Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
54 Reviews
1234.888895
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
August 28, 2013

more

August 28, 2013

I was a recent volunteer on the medical mission trip to El Salvador on July 13th and had a fantastic experience. I previously went on a trip in 2011 to El Salvador with the Southwestern Soccer team, so to return and serve the community again was a blessing. To see the children again was heartwarming and a blast! I definitely learned some new soccer skills and Salvadorean Spanish playing with the kids! Yet again, Together in Hope was a phenomenal organization to work with, not only addressing the medical needs of the community, but making sure we as volunteers interacted with them and learned from each other at the same time. As a medical student, it was great to be able to use my clinical skills to help the community medically and see over 700 patients, but we also developed and taught health education activities to the children as well, hopefully promoting healthy lives throughout their entire lives and not just the short time we were able to be there. I think this is what really sets TIH apart from other organizations. They don't just "give" the community resources and establish dependence, but teach and grow the community in a way where it can become sustainable and unlimited in it's own progress with it's own resources and treasures. I would and I hope to return on another trip in the future.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

August 15, 2013

more

August 15, 2013

My wife and I were so blessed to be part of the mission trip to El Salvador on July 13 organized by Together In Hope. It was our very first mission trip. While we expected that this experience would have an impact on us, we could never imagine the depth and intensity of that impact. Other members of our team have offered their reviews on this site, so I won't repeat some of the specific information related to the type of mission trip, who attended, etc. Rather, I want others to know about the passion of Together In Hope, its staff and its volunteers for serving, supporting, and empowering the people in Alta Mira Flores. Together In Hope has forged a wonderful relationship with this poor El Salvadorian community during the past few years; and we, as volunteers, have been invited to join in that relationship and be touched by that relationship. For me, after spending all of my time with the children during our week of service, it was difficult to leave; and those amazing children are now ever-present in my thoughts and in my prayers. Thanks to Together in Hope, I have a different perspective on life, on the many blessings that all of us take for granted at times, and on the responsibility that I, as a Christian, feel to help others in a much bigger way. I am eager and ready to return to El Salvador with Together in Hope!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find additional human and financial resources so that Together in Hope could expand it's impact in the communities that it currently serves and in other communities in need.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 12, 2013

more

August 12, 2013

I was one of the volunteer team that recently traveled to the community of Alta Mira Flores in El Salvador to provide health care, dental screening, exercise fun, and education to the children and families in the area. Together in Hope is a wonderful nonprofit that focuses on giving educational and nutritional support, plus offers access to health and dental care to communities in El Salvador, the Philippines, and Ethiopia. One of the great features of this organization is the longitudinal relationships built with these communities.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 11, 2013

more

August 11, 2013

I was lucky enough to go to El Salvador with this group as a volunteer and medical student. I was amazed at how well organized everything on this trip was and it made my job even easier! We all had an amazing time and were able to help 700+ patients and children. I will continue to participate in this charity and can't wait until my next visit to El Salvador.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Everything exceeded my expectations. I never had to worry about planning or safety...just about helping the people that we were there to help. We provided both educational and medical services which I think is best for impacting the community. I wouldn't change a thing about this nonprofit.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 11, 2013

more

August 11, 2013

Accompanied a team of volunteers to San Salvador, El Salvador in support of ongoing work that this group does there. The team included individuals that provided medical care as well as educational activities in support of a school for disadvantaged children. This was my first mission experience and it left me desiring to do more.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 9, 2013

more


1 previous review
October 31, 2012

I was blessed to be apart of Together in Hope's mission initiative to the Philippines in 2008 and 2011. I was a witness to the many lives touched by this organization. Together in Hope continues to se... more

August 9, 2013

I had the privileged to represent Together in Hope (TIH) in the recent Medical Mission Trip to El Salvador this past July. TIH has built this wonderful relationship with the people in Alta Mira Flores, El Salvador and it was a true blessing to witness the work in action! Not only was it a medical mission, which was a clinic that served the young to the old for a week, but TIH also served the school children of Rosa Blanca School. Through the help of TIH, these school children can have a brighter future and can stay off the streets where gang activity is evident. TIH gives the community of Alta Mira Flores hope in the midst of struggle and pain. TIH is a wonderful organization!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2012

I was blessed to be apart of Together in Hope's mission initiative to the Philippines in 2008 and 2011. I was a witness to the many lives touched by this organization. Together in Hope continues to serve the Filipino community through Jessica's Table. Jessica's Table is a program developed for children where they are given nourishing meals and nourishing scriptures. It is a beautiful thing to see an organization to physically and spiritually meet the needs of the people. I look forward to continuing to give my time and talents to this organization as it continues to grow. I am blessed to be apart of an organization that is dedicated to building communities and relationships.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

July 29, 2013

more

July 29, 2013

I was very fortunate for the opportunity to travel with Together in Hope this summer. Our medical mission trip was to El Salvador, and I can honestly say it has been one of the most rewarding experiences in my life.
We served around 700 individuals in need of medical and dental services and
also had the opportunity to do lots of fun activities with the children. It was wonderful to see the patients walk out and pick up their prescriptions from our own mobile pharmacy after seeing the doctors.

The families we served benefited greatly but I felt I benefited from the so much as well. They transmit hope, strength, unity and love for life and one another. I also met new friends with pure hearts Spending a whole week with such caring individuals was a tremendous blessing for me as well.

TIH staff/coordinators and volunteers are clearly passionate about the mission.. I definitely look forward to joining them on another mission trip.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 1, 2013

more

July 1, 2013

Going to this mission trip has really changed me a lot. being able to experience and done things i thought i would never do in my life. Mission trip has always been a dream for me to do. To help children and everyone else in need. Going to the trip I don't know what I was to expect or how should I react. The first day I began doing mission trip, seeing those kids and how their lives are like made me realize that those little complaints I have are nothing compare to how they are. For the kids to understand my stories I was able to tell the story in my language knowing that I'm not very good at it I became the translator of the group. Even though as I translate for them and forget words at times they never laughed at me or even talk bad about me. Seeing those kids happy faces when we came and see them are nothing compared to even how hot the place was. Knowing that every single one of those kids at least for 1 or 2 days listening and communicating with you is one of the most cherish moments I will never forget. I know only for those couple of days thanks to those little kids, i became something bigger than what I had thought about myself. Although it will be awhile before i see them again, I still hope that they have learned something from me and apply it to their lives as they get older. Listening to the stories that the parents said, that even though they live in a place like that or how hard their lives are hearing how powerful their love and praise towards are father and how happy they were with their families made me very amazed. This mission trip is something I could never forget and will continue to be something greater.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 1, 2013

more

July 1, 2013

"When I first arrived to Philippines I was really excited, but at the same time I felt really weird. I didn't know what to expect when we started our mission trip. We went to two small communities and it was Upper Javier and Malis. The kids there were really amazing! We went and taught the kids the story of Esther and David and Goliath. We also made crowns for the little children. The experience was just unreal. I really developed a personal bonding with the kids. Some of them had told me that even though they are in a hard situation, they are willing to work hard to bring themselves up, not just for them but for their family. We had moments where some of the kids will start crying because we ran of food because more kids came than what was expected to. But most of them came just to see us and listen to our stories. The experience was spiritual moving because instead of them learning from us, we learned much more from them. The kids were happy as long as they are with their family. Words are not even enough to express the great experience I had during this Philippine Mission Trip. Our older youth that went 5 yrs ago to Philippines said that it will change you, but it's more different when you're the one experiencing it. It was more than a life changing experience. I also met new friends that helped us and that we really got close too. This Philippine Trip was beyond incredible and I can't wait to go back when there is another chance. Thank you to our sponsors and everyone that helped us through their donations and prayers!" -

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 1, 2013

more

July 1, 2013

My trip to the Philippines with Together in Hope has been an experience and I will carry this with me through my journey of life.. The first day teaching, I wasn't ready. I'm really bad talking front of many people and it's really difficult for me to explain things. I was scared that I might say something wrong or not right. Have you heard of that song? Hosanna? It sings .."open up my eyes to the things unseen. Show me how to love like You have loved me. Break my heart for what breaks Yours"... This mission trip opened my eyes to the things unseen.

These people had inspired me... One of the Nanays (mothers) has an illness, but didn't question God but continually thank God for the new day He had given her. They really inspired me in so many ways... Knowing that these kids had bigger problems broke my heart. We're here complaining what to eat while they're there not having nothing to eat, how can we worry for small things? I realized that these people have bigger problems than we do and yet we still worry. This has opened my eyes. Honestly I really can't wait for another mission trip & to get my hands dirty Thank you for letting me shared this with you. Have a bless day =]

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers