Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
32 Reviews
1234.781255
Write A Review
September 3, 2013

more

September 3, 2013

While living in the San Francisco Bay area I because aware of the ARF foundation and its great work. Tony La Russa has gotten it so right. The foundation is the best at what they do, and they do so much for so many. Not only for animals, they also teach and educate everyone about animals and their care and treatment. From the poor, lost, and neglected puppy to the beaten and abused cat, from the uneducated and ignorant child to the negligent pet owner who doesn't care about those who cannot fight back, they have a program or will take action. They are the best at what they are and do. They world is a much better place for having Tony La Russa and his staff in it.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Please have a branch in Oregon and Washington.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 11, 2012

more

November 11, 2012

The people at ARF are very patient and caring. They take good care of the people,e looking to provide for ever homes.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 11, 2012

more

November 11, 2012

Tony La Russa's ARF is doing fantastic work, serving the community and saving helpless animals from abuse and abandonment.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012

more

November 8, 2012

I cant reccomend ARF enough. I have 2 of the best dogs. I love them so much. The councelers there really help you to find the best fit. I do agree that people should only adopt. So the puppy mills will go out of business. Arf is a wonderful foundation... Thats for saving me!!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 7, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 7, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

ARF was a vision created from an absolute love and neverending concern for the welfare of animals, by two of the most wonderful people I have ever had the pleasure of knowing. After years of caring for animals and finding them homes, Tony and Elaine LaRussa realized that Contra Costa County was over burdened by unwanted and lost animals in an overcrowded pound, whos only solution due to lack of funds, was to comtrol their population through euthanazia. I remember them being so surprised that there wasn't with a non profit, or privately funded alternative that would give so many wonderful animals an opportunity to find a new life with a new caring family. They recognized the need for grief counseling after the loss of a pet, and spay and neutering these animals for their own protection. They worked tirelessly to raise money to give the Animal Rescue Foundation (ARF a home, and finally in the early 1990s it became a reality, pairing up responsible dog and cat lovers with their future new family members. I have had many many friends and clients who happily adopted a new family member from ARF and as a local delivery driver I have been able to watch the happy families bond with their new four legged friends.ARF is an extended family. Your association with them doesn't end when you adopt. It's just the beginning. I have seen many foundations throughout the years in my carrier, but never have I seen such a passion not only from Tony and Elaine, but genuinely from ever member of its volunteer staff, extending to the amazing people that qualify and choose to add these precious souls to their lives. ARF fever touches everyone envolved. I can't tell you how happy I feel every time they showcase a new adopted family and pet on their website. It's as if we all stand up and clap that another life hasn't gone to waste...but is instead enriching children's lives and teaching them to be kind, gentle and empathetic, and keeping the elderly company. I just can't say enough about this non profit organization. I can't even imagine how much of their own money they've put into this, but I can tell you that Tony is so beloved and so kind that people in the entertainment industry gladly volunteer their time and performances to raise money and awareness to help this man with this most important of causes. If you love animals and want to help you need to know that your money will be used to change lives. There is no greater gift than saving a life, and there is no greater lesson from God than teaching us how to love unconditionally. That's what animals do for a hug and some food. I'm so proud to know these people and so proud of them that they've changed so many lives. Animals have friends in ARF. Go on down and feel the energy there. It won't take but a minute to understand.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 1, 2012

more

November 1, 2012

WOW!!! ARF is the BEST! They have an extraordinary staff, the grounds and facilities are natural and perfect for the purposes... and their services are beyond beautiful. The special treatment they offer applies to people, visitors, volunteers, and clients, as I can attest, from having seen ARF in action in all of these aspects of service. They are an organization to be trusted, a model surely to be replicated--internationally, for certain. Thank you to the staff. Kudos to Dorothy McDougall at Reception/Coordination and Dr. Heather Coburn, who has helped our pets in so many delicate and dedicated ways. "Trust is the coin of the realm." ARF deserves all kinds of donations, assistance, support and volunteer assistance. Well done! Sue LInnig, Concord, California

More feedback...

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers