experience when I stubbled upon the Trailblazer website and thought hey, this is just what I am looking for! This organization is honestly helping Cambodian people in so many ways and with very ethical, smart, just, and respectable ways. Upon arrival to the organization I found that the staff were so welcoming and really make you feel a part of a team. I got to make water filter deliveries to communities, work in the garden, filter sand, and many other hands on activities. Visiting communities with the organization really shows you what their work is doing to improve communities and lives. I was only 19 when I volunteered here, if you are a youth looking for a ethical organization to really get to know the true people, culture and realities of Cambodia then I really recommend volunteering at Trailblazer. It changed my life in many ways and I hope it does for you too. Thank you Trailblazer!!

-Rachelle from Canada.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 30, 2013

more

August 30, 2013

My friends and I went to Siem Reap wanting to help a village school build a library. We had no idea where to start. Having read about The Trailblazer Foundation in the book 'Unsung Heroes Cambodia' which had just been launched during our first visit in June 2013, it was one of the organizations we approached for advice. At the end, it was the ONLY organization that gave us plenty of advice and shared with us their experience. Their country director even helped us to get our project started and continues to help us in monitoring the progress of the building, as we are not based in Cambodia. We were very fortunate to have met Chris Coats, one of the founders, on one visit in July. We saw the various work TF is doing, first hand, and we were just in awe of the magnitude of positive effects their work has in the lives of thousands of Cambodians.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

not be able to make it any better.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 7, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 7, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

The Trailblazer Foundation is a fantastic organization that is truly making a difference in the local community. I had the privilege of volunteering with them for 10 weeks in 2012. During my time at Trailblazer, I volunteered with the awesome guys on the Water Filter Team, doing work involved with building, distributing, and assembling bio-sand water filters and their components, and I also helped out with agricultural projects on occasion.

One of the best parts about volunteering with the Trailblazer Foundation is that you can immediately see the impact you are having. From day one, I could understand how the work I was doing would benefit people in the local community. And, better yet, just days after I started volunteering, I was able to go on a water filter delivery where I helped distribute and assemble water filters in a local village.

On the water filter deliveries, I was able to meet the families that were receiving the water filters and see the end result of our hard work. Having the opportunity to see exactly where your time and effort are going makes a world of difference and really drives home the importance of what life-changing work is being done by Trailblazer.

In the span of my 10 weeks at Trailblazer, I was able to help build, distribute, and assemble 85 water filters in 10 different villages! It was such an incredibly rewarding experience that I won't soon forget!

I really cannot speak highly enough about the Trailblazer Foundation and all the wonderful people that work there. I'm grateful to them for letting me be a part of the important work they do, and I definitely recommend volunteering with them if you're ever in Cambodia!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I worked for Trailblazer Foundation in Siem Reap, Cambodia as an Agriculture Advisor during the dry season of 2010. The foundation is well organized for a non-profit ngo and works well with both local employees and recipients of their aid programs. After having worked with for-profit ngos as an Assistant Administrator since my time in Cambodia, I can definitely recommend this organization to anyone.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

July 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

This is a top notch organization run by fantastic people. My experience volunteering there was life-changing as well as talking to them about how they organize their work WITH the community, not just FOR.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2006

June 30, 2013

more

June 30, 2013

I came upon Trailblazer Foundation whilst researching organisations involved in providing assistance to the rural poor in Cambodia. TF are a lean organisation dedicated to delivering sustainable projects like providing clean water through bio sand filter and wells with very little of their funds burnt in overhead. They have a number of other projects (agriculture and school development) which we saw at first hand last year when we visited Siem Reap. A very inspirational organisation which improves the lives of the poor in Cambodia.
We continue to be engaged with TF since our visit last year by raising awareness and funds in our local community. TF is a very worthy organisation.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 28, 2013

more

May 28, 2013

Wonderful organization, I highly recommend. Not only does Trailblazer help people by creating sustainable projects for those in need. I had an amazing experience with Trailblazer 2 years ago and continue to support them financially when I can. Very special to me and I know to those who are fortunate enough to experience Trailblazer will feel the same.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 4, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
December 4, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

This is one of the most upstanding and genuine organizations that I've come across in my world travelers. The organization is no frills, putting all its money towards those its intended for and little towards themselves. They are constantly listening to the people's needs and testing new programs. I worked on several projects in my several weeks volunteering -- from preparing the biosand water filters, to prepping a self-sustaining mushroom operation, and then into the rural areas to drill wells. I was able to see first-hand the community's appreciation of the gift of fresh water. Best yet, the organization provides stable employment for locals, and everyone involved is friendly and dedicated. I love the sense of community and respect within the organization. An amazing place to volunteer and a great organization to support!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

July 11, 2012

more

July 11, 2012

We made a difference installing water filters in rural village homes. I also got involved with planting herbs and vegetables in an experimental garden. The people were nice and it was a good way to spend my holiday and make good use of my time.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

July 7, 2012

more

July 7, 2012

Having visited Cambodia before, when I returned as part of another travel trip, I wanted to give something back to the country and came across Trailblazers. It's a wonderful charity that ploughs all it's donations into providing clean water and developing sustainabity for the most in need communities in the country. They are very innovative in their ideas from bio-sand filters, to test gardens to teach others and encouraging small business ideas. The team are friendly, committed and really keep their goal in mind. From a volunteering perspective, they are one of the few in cambodia that don't try to charge huge fees to foreigners to help out - you can turn up, give as much time as you can and know you are helping a great cause. I hope they continue to do well and wish Scott & Chris all the luck in the world for the future.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Trailblazer works closely with the Cambodian Government to ensure their work efforts are prioritising the villages most in need. Their focus is to bring a permanent supply of fresh water to as many Cambodia families as possible using very simple bio sand water filters and drilling wells. Once the village's most basic need is met, Trailblazer works with them on developing agriculture projects that the villages can then continue themselves to raise their standard of living and become self sufficient. Volunteer