Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
54 Reviews
1234.888895
| 1 2 3 4...6 |
Write A Review
October 16, 2012

more

October 16, 2012

On behalf of Youth Release I would like to extend our support for Together in Hope. Last summer the Director & Project Coordinator of Together in Hope visited the Youth Release youth center project in Dire Dawa, Ethiopia. Although we are a small organization just getting started Together in Hope gave us so much encouragement and saw our vision for the youth center that had just been open. Together in Hope shared their experiences and gave constructive feedback on the project. While they were in Ethiopia, they visited with members of the local Youth Release committee, gave up their spare time and volunteered with local children that both live and work the street. They also provided art classes and sports groups, this was all done out their own good will.Our partnership with Together in Hope has been invaluable. Youth Release is now known in America but more importantly the problems facing street children in Ethiopia have been highlighted to the greater world, we have learned from the work that Together in Hope do in different countries which we have applied to our own project. We hope to expand on the youth center program in Dire Dawa and follow programs such as Jessica’s table and in the future establish a micro credit program for the families of the children we support. I wholeheartedly support this organization, the work they do, their vision, diversity and willingness to contribute what they can to disadvantaged communities around the world... I am very grateful for their support and for believing in what we do
Niamh Power, Director of Youth Release

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 16, 2012

more

October 16, 2012

Together in Hope is an organization that I have 100% confidence in. Both the founder and the executive director are hands-on and involved with the volunteers and and communities served on an individual basis. The organization understands the physical, medical, educational and spiritual needs of the communities and dedicated to serving these needs. I have twice been on a trip to El Salvador with Together in Hope. The trip was very well organization and I felt that 100% of my time in two weeks was spent on the needs of those served from hands-on help to a deeper understanding of their cultures and challenges. Without reservation I continue to support Together in Hope with my time and money.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 15, 2012

more

October 15, 2012

After having taken two mission trips with Together in Hope, I can honestly say that this group is making an amazing contribution, specifically to El Salvador and the Philippines. I saw first-hand how lives were changed by this group and the people who volunteer with it. When I went with them to El Salvador, we worked with La Rosa Blanca, a small school in San Salvador. All the people there were so loving and accepting, it felt like leaving home when we finally had to come back to the States. While there, we built a kitchen, repainted the interior of the facility (outdoors) and drew in a brand new mural showing life in El Salvador. On my mission trip with Together in Hope to the Philippines, we contributed to that countries' well-being by creating relationships between local Filipino churches and their "outreach neighborhoods." Economically disadvantaged doesn't begin to paint an appropriate picture of how the families we served are living. In any case, it was an absolute pleasure to be there with the families and children and help to make a difference. Together in Hope is now in more than 3 local towns, feeding children on a weekly basis and sharing the hope and love of Christ with them all.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

El Salvador and the Philippines.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

n/a

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

It gave me new friends and colleagues that I have since worked with. I also provided me with a new understand of how Christ's love transcends language and cultural barriers.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Changed. Completely changed.

September 14, 2012

more

September 14, 2012

I was a volunteer physician for Together In Hope's first medical mission to El Salvador in January 2012. I went to El Salvador with a medical team and dental team. Overall, we saw hundreds of eager patients in 5 days. I've been on medical missions before, but this mission with Together in Hope was head and shoulders above the rest. I was so impressed with the eagerness and sacrifice of the entire team, from the administrative (Diane and Laura), to the laypersons who went along to translate, plan for a future medical clinic, and provide physical, emotional, and spiritual support. Together in Hope was simply the best all around group of people I've been involved with regarding medical missions, and this was their very first mission! The people of El Salvador are an unknown treasure. They have suffered from genocide and political oppression in the past, but today they are for the most part poor yet proud. They deserve to be proud. The family structure of the patients that we saw was incredibly cohesive: grandparents, parents, and children all came together to our makeshift clinic. These families reflected love for their children, their husbands and wives, and respect for their elders. The gratitude that these people expressed to our team was unmeasurable. All of us at Together in Hope were brought to tears of joy during this trip. If you are a physician, dentist, nurse, have any background in healthcare, or are simply a giving person, then I highly recommend that you volunteer with Together in Hope for future missions. You will not be disappointed. In fact, you will return a better and more grounded person.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

a medical mission to El Salvador in January, 2012

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand the physical location/clinic resources (building, supplies, etc.) but of course this means increasing the financial resources of Together in Hope.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

Increase medical personnel: physicians and nurses (but again, this means that more need to volunteer!)

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Yes! This experience brought me back to what medicine is about: physically and emotionally healing the less fortunate.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

I feel proud and yet humbled by my trip to El Salvador. I wish that I could have done more. I was treated with such respect by the many patients who came to see "the Doctor" and "the Dentist." But pride wasn't about my provision of some "superior Western medicine" it was about the smiles, hugs, tears, and love that people far less fortunate (in material things) than I provided despite what we as Americans feel are destitute conditions. El Salvador needs our help, and our resources, but El Salvador is far from destitute when it comes to being human. It was I who felt honored to be included in the lives of the El Salvador people. And I feel honored to have been included in Together in Hope's mission.

August 1, 2012

more

August 1, 2012

My relationship with Together in Hope's sister organization Youth Release has been and continues to be one of the most rewarding experience's of my life. I spent a Summer in Ethiopia helping them with their work and I realised that, even in my short time there I had the opportunity to make a difference to their education and give them lasting memories of a happy childhood. While that Summer was a great experience, at the same time I know that my fundraising is being invested in the children's futures and the future generations of the community in Dire Dawa. What I love about the work that Youth Release does is that it is ongoing and they make such huge commitments to ensure that their work and investments benefit the children and the community on a long term basis. No one knows Dire Dawa as well as they do, their vision for the region is inspiring and they were brilliant in helping us with all aspects of the trip - preparation, fundraising, traveling, volunteering and maintaining lasting relationships. In the last year I have been traveling quite a bit but have felt that I can still keep track of everything that is going on through the emails I receive and the brilliant updates on the Together in Hope and Youth Release websites and newsletters. I can also continue to encourage family and friends to support Youth Release's efforts through the Christmas and Sponsor a Child campaigns. I'm proud to be a supporter of the Together in Hope nonprofit and it will always be a part of my life. From first hand experience I can say with confidence that the work that they do is tireless and very greatly needed and I will continue to support them in the future. DOS

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

July 31, 2012

more

July 31, 2012

The joy of serving the Lord inspired me to work as volunteer at Together in Hope, many years ago at has been my mothers' desire to serve the Lord and opened our home for all church workers; All assigned deaconess in our local church stayed with us and considered them as member of our family, i'm sure it also contributed that I too, together with my two (2) younger sisters become a deaconess too. We found a tremendous joy and happiness in serving the Lord. When our parents' went home to God's arms, we thought that the mission ended. One day, Together in Hope mission came. The Lord is so amazing that many lives were touched by the Word of God. Together in Hope, does not only focus on children's ministry, its mission is growing bigger and wider because of different activities like: Bible study classfor adult, Literacy program for children, livelihood program for parents and out of school youth and feeding program (physical and spiritual) for all ages. The said activities are done from Monday to Saturday. Serving the Lord has no end.
"As for me and my house we will serve the Lord" - Joshua 24:15

To God be the Glory!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 30, 2012

more

July 30, 2012

youth release is an amazing charity. The founders Niamh and Laura are an absolute inspiration. The have taken on wht seemed like an impossible task and have made unbelievable progress in helping to change the lives of so many in Dire Dawa who otherwise, might not even be here today. I get goosebumps when I think of the girls and the extraordinary work they have done, they are an absolute inspiration and have made me so aware of what is happening in the Ethiopia. They are so young and have already done so much, I can't imagine what great things I will be saying about the, in another 20years, what they could achieve in that time is awesome! Youth Release deserve all the help they can get as they are a genuine charity improving the lives of so many. I hope to go to Dire Dawa and do what I can to help this fantstic charity.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 29, 2012

more

July 29, 2012

I have been following Youth Release since it's infancy and have watched it grow steadily over the last number of years. The work and commitment of the volunteers is amazing and awe inspiring. What started off as a tentative plan for a Youth Centre for the street children in Dire Dawa the dream has now been realised due to the dedication and resolve of its founders Niamh and Laura Power and to the many volunteers who have given their time and energy to this project. Youth Release has made a huge difference to the lives of hundreds of children in Ethiopia and with the support and backing of all of us will continue to do very valuable work and help those children less fortunate to lead a better life.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 28, 2012

more

July 28, 2012

Having watched..Youth Release..project grow from its infancy in Dublin to its dream of building a youth centre for the poorest of children living on the streets of Ethiopia,its been a fantastic achievement.Having seeing the passion and commitment of the volunteers,the struggle trying to fund raiseto help these kids in Ethiopia.What i like about the project is that all monies raised go directly to the project ,without costs been absorbed by administration. (including volunteers paying their own travel costs etc ..).The impact on the lives of these children due to Youth Release is imense as these kids previously had no future,now they have a youth centre offering all different kind of programs and its giving the kids some hope in their lives..Youth Release is a fantastic organisation and has changed kids lives and given them light at the end of the tunnel.One of the main things to keep this project up and running is fund raising,and donations.At this end its terific to see an organisation like ..Together in Hope..supporting Youth Release.Keep up the good work. D.P.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Great people. Amazing work. At The Spark Foundation we love Together in Hope!!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers