Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
63 Reviews
1234.873025
| 1 2 3 4...6 |
Write A Review
July 1, 2013

more

July 1, 2013

I recently returned from a mission trip to the Philippines with Together in Hope: We were working together with the awesome Ates (older sisters) of Harris Memorial College throughout our missionary works at Upper Javier, and they would describe the situations that the kids faced in their everyday life. Malis in the other hand, was less of a struggle for me because of how open and big the places that we were at to teach the kids. Bethany UMC were our partners when we arrived in Malis and also helped us throughout our missionary works there. I was very thankful to be blessed me to work with such amazing people who have such a huge heart, for the kids of the Philippines. I have learned so many things from them especially patience.
Working with the kids of both Malis and Upper Javier was such a huge blessing as well. I actually have to say that I learned more from them than they might have learned from me. I remember always whining about how hot it was, and wondered how I was going to teach young kids, and at times I felt like I was going to give up. The smiles, tears, and testimonies that the kids shared with me are memories that I will never ever forget. It's what I also call my priceless treasures. The kids always gave me the strength to keep going and to continue getting up in morning. As minutes past while I was working with them, it didn't even feel like I was in a hot place. I learned that all my complaints before I even started was not even comparable to what they go through everyday. I really did learn more from them. And the more I got to know them, the more I realized that they are not just some kids that I am teaching, but my little brothers and sisters.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2012

more

October 31, 2012

Together in Hope is steadfastly dedicated to helping those who are less fortunate. Keep up the good work.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 31, 2012

more

October 31, 2012

I was fortunate enough to attend a mission trip with BUMC in conjunction with Together in Hope to El Salvador in the summer of 2010. The things I experienced truly changed my life. This organization is a superlative example of what people can be when like-minded, caring individuals put their thoughts and efforts into creating effective aid. On the trip that I personally participated in we renovated a school, worked with the kids, and put a new roof on a house that belonged to an elderly blind man. Together in Hope has made such a positive impact by delegating their focus as to establish longevity in the regions they enter, and spurring improvement from within by advocating improvements to education. I look forward to the work they'll do in the future, not only in El Salvador, but all around the world.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

October 29, 2012

more

October 29, 2012

In January 2012 I travelled with “Together in Hope” Medical and Dental Mission to San Salvador, El Salvador. “Together in Hope” was the first mission group to provide Medical and Dental outreach to the community of Alta Miraflores. I am an Emergency Nurse by training and served as one of the nurses who provided care to the Adult and Pediatric patient population. Over 5 days we were able to provide care to over 350 medical patients and 125 dental patients. Within this community one physician provides basic clinical care, these clinics are overcrowded and under resourced. When interviewing and speaking with families in Alta Miraflores many stories were told about the need for additional medical/clinic resources. I worked with the majority of the pediatric population, many children had never seen a doctor nor received basic childhood growth and development trending, baseline vision or hearing tests or immunizations. If medical care had been provided and medications prescribed the families could not afford to purchase the medication. I feel that our presences in Alta Miraflores gave hope to the community and started to build trust in “Together in Hope”. On a personal note, I was able to use my nursing and medical training to help those with great need and I would volunteer again without a second thought there is nothing more rewardin that a smile and hug from those you are helping!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 27, 2012

more

October 27, 2012

I’ve watched Together in Hope grow the past several years, becoming more effective, helping more people and streamlining its resources. I know of no other charity that uses all if it’s donation dollars for projects and not overhead. Their leader and directors work for free. This truly is the essence of charity. Watching all the participants work together in hope is stimulating.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 26, 2012

more

October 26, 2012

As a board member, I am proud to be a part of Together in Hope. Together in Hope is founded on the premise that all people are created in the image of God and are of infinite value and worth. It seeks to work with marginalized communities, families, and persons in a way that honors their dignity and empowers their gifts. In each of the communities in which Together in Hope works, Together in Hope has been invited in by the community, listens deeply to the community, and seeks to empower the community to bring lasting change and transformation through education, nutritional support, vocational training, and working for accessible health care. The work is community led and community identified so that change comes from within and can be sustained. Children are finding hope; families are finding hope; communities are finding hope. Each one of us can make a difference and when we all do our part working together in hope toward a brighter future for all people, change happens for all of us!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 26, 2012

more

October 26, 2012

I was in El Salvador in mid-October and had the oppportunity to make an extensive visit with Together in Hope' work in Alto de Miraflores, San Salvador, El Salvador, the Rosa Blanca School. The computer lab made possible by the labor, leadership and donations of Together in Hope is of great benefit to the teachers and students at the school. The level of computer literacy this year compared to last is quite heart-warming. Together in Hope has given childrenwho could not always rely on educational supplies, books, healthcare or theoretically grounded and science-tested classroom instruction an opportunity to acquire a sound educational experience. I was overwhelmed by the teacher, student and parent excitement and pride taken in the school and the sense of partnership the local community leaders feel for its work with Together in Hope. Dr. Recinos, Professor of Church and Society, Perkins School of Theology/SMU, Dallas, Texas

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 23, 2012

more

October 23, 2012

I highly commend the work Together in Hope does for the communities in El Salvador, Ethiopia and the Philippines. I had the opportunity to join one of the Mission trips to El Salvador in July of 2009 in conjunction with the BUMC mission team. We worked with the Rosa Blanca School for children where we held a 3-day Vacation Bible School for the kids; removed the drudgery of the school by painting the corridors and bathroom walls to make it look more like a school; re-built and furnished the kitchen which provides a decent meal for these 250 school children once a day, five days a week (this could be their only decent meal for the day) and replaced a leaky roof of one of the residents who happened to be a blind man who faithfully and courageously walked down the hill with his cane to attend chuch services every Sunday. What we have done, seen and experienced in El Salvador, touched many of us. Not only did I see a big challenge and hope for a better future in the smiles, eyes and faces of the children, teachers and school volunteers but I saw and felt that they believe there is a God who will work in many miraculous ways to help them out of their misery and grant them this hope for a change, a brighter future for themselves and their families. TOGETHER IN HOPE is one of their answered prayers. With God's grace I hope to someday be able to volunteer again. Felinda

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

October 16, 2012

more

October 16, 2012

When thinking of a charity i think of an organization that goes out of its way to help others in dire need. Together in Hope is a prime example of a charity. I personally have been on two mission trips to the Philippines and El Salvador with the Together in Hope organization. During my time in these places we helped countless individuals by re building schools and houses in the community, along with setting up food stations so that even after we left there would still be a place for the hungry to go and get food. Thats called leaving a positive effect on a society, and thats exactly what Together in hope is all about. When the people at Together in Hope enter a place of need, and they don't leave until the job is done. They genuinely care about the people they help, and they places they go.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 16, 2012

more

October 16, 2012

On behalf of Youth Release I would like to extend our support for Together in Hope. Last summer the Director & Project Coordinator of Together in Hope visited the Youth Release youth center project in Dire Dawa, Ethiopia. Although we are a small organization just getting started Together in Hope gave us so much encouragement and saw our vision for the youth center that had just been open. Together in Hope shared their experiences and gave constructive feedback on the project. While they were in Ethiopia, they visited with members of the local Youth Release committee, gave up their spare time and volunteered with local children that both live and work the street. They also provided art classes and sports groups, this was all done out their own good will.Our partnership with Together in Hope has been invaluable. Youth Release is now known in America but more importantly the problems facing street children in Ethiopia have been highlighted to the greater world, we have learned from the work that Together in Hope do in different countries which we have applied to our own project. We hope to expand on the youth center program in Dire Dawa and follow programs such as Jessica’s table and in the future establish a micro credit program for the families of the children we support. I wholeheartedly support this organization, the work they do, their vision, diversity and willingness to contribute what they can to disadvantaged communities around the world... I am very grateful for their support and for believing in what we do
Niamh Power, Director of Youth Release

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers