Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
59 Reviews
1234.89835
| 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
July 1, 2013

more

July 1, 2013

My trip to the Philippines with Together in Hope has been an experience and I will carry this with me through my journey of life.. The first day teaching, I wasn't ready. I'm really bad talking front of many people and it's really difficult for me to explain things. I was scared that I might say something wrong or not right. Have you heard of that song? Hosanna? It sings .."open up my eyes to the things unseen. Show me how to love like You have loved me. Break my heart for what breaks Yours"... This mission trip opened my eyes to the things unseen.

These people had inspired me... One of the Nanays (mothers) has an illness, but didn't question God but continually thank God for the new day He had given her. They really inspired me in so many ways... Knowing that these kids had bigger problems broke my heart. We're here complaining what to eat while they're there not having nothing to eat, how can we worry for small things? I realized that these people have bigger problems than we do and yet we still worry. This has opened my eyes. Honestly I really can't wait for another mission trip & to get my hands dirty Thank you for letting me shared this with you. Have a bless day =]

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 1, 2013

more

July 1, 2013

I recently returned from a mission trip to the Philippines with Together in Hope: We were working together with the awesome Ates (older sisters) of Harris Memorial College throughout our missionary works at Upper Javier, and they would describe the situations that the kids faced in their everyday life. Malis in the other hand, was less of a struggle for me because of how open and big the places that we were at to teach the kids. Bethany UMC were our partners when we arrived in Malis and also helped us throughout our missionary works there. I was very thankful to be blessed me to work with such amazing people who have such a huge heart, for the kids of the Philippines. I have learned so many things from them especially patience.
Working with the kids of both Malis and Upper Javier was such a huge blessing as well. I actually have to say that I learned more from them than they might have learned from me. I remember always whining about how hot it was, and wondered how I was going to teach young kids, and at times I felt like I was going to give up. The smiles, tears, and testimonies that the kids shared with me are memories that I will never ever forget. It's what I also call my priceless treasures. The kids always gave me the strength to keep going and to continue getting up in morning. As minutes past while I was working with them, it didn't even feel like I was in a hot place. I learned that all my complaints before I even started was not even comparable to what they go through everyday. I really did learn more from them. And the more I got to know them, the more I realized that they are not just some kids that I am teaching, but my little brothers and sisters.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2012

more

October 31, 2012

I was fortunate enough to attend a mission trip with BUMC in conjunction with Together in Hope to El Salvador in the summer of 2010. The things I experienced truly changed my life. This organization is a superlative example of what people can be when like-minded, caring individuals put their thoughts and efforts into creating effective aid. On the trip that I personally participated in we renovated a school, worked with the kids, and put a new roof on a house that belonged to an elderly blind man. Together in Hope has made such a positive impact by delegating their focus as to establish longevity in the regions they enter, and spurring improvement from within by advocating improvements to education. I look forward to the work they'll do in the future, not only in El Salvador, but all around the world.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

October 29, 2012

more

October 29, 2012

In January 2012 I travelled with “Together in Hope” Medical and Dental Mission to San Salvador, El Salvador. “Together in Hope” was the first mission group to provide Medical and Dental outreach to the community of Alta Miraflores. I am an Emergency Nurse by training and served as one of the nurses who provided care to the Adult and Pediatric patient population. Over 5 days we were able to provide care to over 350 medical patients and 125 dental patients. Within this community one physician provides basic clinical care, these clinics are overcrowded and under resourced. When interviewing and speaking with families in Alta Miraflores many stories were told about the need for additional medical/clinic resources. I worked with the majority of the pediatric population, many children had never seen a doctor nor received basic childhood growth and development trending, baseline vision or hearing tests or immunizations. If medical care had been provided and medications prescribed the families could not afford to purchase the medication. I feel that our presences in Alta Miraflores gave hope to the community and started to build trust in “Together in Hope”. On a personal note, I was able to use my nursing and medical training to help those with great need and I would volunteer again without a second thought there is nothing more rewardin that a smile and hug from those you are helping!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 26, 2012

more

October 26, 2012

I was in El Salvador in mid-October and had the oppportunity to make an extensive visit with Together in Hope' work in Alto de Miraflores, San Salvador, El Salvador, the Rosa Blanca School. The computer lab made possible by the labor, leadership and donations of Together in Hope is of great benefit to the teachers and students at the school. The level of computer literacy this year compared to last is quite heart-warming. Together in Hope has given childrenwho could not always rely on educational supplies, books, healthcare or theoretically grounded and science-tested classroom instruction an opportunity to acquire a sound educational experience. I was overwhelmed by the teacher, student and parent excitement and pride taken in the school and the sense of partnership the local community leaders feel for its work with Together in Hope. Dr. Recinos, Professor of Church and Society, Perkins School of Theology/SMU, Dallas, Texas

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 23, 2012

more

October 23, 2012

I highly commend the work Together in Hope does for the communities in El Salvador, Ethiopia and the Philippines. I had the opportunity to join one of the Mission trips to El Salvador in July of 2009 in conjunction with the BUMC mission team. We worked with the Rosa Blanca School for children where we held a 3-day Vacation Bible School for the kids; removed the drudgery of the school by painting the corridors and bathroom walls to make it look more like a school; re-built and furnished the kitchen which provides a decent meal for these 250 school children once a day, five days a week (this could be their only decent meal for the day) and replaced a leaky roof of one of the residents who happened to be a blind man who faithfully and courageously walked down the hill with his cane to attend chuch services every Sunday. What we have done, seen and experienced in El Salvador, touched many of us. Not only did I see a big challenge and hope for a better future in the smiles, eyes and faces of the children, teachers and school volunteers but I saw and felt that they believe there is a God who will work in many miraculous ways to help them out of their misery and grant them this hope for a change, a brighter future for themselves and their families. TOGETHER IN HOPE is one of their answered prayers. With God's grace I hope to someday be able to volunteer again. Felinda

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

October 16, 2012

more

October 16, 2012

When thinking of a charity i think of an organization that goes out of its way to help others in dire need. Together in Hope is a prime example of a charity. I personally have been on two mission trips to the Philippines and El Salvador with the Together in Hope organization. During my time in these places we helped countless individuals by re building schools and houses in the community, along with setting up food stations so that even after we left there would still be a place for the hungry to go and get food. Thats called leaving a positive effect on a society, and thats exactly what Together in hope is all about. When the people at Together in Hope enter a place of need, and they don't leave until the job is done. They genuinely care about the people they help, and they places they go.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 16, 2012

more

October 16, 2012

Together in Hope is an organization that I have 100% confidence in. Both the founder and the executive director are hands-on and involved with the volunteers and and communities served on an individual basis. The organization understands the physical, medical, educational and spiritual needs of the communities and dedicated to serving these needs. I have twice been on a trip to El Salvador with Together in Hope. The trip was very well organization and I felt that 100% of my time in two weeks was spent on the needs of those served from hands-on help to a deeper understanding of their cultures and challenges. Without reservation I continue to support Together in Hope with my time and money.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 15, 2012

more

October 15, 2012

After having taken two mission trips with Together in Hope, I can honestly say that this group is making an amazing contribution, specifically to El Salvador and the Philippines. I saw first-hand how lives were changed by this group and the people who volunteer with it. When I went with them to El Salvador, we worked with La Rosa Blanca, a small school in San Salvador. All the people there were so loving and accepting, it felt like leaving home when we finally had to come back to the States. While there, we built a kitchen, repainted the interior of the facility (outdoors) and drew in a brand new mural showing life in El Salvador. On my mission trip with Together in Hope to the Philippines, we contributed to that countries' well-being by creating relationships between local Filipino churches and their "outreach neighborhoods." Economically disadvantaged doesn't begin to paint an appropriate picture of how the families we served are living. In any case, it was an absolute pleasure to be there with the families and children and help to make a difference. Together in Hope is now in more than 3 local towns, feeding children on a weekly basis and sharing the hope and love of Christ with them all.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

El Salvador and the Philippines.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

n/a

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

It gave me new friends and colleagues that I have since worked with. I also provided me with a new understand of how Christ's love transcends language and cultural barriers.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Changed. Completely changed.

September 14, 2012

more

September 14, 2012

I was a volunteer physician for Together In Hope's first medical mission to El Salvador in January 2012. I went to El Salvador with a medical team and dental team. Overall, we saw hundreds of eager patients in 5 days. I've been on medical missions before, but this mission with Together in Hope was head and shoulders above the rest. I was so impressed with the eagerness and sacrifice of the entire team, from the administrative (Diane and Laura), to the laypersons who went along to translate, plan for a future medical clinic, and provide physical, emotional, and spiritual support. Together in Hope was simply the best all around group of people I've been involved with regarding medical missions, and this was their very first mission! The people of El Salvador are an unknown treasure. They have suffered from genocide and political oppression in the past, but today they are for the most part poor yet proud. They deserve to be proud. The family structure of the patients that we saw was incredibly cohesive: grandparents, parents, and children all came together to our makeshift clinic. These families reflected love for their children, their husbands and wives, and respect for their elders. The gratitude that these people expressed to our team was unmeasurable. All of us at Together in Hope were brought to tears of joy during this trip. If you are a physician, dentist, nurse, have any background in healthcare, or are simply a giving person, then I highly recommend that you volunteer with Together in Hope for future missions. You will not be disappointed. In fact, you will return a better and more grounded person.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

a medical mission to El Salvador in January, 2012

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand the physical location/clinic resources (building, supplies, etc.) but of course this means increasing the financial resources of Together in Hope.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

Increase medical personnel: physicians and nurses (but again, this means that more need to volunteer!)

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Yes! This experience brought me back to what medicine is about: physically and emotionally healing the less fortunate.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

I feel proud and yet humbled by my trip to El Salvador. I wish that I could have done more. I was treated with such respect by the many patients who came to see "the Doctor" and "the Dentist." But pride wasn't about my provision of some "superior Western medicine" it was about the smiles, hugs, tears, and love that people far less fortunate (in material things) than I provided despite what we as Americans feel are destitute conditions. El Salvador needs our help, and our resources, but El Salvador is far from destitute when it comes to being human. It was I who felt honored to be included in the lives of the El Salvador people. And I feel honored to have been included in Together in Hope's mission.

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers