Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
59 Reviews
1234.89835
| 1 2 3 4...6 |
Write A Review
October 27, 2012

more

October 27, 2012

I’ve watched Together in Hope grow the past several years, becoming more effective, helping more people and streamlining its resources. I know of no other charity that uses all if it’s donation dollars for projects and not overhead. Their leader and directors work for free. This truly is the essence of charity. Watching all the participants work together in hope is stimulating.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 26, 2012

more

October 26, 2012

As a board member, I am proud to be a part of Together in Hope. Together in Hope is founded on the premise that all people are created in the image of God and are of infinite value and worth. It seeks to work with marginalized communities, families, and persons in a way that honors their dignity and empowers their gifts. In each of the communities in which Together in Hope works, Together in Hope has been invited in by the community, listens deeply to the community, and seeks to empower the community to bring lasting change and transformation through education, nutritional support, vocational training, and working for accessible health care. The work is community led and community identified so that change comes from within and can be sustained. Children are finding hope; families are finding hope; communities are finding hope. Each one of us can make a difference and when we all do our part working together in hope toward a brighter future for all people, change happens for all of us!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 26, 2012

more

October 26, 2012

I was in El Salvador in mid-October and had the oppportunity to make an extensive visit with Together in Hope' work in Alto de Miraflores, San Salvador, El Salvador, the Rosa Blanca School. The computer lab made possible by the labor, leadership and donations of Together in Hope is of great benefit to the teachers and students at the school. The level of computer literacy this year compared to last is quite heart-warming. Together in Hope has given childrenwho could not always rely on educational supplies, books, healthcare or theoretically grounded and science-tested classroom instruction an opportunity to acquire a sound educational experience. I was overwhelmed by the teacher, student and parent excitement and pride taken in the school and the sense of partnership the local community leaders feel for its work with Together in Hope. Dr. Recinos, Professor of Church and Society, Perkins School of Theology/SMU, Dallas, Texas

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 23, 2012

more

October 23, 2012

I highly commend the work Together in Hope does for the communities in El Salvador, Ethiopia and the Philippines. I had the opportunity to join one of the Mission trips to El Salvador in July of 2009 in conjunction with the BUMC mission team. We worked with the Rosa Blanca School for children where we held a 3-day Vacation Bible School for the kids; removed the drudgery of the school by painting the corridors and bathroom walls to make it look more like a school; re-built and furnished the kitchen which provides a decent meal for these 250 school children once a day, five days a week (this could be their only decent meal for the day) and replaced a leaky roof of one of the residents who happened to be a blind man who faithfully and courageously walked down the hill with his cane to attend chuch services every Sunday. What we have done, seen and experienced in El Salvador, touched many of us. Not only did I see a big challenge and hope for a better future in the smiles, eyes and faces of the children, teachers and school volunteers but I saw and felt that they believe there is a God who will work in many miraculous ways to help them out of their misery and grant them this hope for a change, a brighter future for themselves and their families. TOGETHER IN HOPE is one of their answered prayers. With God's grace I hope to someday be able to volunteer again. Felinda

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

October 16, 2012

more

October 16, 2012

When thinking of a charity i think of an organization that goes out of its way to help others in dire need. Together in Hope is a prime example of a charity. I personally have been on two mission trips to the Philippines and El Salvador with the Together in Hope organization. During my time in these places we helped countless individuals by re building schools and houses in the community, along with setting up food stations so that even after we left there would still be a place for the hungry to go and get food. Thats called leaving a positive effect on a society, and thats exactly what Together in hope is all about. When the people at Together in Hope enter a place of need, and they don't leave until the job is done. They genuinely care about the people they help, and they places they go.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 16, 2012

more

October 16, 2012

On behalf of Youth Release I would like to extend our support for Together in Hope. Last summer the Director & Project Coordinator of Together in Hope visited the Youth Release youth center project in Dire Dawa, Ethiopia. Although we are a small organization just getting started Together in Hope gave us so much encouragement and saw our vision for the youth center that had just been open. Together in Hope shared their experiences and gave constructive feedback on the project. While they were in Ethiopia, they visited with members of the local Youth Release committee, gave up their spare time and volunteered with local children that both live and work the street. They also provided art classes and sports groups, this was all done out their own good will.Our partnership with Together in Hope has been invaluable. Youth Release is now known in America but more importantly the problems facing street children in Ethiopia have been highlighted to the greater world, we have learned from the work that Together in Hope do in different countries which we have applied to our own project. We hope to expand on the youth center program in Dire Dawa and follow programs such as Jessica’s table and in the future establish a micro credit program for the families of the children we support. I wholeheartedly support this organization, the work they do, their vision, diversity and willingness to contribute what they can to disadvantaged communities around the world... I am very grateful for their support and for believing in what we do
Niamh Power, Director of Youth Release

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 16, 2012

more

October 16, 2012

Together in Hope is an organization that I have 100% confidence in. Both the founder and the executive director are hands-on and involved with the volunteers and and communities served on an individual basis. The organization understands the physical, medical, educational and spiritual needs of the communities and dedicated to serving these needs. I have twice been on a trip to El Salvador with Together in Hope. The trip was very well organization and I felt that 100% of my time in two weeks was spent on the needs of those served from hands-on help to a deeper understanding of their cultures and challenges. Without reservation I continue to support Together in Hope with my time and money.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 15, 2012

more

October 15, 2012

After having taken two mission trips with Together in Hope, I can honestly say that this group is making an amazing contribution, specifically to El Salvador and the Philippines. I saw first-hand how lives were changed by this group and the people who volunteer with it. When I went with them to El Salvador, we worked with La Rosa Blanca, a small school in San Salvador. All the people there were so loving and accepting, it felt like leaving home when we finally had to come back to the States. While there, we built a kitchen, repainted the interior of the facility (outdoors) and drew in a brand new mural showing life in El Salvador. On my mission trip with Together in Hope to the Philippines, we contributed to that countries' well-being by creating relationships between local Filipino churches and their "outreach neighborhoods." Economically disadvantaged doesn't begin to paint an appropriate picture of how the families we served are living. In any case, it was an absolute pleasure to be there with the families and children and help to make a difference. Together in Hope is now in more than 3 local towns, feeding children on a weekly basis and sharing the hope and love of Christ with them all.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

El Salvador and the Philippines.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

n/a

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

It gave me new friends and colleagues that I have since worked with. I also provided me with a new understand of how Christ's love transcends language and cultural barriers.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Changed. Completely changed.

September 14, 2012

more

September 14, 2012

I was a volunteer physician for Together In Hope's first medical mission to El Salvador in January 2012. I went to El Salvador with a medical team and dental team. Overall, we saw hundreds of eager patients in 5 days. I've been on medical missions before, but this mission with Together in Hope was head and shoulders above the rest. I was so impressed with the eagerness and sacrifice of the entire team, from the administrative (Diane and Laura), to the laypersons who went along to translate, plan for a future medical clinic, and provide physical, emotional, and spiritual support. Together in Hope was simply the best all around group of people I've been involved with regarding medical missions, and this was their very first mission! The people of El Salvador are an unknown treasure. They have suffered from genocide and political oppression in the past, but today they are for the most part poor yet proud. They deserve to be proud. The family structure of the patients that we saw was incredibly cohesive: grandparents, parents, and children all came together to our makeshift clinic. These families reflected love for their children, their husbands and wives, and respect for their elders. The gratitude that these people expressed to our team was unmeasurable. All of us at Together in Hope were brought to tears of joy during this trip. If you are a physician, dentist, nurse, have any background in healthcare, or are simply a giving person, then I highly recommend that you volunteer with Together in Hope for future missions. You will not be disappointed. In fact, you will return a better and more grounded person.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

a medical mission to El Salvador in January, 2012

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand the physical location/clinic resources (building, supplies, etc.) but of course this means increasing the financial resources of Together in Hope.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

Increase medical personnel: physicians and nurses (but again, this means that more need to volunteer!)

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Yes! This experience brought me back to what medicine is about: physically and emotionally healing the less fortunate.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

I feel proud and yet humbled by my trip to El Salvador. I wish that I could have done more. I was treated with such respect by the many patients who came to see "the Doctor" and "the Dentist." But pride wasn't about my provision of some "superior Western medicine" it was about the smiles, hugs, tears, and love that people far less fortunate (in material things) than I provided despite what we as Americans feel are destitute conditions. El Salvador needs our help, and our resources, but El Salvador is far from destitute when it comes to being human. It was I who felt honored to be included in the lives of the El Salvador people. And I feel honored to have been included in Together in Hope's mission.

August 1, 2012

more

August 1, 2012

My relationship with Together in Hope's sister organization Youth Release has been and continues to be one of the most rewarding experience's of my life. I spent a Summer in Ethiopia helping them with their work and I realised that, even in my short time there I had the opportunity to make a difference to their education and give them lasting memories of a happy childhood. While that Summer was a great experience, at the same time I know that my fundraising is being invested in the children's futures and the future generations of the community in Dire Dawa. What I love about the work that Youth Release does is that it is ongoing and they make such huge commitments to ensure that their work and investments benefit the children and the community on a long term basis. No one knows Dire Dawa as well as they do, their vision for the region is inspiring and they were brilliant in helping us with all aspects of the trip - preparation, fundraising, traveling, volunteering and maintaining lasting relationships. In the last year I have been traveling quite a bit but have felt that I can still keep track of everything that is going on through the emails I receive and the brilliant updates on the Together in Hope and Youth Release websites and newsletters. I can also continue to encourage family and friends to support Youth Release's efforts through the Christmas and Sponsor a Child campaigns. I'm proud to be a supporter of the Together in Hope nonprofit and it will always be a part of my life. From first hand experience I can say with confidence that the work that they do is tireless and very greatly needed and I will continue to support them in the future. DOS

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers