Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
29 Reviews
1234.862075
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
September 18, 2013

more

September 18, 2013

I have volunteered at Tony La Russa's ARF since I retired 7 years ago and I always say that I get so much more back from the experience than I give! When I walk through the front doors of Tony La Russa's ARF, I feel such a boost of HOPE! No cages for these cherished animals - they have condos with windows and beds and toys! I always stop by the condos and tell the cats and dogs that even if they don't have a "forever home" yet, they are loved and cherished by the staff and volunteers who visit and care for them each day.

When I donate money or goods to the ARF Thrift Store, I feel confident that they will make good use of whatever I give. Their "hearts" are with the animals. Their Emergency Medical Fund is a blessing to people who cannot afford medical care for pets. My next door neighbor was out of work and her dog needed dental care desperately. I told her about EMF and they took care of the dental care so he didn't have to suffer a sore mouth anymore.

They provide spay and neuter services for many who cannot afford to pay.

As a volunteer, I am treated with respect and as a valued member of the *team".

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I believe that they could give advice to other rescue groups. There is not one thing I could think of to change.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 17, 2013

more

September 17, 2013

I am proud to be a volunteer at ARF. I knew this organization was special from the moment I walked through the door. You can feel the energy and the commitment to pets and to people in the community. They know their mission and adhere to it with laser focus. I'm amazed that everyone with whom I come in contact with at the dog park when exercising my pets knows ARF and speaks highly of the organization. In fact, many of the dogs that come to the park were adopted from ARF!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I'm a fairly new volunteer and it is too early for me to have an opinion on this.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 11, 2013

more

September 11, 2013

I love working at ARF. Whenever I see a dog or cat find a "forever" home with a person or family , I get a little teary eyed. These animals were close to being euthanized at another shelter and we gave them another chance to live a happy life and to "rescue" a special family. You can't get much better than that! Knowing that our dogs and cats will stay with us until they get adopted always makes me feel good.
It's so rewarding volunteering at ARF.
ARF also does a lot to educate children and adults about the responsibilities of being a companion to your pet.
Some of our special dogs and cats visit hospitals, nursing homes, etc. to bring joy to people who could use a bit of comfort.
IT'S AWESOME BEING A PART OF THIS GREAT ORGANIZATION!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I am a recent volunteer to ARF and am not yet able to describe ways in which I have made a difference. What I would like to communicate is how impressed I am with ARF's professional and well organized organization. I recently completed my volunteer training and, since that day, I have not stopped singing ARF's praises. I am so proud that there is a program in the Bay Area that is able to save so many dogs and cats from being euthanized each week! And so much more. The volunteer opportunities are limitless and the need is ongoing. I only hope that ARF will be a big part of my future and I will be able to help all of the wonderful dogs, puppies, cats and kittens. I love them all!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 10, 2013

more

September 10, 2013

I began volunteering at ARF when I was rescued by my dog, pit bull/labrador mix, Emma. She came along when I was at a low point n my life and she lifted me up and gave me a reason to love again. I found such joy in being her guardian, I wanted to bring that joy to others. I found ARF and began volunteering as a greeter, tablet, dog walker and now an adoption counselor. It's immensely gratifying to watch an animal and family connect with each other. I believe that every human being deserves a home, food, and an animal companion. ARF has allowed me to live my values and bring joy to adopters and animals alike.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 3, 2013

more

September 3, 2013

A Saturday in June I went to Shadeland's Antique Show and ARF was there with their van. I saw this black and white 3 year old cat and feel in love with her. By Wednesday Kelly was still in my dreams I just could not get her out of my mind so down I went to ARF, hoping she was still available and she was. The staff was wonderful, took a lot of time with me never made me feel hurried in any way. You could really tell that the staff and volunteers loved their jobs and loved these animals. Each of the kitty condo's were clean and each had the regular things plus toys. Treats were also available plus more toys. Volunteers were in numerous condo's playing with the cats and kittens. Each cat had a complete history and their social skills listed so you knew if the feline you liked would blend in with you and the best part was you were able to set down on the floor and play with the cat or kittens to see how they were around you. Kelly and I bonded immediately and she has trained me well already. She is my constant companion when I am in the house and has made this senior very happy.. ARF is just plain wonderful. Sarah

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I can think of nothing for they really covered all the basics

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 3, 2013

more

September 3, 2013

ARF is a class act and a responsible organization providing animals with loving homes. ARF helped me find the perfect cat for me in June, and we love her so much! ARF is very responsible with its donations and has a tireless force of volunteers and employees who make their mission happen.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 3, 2013

more

September 3, 2013

While living in the San Francisco Bay area I because aware of the ARF foundation and its great work. Tony La Russa has gotten it so right. The foundation is the best at what they do, and they do so much for so many. Not only for animals, they also teach and educate everyone about animals and their care and treatment. From the poor, lost, and neglected puppy to the beaten and abused cat, from the uneducated and ignorant child to the negligent pet owner who doesn't care about those who cannot fight back, they have a program or will take action. They are the best at what they are and do. They world is a much better place for having Tony La Russa and his staff in it.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Please have a branch in Oregon and Washington.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 23, 2013

more

August 23, 2013

After teaching children for 37 years I retired and I turned my attention to my number one volunteer destination - Tony La Russa's Animal Rescue Foundation! Working with the ARF team is so rewarding. Everyone on the ARF team is dedicated to providing the best care and to finding the best homes for each of its dogs and cats! The spirit of ARF is one of hope, love, and commitment. If you are thinking of joining the ARF volunteer team now over 500 volunteers, your days will be full of joy! Masha Rosenthal

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I think ARF will continue to grow and in turn we will be able to enrich the lives of even more people and animals. I can't wait for the new laundry room!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 22, 2013

more

August 22, 2013

Before going into ARF, I was living alone and just going to school full time and working part time. My mom showed me a picture of this cat online that they had and my heart just melted. When I went into the shelter, I was not only treated with respect, but was surprised to see a clean environment for both humans and animals. The animals were not in cages and had plenty of room to move around since there was at most two animals to a certain space. I was also surprised to see that a questionnaire was required to even see an animal and a personal "assistant" was assigned to me to show me the animals. Adopting Sunday(my new cat) was an easy process and I was even given a free bag of food. Not only was my experience fantastic here, I found a new friend that was perfect for me.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Add more animals to the shelter, just so they can save more from shelters that kill. I know there is only so many animals they can hold, but I wish they could expand.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers