Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
70 Reviews
1234.871435
Write A Review
October 24, 2014

more


1 previous review
July 29, 2013

I was very fortunate for the opportunity to travel with Together in Hope this summer. Our medical mission trip was to El Salvador, and I can honestly say it has been one of the most rewarding experie... more

October 24, 2014

Together in Hope is a wonderful organization that really transforms the lives of families in need. The staff and volunteers are truly committed to the mission. Please like www.facebook.com/togetherinhope to see pictures and learn more about the amazing things the organization is doing.
July 29, 2013

I was very fortunate for the opportunity to travel with Together in Hope this summer. Our medical mission trip was to El Salvador, and I can honestly say it has been one of the most rewarding experiences in my life.
We served around 700 individuals in need of medical and dental services and
also had the opportunity to do lots of fun activities with the children. It was wonderful to see the patients walk out and pick up their prescriptions from our own mobile pharmacy after seeing the doctors.

The families we served benefited greatly but I felt I benefited from the so much as well. They transmit hope, strength, unity and love for life and one another. I also met new friends with pure hearts Spending a whole week with such caring individuals was a tremendous blessing for me as well.

TIH staff/coordinators and volunteers are clearly passionate about the mission.. I definitely look forward to joining them on another mission trip.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 1, 2013

more

July 1, 2013

Going to this mission trip has really changed me a lot. being able to experience and done things i thought i would never do in my life. Mission trip has always been a dream for me to do. To help children and everyone else in need. Going to the trip I don't know what I was to expect or how should I react. The first day I began doing mission trip, seeing those kids and how their lives are like made me realize that those little complaints I have are nothing compare to how they are. For the kids to understand my stories I was able to tell the story in my language knowing that I'm not very good at it I became the translator of the group. Even though as I translate for them and forget words at times they never laughed at me or even talk bad about me. Seeing those kids happy faces when we came and see them are nothing compared to even how hot the place was. Knowing that every single one of those kids at least for 1 or 2 days listening and communicating with you is one of the most cherish moments I will never forget. I know only for those couple of days thanks to those little kids, i became something bigger than what I had thought about myself. Although it will be awhile before i see them again, I still hope that they have learned something from me and apply it to their lives as they get older. Listening to the stories that the parents said, that even though they live in a place like that or how hard their lives are hearing how powerful their love and praise towards are father and how happy they were with their families made me very amazed. This mission trip is something I could never forget and will continue to be something greater.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 1, 2013

more

July 1, 2013

"When I first arrived to Philippines I was really excited, but at the same time I felt really weird. I didn't know what to expect when we started our mission trip. We went to two small communities and it was Upper Javier and Malis. The kids there were really amazing! We went and taught the kids the story of Esther and David and Goliath. We also made crowns for the little children. The experience was just unreal. I really developed a personal bonding with the kids. Some of them had told me that even though they are in a hard situation, they are willing to work hard to bring themselves up, not just for them but for their family. We had moments where some of the kids will start crying because we ran of food because more kids came than what was expected to. But most of them came just to see us and listen to our stories. The experience was spiritual moving because instead of them learning from us, we learned much more from them. The kids were happy as long as they are with their family. Words are not even enough to express the great experience I had during this Philippine Mission Trip. Our older youth that went 5 yrs ago to Philippines said that it will change you, but it's more different when you're the one experiencing it. It was more than a life changing experience. I also met new friends that helped us and that we really got close too. This Philippine Trip was beyond incredible and I can't wait to go back when there is another chance. Thank you to our sponsors and everyone that helped us through their donations and prayers!" -

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 1, 2013

more

July 1, 2013

My trip to the Philippines with Together in Hope has been an experience and I will carry this with me through my journey of life.. The first day teaching, I wasn't ready. I'm really bad talking front of many people and it's really difficult for me to explain things. I was scared that I might say something wrong or not right. Have you heard of that song? Hosanna? It sings .."open up my eyes to the things unseen. Show me how to love like You have loved me. Break my heart for what breaks Yours"... This mission trip opened my eyes to the things unseen.

These people had inspired me... One of the Nanays (mothers) has an illness, but didn't question God but continually thank God for the new day He had given her. They really inspired me in so many ways... Knowing that these kids had bigger problems broke my heart. We're here complaining what to eat while they're there not having nothing to eat, how can we worry for small things? I realized that these people have bigger problems than we do and yet we still worry. This has opened my eyes. Honestly I really can't wait for another mission trip & to get my hands dirty Thank you for letting me shared this with you. Have a bless day =]

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 1, 2013

more

July 1, 2013

I recently returned from a mission trip to the Philippines with Together in Hope: We were working together with the awesome Ates (older sisters) of Harris Memorial College throughout our missionary works at Upper Javier, and they would describe the situations that the kids faced in their everyday life. Malis in the other hand, was less of a struggle for me because of how open and big the places that we were at to teach the kids. Bethany UMC were our partners when we arrived in Malis and also helped us throughout our missionary works there. I was very thankful to be blessed me to work with such amazing people who have such a huge heart, for the kids of the Philippines. I have learned so many things from them especially patience.
Working with the kids of both Malis and Upper Javier was such a huge blessing as well. I actually have to say that I learned more from them than they might have learned from me. I remember always whining about how hot it was, and wondered how I was going to teach young kids, and at times I felt like I was going to give up. The smiles, tears, and testimonies that the kids shared with me are memories that I will never ever forget. It's what I also call my priceless treasures. The kids always gave me the strength to keep going and to continue getting up in morning. As minutes past while I was working with them, it didn't even feel like I was in a hot place. I learned that all my complaints before I even started was not even comparable to what they go through everyday. I really did learn more from them. And the more I got to know them, the more I realized that they are not just some kids that I am teaching, but my little brothers and sisters.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2012

more

October 31, 2012

I was fortunate enough to attend a mission trip with BUMC in conjunction with Together in Hope to El Salvador in the summer of 2010. The things I experienced truly changed my life. This organization is a superlative example of what people can be when like-minded, caring individuals put their thoughts and efforts into creating effective aid. On the trip that I personally participated in we renovated a school, worked with the kids, and put a new roof on a house that belonged to an elderly blind man. Together in Hope has made such a positive impact by delegating their focus as to establish longevity in the regions they enter, and spurring improvement from within by advocating improvements to education. I look forward to the work they'll do in the future, not only in El Salvador, but all around the world.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

October 29, 2012

more

October 29, 2012

In January 2012 I travelled with “Together in Hope” Medical and Dental Mission to San Salvador, El Salvador. “Together in Hope” was the first mission group to provide Medical and Dental outreach to the community of Alta Miraflores. I am an Emergency Nurse by training and served as one of the nurses who provided care to the Adult and Pediatric patient population. Over 5 days we were able to provide care to over 350 medical patients and 125 dental patients. Within this community one physician provides basic clinical care, these clinics are overcrowded and under resourced. When interviewing and speaking with families in Alta Miraflores many stories were told about the need for additional medical/clinic resources. I worked with the majority of the pediatric population, many children had never seen a doctor nor received basic childhood growth and development trending, baseline vision or hearing tests or immunizations. If medical care had been provided and medications prescribed the families could not afford to purchase the medication. I feel that our presences in Alta Miraflores gave hope to the community and started to build trust in “Together in Hope”. On a personal note, I was able to use my nursing and medical training to help those with great need and I would volunteer again without a second thought there is nothing more rewardin that a smile and hug from those you are helping!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 26, 2012

more

October 26, 2012

I was in El Salvador in mid-October and had the oppportunity to make an extensive visit with Together in Hope' work in Alto de Miraflores, San Salvador, El Salvador, the Rosa Blanca School. The computer lab made possible by the labor, leadership and donations of Together in Hope is of great benefit to the teachers and students at the school. The level of computer literacy this year compared to last is quite heart-warming. Together in Hope has given childrenwho could not always rely on educational supplies, books, healthcare or theoretically grounded and science-tested classroom instruction an opportunity to acquire a sound educational experience. I was overwhelmed by the teacher, student and parent excitement and pride taken in the school and the sense of partnership the local community leaders feel for its work with Together in Hope. Dr. Recinos, Professor of Church and Society, Perkins School of Theology/SMU, Dallas, Texas

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 23, 2012

more

October 23, 2012

I highly commend the work Together in Hope does for the communities in El Salvador, Ethiopia and the Philippines. I had the opportunity to join one of the Mission trips to El Salvador in July of 2009 in conjunction with the BUMC mission team. We worked with the Rosa Blanca School for children where we held a 3-day Vacation Bible School for the kids; removed the drudgery of the school by painting the corridors and bathroom walls to make it look more like a school; re-built and furnished the kitchen which provides a decent meal for these 250 school children once a day, five days a week (this could be their only decent meal for the day) and replaced a leaky roof of one of the residents who happened to be a blind man who faithfully and courageously walked down the hill with his cane to attend chuch services every Sunday. What we have done, seen and experienced in El Salvador, touched many of us. Not only did I see a big challenge and hope for a better future in the smiles, eyes and faces of the children, teachers and school volunteers but I saw and felt that they believe there is a God who will work in many miraculous ways to help them out of their misery and grant them this hope for a change, a brighter future for themselves and their families. TOGETHER IN HOPE is one of their answered prayers. With God's grace I hope to someday be able to volunteer again. Felinda

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

October 16, 2012

more

October 16, 2012

When thinking of a charity i think of an organization that goes out of its way to help others in dire need. Together in Hope is a prime example of a charity. I personally have been on two mission trips to the Philippines and El Salvador with the Together in Hope organization. During my time in these places we helped countless individuals by re building schools and houses in the community, along with setting up food stations so that even after we left there would still be a place for the hungry to go and get food. Thats called leaving a positive effect on a society, and thats exactly what Together in hope is all about. When the people at Together in Hope enter a place of need, and they don't leave until the job is done. They genuinely care about the people they help, and they places they go.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers