Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
59 Reviews
1234.89835
| 1 2 3...6 |
Write A Review
August 10, 2013

more

August 10, 2013

I had the privilege of going to El Salvador on a medical/school mission trip organized by Together in Hope. The experience was eye opening, exceeded what I expected and left me with an eagerness to go back and do more.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Spend more time researching the needs of the community so we can make the most of our time and efforts there and try to make more lasting impact.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 9, 2013

more


1 previous review
October 31, 2012

I was blessed to be apart of Together in Hope's mission initiative to the Philippines in 2008 and 2011. I was a witness to the many lives touched by this organization. Together in Hope continues to se... more

August 9, 2013

I had the privileged to represent Together in Hope (TIH) in the recent Medical Mission Trip to El Salvador this past July. TIH has built this wonderful relationship with the people in Alta Mira Flores, El Salvador and it was a true blessing to witness the work in action! Not only was it a medical mission, which was a clinic that served the young to the old for a week, but TIH also served the school children of Rosa Blanca School. Through the help of TIH, these school children can have a brighter future and can stay off the streets where gang activity is evident. TIH gives the community of Alta Mira Flores hope in the midst of struggle and pain. TIH is a wonderful organization!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2012

I was blessed to be apart of Together in Hope's mission initiative to the Philippines in 2008 and 2011. I was a witness to the many lives touched by this organization. Together in Hope continues to serve the Filipino community through Jessica's Table. Jessica's Table is a program developed for children where they are given nourishing meals and nourishing scriptures. It is a beautiful thing to see an organization to physically and spiritually meet the needs of the people. I look forward to continuing to give my time and talents to this organization as it continues to grow. I am blessed to be apart of an organization that is dedicated to building communities and relationships.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

July 29, 2013

more

July 29, 2013

I was very fortunate for the opportunity to travel with Together in Hope this summer. Our medical mission trip was to El Salvador, and I can honestly say it has been one of the most rewarding experiences in my life.
We served around 700 individuals in need of medical and dental services and
also had the opportunity to do lots of fun activities with the children. It was wonderful to see the patients walk out and pick up their prescriptions from our own mobile pharmacy after seeing the doctors.

The families we served benefited greatly but I felt I benefited from the so much as well. They transmit hope, strength, unity and love for life and one another. I also met new friends with pure hearts Spending a whole week with such caring individuals was a tremendous blessing for me as well.

TIH staff/coordinators and volunteers are clearly passionate about the mission.. I definitely look forward to joining them on another mission trip.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 1, 2013

more

July 1, 2013

Going to this mission trip has really changed me a lot. being able to experience and done things i thought i would never do in my life. Mission trip has always been a dream for me to do. To help children and everyone else in need. Going to the trip I don't know what I was to expect or how should I react. The first day I began doing mission trip, seeing those kids and how their lives are like made me realize that those little complaints I have are nothing compare to how they are. For the kids to understand my stories I was able to tell the story in my language knowing that I'm not very good at it I became the translator of the group. Even though as I translate for them and forget words at times they never laughed at me or even talk bad about me. Seeing those kids happy faces when we came and see them are nothing compared to even how hot the place was. Knowing that every single one of those kids at least for 1 or 2 days listening and communicating with you is one of the most cherish moments I will never forget. I know only for those couple of days thanks to those little kids, i became something bigger than what I had thought about myself. Although it will be awhile before i see them again, I still hope that they have learned something from me and apply it to their lives as they get older. Listening to the stories that the parents said, that even though they live in a place like that or how hard their lives are hearing how powerful their love and praise towards are father and how happy they were with their families made me very amazed. This mission trip is something I could never forget and will continue to be something greater.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 1, 2013

more

July 1, 2013

"When I first arrived to Philippines I was really excited, but at the same time I felt really weird. I didn't know what to expect when we started our mission trip. We went to two small communities and it was Upper Javier and Malis. The kids there were really amazing! We went and taught the kids the story of Esther and David and Goliath. We also made crowns for the little children. The experience was just unreal. I really developed a personal bonding with the kids. Some of them had told me that even though they are in a hard situation, they are willing to work hard to bring themselves up, not just for them but for their family. We had moments where some of the kids will start crying because we ran of food because more kids came than what was expected to. But most of them came just to see us and listen to our stories. The experience was spiritual moving because instead of them learning from us, we learned much more from them. The kids were happy as long as they are with their family. Words are not even enough to express the great experience I had during this Philippine Mission Trip. Our older youth that went 5 yrs ago to Philippines said that it will change you, but it's more different when you're the one experiencing it. It was more than a life changing experience. I also met new friends that helped us and that we really got close too. This Philippine Trip was beyond incredible and I can't wait to go back when there is another chance. Thank you to our sponsors and everyone that helped us through their donations and prayers!" -

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 1, 2013

more

July 1, 2013

My trip to the Philippines with Together in Hope has been an experience and I will carry this with me through my journey of life.. The first day teaching, I wasn't ready. I'm really bad talking front of many people and it's really difficult for me to explain things. I was scared that I might say something wrong or not right. Have you heard of that song? Hosanna? It sings .."open up my eyes to the things unseen. Show me how to love like You have loved me. Break my heart for what breaks Yours"... This mission trip opened my eyes to the things unseen.

These people had inspired me... One of the Nanays (mothers) has an illness, but didn't question God but continually thank God for the new day He had given her. They really inspired me in so many ways... Knowing that these kids had bigger problems broke my heart. We're here complaining what to eat while they're there not having nothing to eat, how can we worry for small things? I realized that these people have bigger problems than we do and yet we still worry. This has opened my eyes. Honestly I really can't wait for another mission trip & to get my hands dirty Thank you for letting me shared this with you. Have a bless day =]

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 1, 2013

more

July 1, 2013

I recently returned from a mission trip to the Philippines with Together in Hope: We were working together with the awesome Ates (older sisters) of Harris Memorial College throughout our missionary works at Upper Javier, and they would describe the situations that the kids faced in their everyday life. Malis in the other hand, was less of a struggle for me because of how open and big the places that we were at to teach the kids. Bethany UMC were our partners when we arrived in Malis and also helped us throughout our missionary works there. I was very thankful to be blessed me to work with such amazing people who have such a huge heart, for the kids of the Philippines. I have learned so many things from them especially patience.
Working with the kids of both Malis and Upper Javier was such a huge blessing as well. I actually have to say that I learned more from them than they might have learned from me. I remember always whining about how hot it was, and wondered how I was going to teach young kids, and at times I felt like I was going to give up. The smiles, tears, and testimonies that the kids shared with me are memories that I will never ever forget. It's what I also call my priceless treasures. The kids always gave me the strength to keep going and to continue getting up in morning. As minutes past while I was working with them, it didn't even feel like I was in a hot place. I learned that all my complaints before I even started was not even comparable to what they go through everyday. I really did learn more from them. And the more I got to know them, the more I realized that they are not just some kids that I am teaching, but my little brothers and sisters.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2012

more

October 31, 2012

Together in Hope is steadfastly dedicated to helping those who are less fortunate. Keep up the good work.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 31, 2012

more

October 31, 2012

I was fortunate enough to attend a mission trip with BUMC in conjunction with Together in Hope to El Salvador in the summer of 2010. The things I experienced truly changed my life. This organization is a superlative example of what people can be when like-minded, caring individuals put their thoughts and efforts into creating effective aid. On the trip that I personally participated in we renovated a school, worked with the kids, and put a new roof on a house that belonged to an elderly blind man. Together in Hope has made such a positive impact by delegating their focus as to establish longevity in the regions they enter, and spurring improvement from within by advocating improvements to education. I look forward to the work they'll do in the future, not only in El Salvador, but all around the world.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

October 29, 2012

more

October 29, 2012

In January 2012 I travelled with “Together in Hope” Medical and Dental Mission to San Salvador, El Salvador. “Together in Hope” was the first mission group to provide Medical and Dental outreach to the community of Alta Miraflores. I am an Emergency Nurse by training and served as one of the nurses who provided care to the Adult and Pediatric patient population. Over 5 days we were able to provide care to over 350 medical patients and 125 dental patients. Within this community one physician provides basic clinical care, these clinics are overcrowded and under resourced. When interviewing and speaking with families in Alta Miraflores many stories were told about the need for additional medical/clinic resources. I worked with the majority of the pediatric population, many children had never seen a doctor nor received basic childhood growth and development trending, baseline vision or hearing tests or immunizations. If medical care had been provided and medications prescribed the families could not afford to purchase the medication. I feel that our presences in Alta Miraflores gave hope to the community and started to build trust in “Together in Hope”. On a personal note, I was able to use my nursing and medical training to help those with great need and I would volunteer again without a second thought there is nothing more rewardin that a smile and hug from those you are helping!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers