Over 1.8 million nonprofits and charities for donors, volunteers and funders

Claim This Nonprofit

More Info

Add to Favorites

Share this Nonprofit

Donate

Nonprofit Overview

Causes: Philanthropy, Public Foundations

Mission: Fueling a movement to replace gifts of stuff with gifts of good that meaningfully connect individuals to important causes. TisBest: a better gift, a better world

Results: TisBest Philanthropy is a 501(c)3 nonprofit organization dedicated to encouraging others to give gifts of good, rather than gifts of stuff. We created charity gift cards to do just that. Charity gift cards work like conventional gift cards, but with one meaningful exception: the recipient "spends" the card by choosing which charity to support with the funds. Our charity gift cards are customizable and come in any amount between $10-$5,000. You can choose to send a 100% recycled plastic card by the mail, print a card at home on your own printer, or send an e-card directly to your gift recipient. We're passionate about getting others giving and raising awareness for our 250+ stellar charity partners. Curious who we support? We've carefully selected a broad spectrum of organizations so there's something for everyone. You can view our partners here: https://www.tisbest.org/Charities.aspx

Programs: Tisbest philanthropy has diverted millions of gift dollars from being spent on "stuff" to being spent on charities chosen by gift recipients. Tisbest provides funds to over 250 charities throughout the united states. Tisbest charity gift cards are used by thousands of people to replace "stuff" when making gifts of all sorts, including holiday gifts, birthday gifts, mitzvah gifts, professional gifts, b2b gifts, conference gifts, recruiting gifts and many others. Tisbest empowers all those gift givers to use their dollars for good, rather than more stuff.

tisbest developed the discovergiving program in fiscal year 2013 and launched the program in october 2013. The tisbest materials in the kits were used by nearly 800 elementary students to encourage giving at an early age.

Community Stories

48 Stories from Volunteers, Donors & Supporters

Client Served

Rating: 5

My family does charitable contributions instead of gifts for Christmas. Tisbest made it fun for my nephews to choose their giving. My mom emailed and called to make sure her donation was given to the correct place and was happy with the customer service. I recommend!!

1

Donor

Rating: 5

A fun & meaningful way for kids to learn about giving. The kids in our family are well fed, clothed, loved - by the time they are 9 or so they've got more than everything they need - time to learn that not everyone is so fortunate. By reading about a verity of needs & causes their world view grows. We were surprised & pleased at the charities that grabbed their hearts & imaginations!

1

Donor

Rating: 5

This is the perfect way to give to those of us (most of us) who have too much stuff but still deserve thoughtful recognition. It's always interesting to see my recipients' choices, and this remains the most frequent Christmas gift my friends and relatives receive. Interestingly, last Christmas, my brother gave me a gift certificate, and I gave him one too!

Comments ( 1 )

profile

TisBest Philanthropy 11/08/2012

What a wonderful holiday tradition! We're so pleased TisBest has become a frequent flyer for your family's holiday gifts.

1

Donor

Rating: 5

Such a great way to individualize gifts and empower people to donate to great causes.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

TisBest Philanthropy 11/08/2012

Thank you for your support!

1

Donor

Rating: 4

I have been giving Tis Best gift cards to my clients and business associates for the past 3 years. I've never known a gift to be more welcomed or appreciated. People love that they get to go through the selections and choose the charity of their choice. It's much more meaningful than donating in their name to the charity of my choice. A great way to contribute and pay it forward.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

TisBest Philanthropy 11/08/2012

Thank you so much, Barbara! We are so happy to hear how well your TisBest cards are received by your clients and colleagues.

1

Donor

Rating: 5

WE ATTENDED AN EVENT WHERE THE SPONSOR PROVIDED TISBEST CARDS TO DONATE TO CHARITY OF CHOICE. WHAT A GREAT CONCEPT THAT MADE IT EASY TO GIVE.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

TisBest Philanthropy 11/08/2012

We're so glad you enjoyed your TisBest Charity Gift Card, Tami!

1 Hillary S.

Donor

Rating: 4

We received gift cards from a friend for Christmas. It was great to sit down with each of my children and talk about all the different varieties of charities represented on Tis Best. Each child got to choose what causes were important to them. Even though the donations to each charity were not huge, I hope that there are a lot of people like me and each drop makes an ocean. Even more important to me, though, was to educate my children about ways that they can make a difference in the world for good.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

TisBest Philanthropy 11/08/2012

How wonderful to hear about your experience spending a TisBest Charity Gift Card with your children. Thank you so much for sharing your story, Hillary!

1 Cyn E.

Donor

Rating: 4

At Christmas time, and other important events, I have come to prefer gifts that honor the decent human being in each of us, that is, that share in helping others. For many years I have selected the recipient of the donation given in honor of a loved one. It was actually fun to scope out organizations that I felt were a good match with my giftee. However, it was always my choice. I was very excited to find 'Tis Best a few years ago, and since then, offer gifts of donations through them to my [adult] siblings and others close to me. I have had very positive responses from them--- rather than I choosing the recipient organization, they get the joy of sorting through the vast list and choosing their own organization. It also means that they might discover new avenues of helping, as well.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

TisBest Philanthropy 11/04/2012

What a wonderful tradition of giving! We're so glad TisBest can join your family in helping to "give a better world."

1 Emily43

Donor

Rating: 4

This was the favorite Christmas gift in my family last year. It was so beautiful to see the little ones crowded around the computer researching all the different charities they could donate to. Instead of rushing to play with all their new toys we sat around the table and talked about the different causes that are important to us and what each family member hopes to do to make a difference for their charity of choice. Thank you for bringing the family together in the true spirit of Christmas.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

TisBest Philanthropy 11/04/2012

What a wonderful way to spend Christmas. We're honored TisBest could play a small part in your family's giving experience.

4

Donor

Rating: 5

Over the last several years the privately owed company I have devoted 12 years gave 'tisbest' charity gift cards to everyone in our company for Christmas to be spent on the charities that are personally near & dear to our hearts. There are very few company's with a 'Heart' like the one I work for except I would put 'tisbest' at the top of the list! Thank you 'tisbest' for making giving so easy. The only difficult part was choosing which charity to give to! Every charity 'tisbest' represents is so worthy & dependent on our donations. Thank you for devoting your time, energy & 'Web' know-how to these worthy causes! Also, Thank you Tauck for giving us a gift worth giving!!

Comments ( 1 )

profile

TisBest Philanthropy 11/04/2012

What a generous and heartwarming tradition! We're so pleased TisBest can help you and your colleagues connect with the causes you believe in. Thank you for your support!

1

Donor

Rating: 5

For several years my family has received TisBest cards for Christmas. The younger generation is learning philanthropy through this program - they get to evaluate large numbers of organizations and "spend" their contributions. But even my siblings take time and effort deciding where to put their gifts. The gifts are small ($50) but much more meaningful than sweaters or scarfs. And they are entirely without physical trappings. The virtual cards bear my own pictures so are fun to create. The family loves to receive them. After receiving it one year, one used it the next year as gifts to clients in her business. Another sent one to me last Christmas and I, too, took time to decide where to put the money. It is such a great idea that I deeply appreciate and return to every year. Thanks, TisBest!

Comments ( 1 )

profile

TisBest Philanthropy 11/04/2012

You are very welcome! Thank YOU for your kind and generous support!