Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
59 Reviews
1234.89835
| 1 ... 4 5 6 |
Write A Review
July 24, 2012

more

July 24, 2012

TOGETHER IN HOPE is extending care to needy in the Philippines, El Salvador and Ethiopia through many ways. My church is collecting used eye glasses and personal dental & hygiene supplies to help with the medical mission in El Salvador. Founder Rev. Diane McGee is an amazing woman of God who has a passion for responding to those in poverty by building relationships and teaching them to be self-sufficient. Focusing on food programs, education and self-care, Together in Hope is making a difference by building co-operative efforts.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 24, 2012

more

July 24, 2012

Together in Hope co-sponsored the 2011 Medical Mission in Laguna and Rizal, Philippiness on April 5-8. I led the team of 3 Physicians, 1 Physician Assistant, 2 Registered Nurses & 1 Social Worker; all from Texas. The team partnered with local volunteers of Medical Doctors, Dentist, Nurses, Ministers, Deaconesses and Teachers. Approximately over 500 patients were evaluated and treated by the team during the 3 day mission. The team provided Medical and Dental Outpatient Clinics to all age groups from pediatric to senior populations. Patient presented with various ailments including common colds, diabetes, hypertension, asthma, thyroid disease, measles, chicken pox, gastritis, first degree burn, skin disorders and teen pregnancy. We also treated cases of intestinal parasites, tuberculosis and cholera because most patients live in an unsanitary conditions. Our local Dentist worked solely and tirelessly. He provided tooth exatractions to over 100 patients in one day. The team provided medicines for up to one month supply. Anyone needing follow up were referred to the local government clinics. Our medical supplies and pharmaceutical needs were provided generously by Together in Hope and other co-sponsors.
Our day started with short prayer remembering that the ultimate healing comes from God and we are mere vessels of His love through healing.
It was indeed an amazing experience for everyone in the team. Each came with the spirit of passion and compassion to serve others. Often we take our blessings for granted namely, food, clothes,water and the accessibility to medicines and doctors. Most of the patients we treated waited for months, years or to some even a lifetime to have access to doctors and medicines because they simply cannot afford. It is amazing how we can make a difference in at least one life to alleviate suffering and give hope. Personally, I feel priviledged to have the opportunity to put faith in action. Matthew 25:40 reminds us that what ever you did to the least of your bretheren you did it to the King of all men. God wants us to love our neighbors as ourselves.We give all the glory and honor to God for what He has done to the Philippines through the Medical/Dental Mission Team. Without God and your support and prayers, it is impossible to achieve this great outcome.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

July 23, 2012

more

July 23, 2012

Great People! Awesome projects.. Amazing concept and altogether WONDERFUL!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 23, 2012

more

July 23, 2012

It is both a joy and a privilege for me to be a volunteer in Together in Hope. I became a volunteer of this organization while we were in our previous church appointment in Bethany UMC when Ptr. Diane and the Bellaire UMC went to the Home Church of Ptr. Renato Santos in Bulacan, Philippines to help in building the Church's Multi-purpose Christian Education Room. Since then, the relationship & the ministry in the Philippines which started in Bulacan has grown & is now serving 4 communities in the country.
When I became a Pastor’s wife I thought that my ministry is just going to be to support my husband. Joining the Together in Hope team is a life-changing and spiritually transforming experience. It helped me realized that loving God would mean loving people.
We were all excited to wake up very early in the morning to go to the market to buy ingredients we need for cooking and preparing nutritious & delicious porridge for 300 children in Malis. We’re even more excited in teaching the children the transforming Words of the Bible & the Love of God that feeds them spiritually. Together in Hope is holistically reaching out to both the physical & spiritual needs of the children & also their parents. I was so happy leading the cell group or life group of the mothers of those children.
We are in our new Church appointment but still so much involved in educating, training & equipping the women through the G12 Vision: to Win the Lost & Make them Disciples; Purpose of Loving God & Loving People and the Goal of Making Every Believer a Leader of leaders. I will always carry in me the very thing I learned from Together in Hope: Being Passionate with/for God and Compassionate in reaching people for Him. All for the Glory of God

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

seeing people experience the saving grace of our lord Jesus Christ & their lives transformed by the Gospel

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

Handling & leading small groups

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Yes! It made me better as a person & as a neighbor.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

It made me fell the love of God has for me & His grace in making me a part of this wonderful organization

July 21, 2012

more

July 21, 2012

With the support of Together in Hope- the out of school youth, and adults have the opportunity to enjoy free education through the Alternative Learning System in Sitio Upper Javier, Brgy. San Juan, Taytay Rizal Philippines. Through education they will increase their knowledge and skills on how to stay healthy. The Instructional Manager provides them modules about health and wellness. Example of the topics are: “My health, My Responsibility; Common Diseases; Knowing the Symptoms and How to prevent it. (Eduard - ALS Instructional Manager).

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 21, 2012

more

July 21, 2012

Through the help of TOGETHER IN HOPE, they have given opportunity to children of Upper Javier, Brgy. San Juan, Taytay, Rizal, Philippines to enter into a formal preschool. The children together with their parents come to school 1 hour before the class to clean up the classroom. Parents are getting more conscious of observing and maintaining personal hygiene and good grooming through their preschool children who always remind them to cut their nails, bathe them, and assist in brushing their teeth. That is what parents are telling me. (Olive- Pre-school Teacher).

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 21, 2012

more

July 21, 2012

Through the Together in Hope project under the leadership of Rev. Diane, Harris Memorial College was able to reach out to pre-school children, community youth and women in Taytay, Rizal, Philippines. The community based-pre -school program serves the poorest of the poor children where feeding program is incorporated. In this way, children are provided nutritious food to help arrest malnutrition and mitigate hunger experienced by these children. In addition, personal hygiene is also being taught among pre school children. Through the sewing project initiated by Together in Hope in partnership with Harris Memorial College, community women earn their keep inside their homes giving women more time to earn and to take care of their small children. As a result, children's health and safety inside their homes are attended to. Through the medical and dental mission organized and participated by the Together in Hope medical team and volunteers in 2011, 250-300 medical patients and 120 dental patients were served. Simultaneously, seminars on preventive health care, first aid, and maternal and child care were conducted with Harris nurses and students as resource persons. Through these initiatives, Harris was able to revive and energize the health committee in the community level. We praise and thank God for what the Together in Hope is doing for the people of God among the urban poor communities in the Philippines.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 19, 2012

more

July 19, 2012

With an outstanding staff and group of volunteers both in the States and in El Salvador, Together in Hope has provided medical/dental teams to poor communities in El Salvador to provide medical and dental care as well as preventative health and hygiene classes. The organization is working closely with the Rosa Blanca School whose student population numbers around 300 to purchase the land on which will be built a health clinic, and new school, and community center. Best group I have worked with in 17 years of guiding international work teams.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 16, 2012

more

July 16, 2012

I became aware of Together In Hope through Diane McGehee. Diane was Associate Pastor of our church. She is a very caring person with great leadership skills who truly wants to help others in need whether it is through building a school for their education, teaching them job skills, providing them medical care or simply bringing them closer to Christ. While I have not yet been on a mission trip with her, I hope to go in 2013. Nonetheless, I have talked to others who have been on a Together In Hope mission trip and clearly the work they do is a wonderful experience knowing how they are helping others less fortunate.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

July 16, 2012

more

July 16, 2012

It's a great opportunity becoming a Together in Hope Volunteer for over 5 years now. I have joined 4 mission trips to the Philippines. The first time was in Dec 2008 where we took at least 21 youth and worked in an impoverished "slum" community called Malis. It was a transforming experience for everyone as we helped in the "Feeding Program" and provided education including proper hygiene and nutrition. Then I went back with an Advance Mission Team in 2010 to conduct an assessment of 4 communities with the goal of expanding the projects and conduct a national conference to recruit/train local partners. These were all materialized, when we took 3 mission teams including medical/dental team and held a national conference in April 2011 and launched the program to 3 additional communities. The projects has expanded from feeding/health & nutrition program to livelihood and early literacy/pre-school programs. Then I joined the return trip to with the team for Bicol community in April 2012 in w/c I was assigned to facilitate and conduct follow-up on the progress. And it's amazing how the projects has grown and have helped many families in the commmunities we serve. It's a real transformation of lives not only to the people we serve but for us volunteers and partners of Together in Hope.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers