Over 1.8 million nonprofits and charities for donors, volunteers and funders

Claim This Nonprofit

More Info

Add to Favorites

Share this Nonprofit

Donate

Nonprofit Overview

Causes: Philanthropy, Public Foundations

Mission: Fueling a movement to replace gifts of stuff with gifts of good that meaningfully connect individuals to important causes. TisBest: a better gift, a better world

Results: TisBest Philanthropy is a 501(c)3 nonprofit organization dedicated to encouraging others to give gifts of good, rather than gifts of stuff. We created charity gift cards to do just that. Charity gift cards work like conventional gift cards, but with one meaningful exception: the recipient "spends" the card by choosing which charity to support with the funds. Our charity gift cards are customizable and come in any amount between $10-$5,000. You can choose to send a 100% recycled plastic card by the mail, print a card at home on your own printer, or send an e-card directly to your gift recipient. We're passionate about getting others giving and raising awareness for our 250+ stellar charity partners. Curious who we support? We've carefully selected a broad spectrum of organizations so there's something for everyone. You can view our partners here: https://www.tisbest.org/Charities.aspx

Programs: Tisbest philanthropy has diverted millions of gift dollars from being spent on "stuff" to being spent on charities chosen by gift recipients. Tisbest provides funds to over 250 charities throughout the united states. Tisbest charity gift cards are used by thousands of people to replace "stuff" when making gifts of all sorts, including holiday gifts, birthday gifts, mitzvah gifts, professional gifts, b2b gifts, conference gifts, recruiting gifts and many others. Tisbest empowers all those gift givers to use their dollars for good, rather than more stuff.

tisbest developed the discovergiving program in fiscal year 2013 and launched the program in october 2013. The tisbest materials in the kits were used by nearly 800 elementary students to encourage giving at an early age.

Community Stories

31 Stories from Volunteers, Donors & Supporters

Client Served

Rating: 5

My family does charitable contributions instead of gifts for Christmas. Tisbest made it fun for my nephews to choose their giving. My mom emailed and called to make sure her donation was given to the correct place and was happy with the customer service. I recommend!!

1

General Member of the Public

Rating: 5

This website makes charitable gift-giving so easy: they've already vetted great charities, they have a nice selection of gift cards, the process is clear and easy to navigate, and it makes transitioning from giving "stuff" to people (that they don't need) to giving them the experience of picking out organizations they want to contribute to fun. I got great positive feedback from gift recipients! Plus, TisBest makes it easy for them to respond to your gift and share what they picked if they want. All-round good design for doing good.

Trudy B.

General Member of the Public

Rating: 5

I received a card from a friend 2 years ago and was blown away... I loved the fact that I could go online and personally choose a charity to donate to. It was the perfect gift! I was contacted last year to help get out the word by distributing cards to friends, family and coworkers and jumped at the chance. It was amazing to see people's faces light up when you told them what you were giving them!

1

General Member of the Public

Rating: 5

What a perfect way to remember/honor friends and family with gifts that provide for those in need. Whether you desire to help people, animals, the environment, this is the perfect way to do so.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

TisBest Philanthropy 11/08/2012

Thank you for your kind words! We agree completely. :)

1

General Member of the Public

Rating: 5

I was first given a Tisbest gift card 3 1/2 years ago. I was inspired and started giving out Tisbest giftcards ever since. They are great for all those people you know that have everything, and don't specificallty want anything. It is a gift to them that does so much good for others. I also started last year giving one to by two young nephews so they can learn about giving during the holiday season not just receiving. I am so glad I received a Tisbest gift card years ago it has changed my gifting ever since.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

TisBest Philanthropy 11/08/2012

Wonderful! How fantastic to hear that you enjoyed your gift card so much that you now give them to your family! Thank you so much for sharing your story.

1

General Member of the Public

Rating: 5

I am a teacher and received a Tisbest giftcard from an advisee when he graduated. I LOVED this gift. I don't need any more mugs, and I really don't need any more books from B&N or coffee from Starbucks. I loved receiving "free money" that I could donate to the charity of my choice. I then turned around and gave a Tisbest giftcard to a friend's daughter for her Bat Mitzvah. What a great concept!

Comments ( 1 )

profile

TisBest Philanthropy 11/03/2012

What a fantastic gesture from your student, and how wonderful that you were able to "pay it forward" with the Bat Mitzvah gift!

1 Kim_51

General Member of the Public

Rating: 4

I used Tis Best as corporate gifts to my clients. What a great way for them to give to a cause they are passionate about. Everyone was very appreciative. Thank you Tis Best!

Comments ( 1 )

profile

TisBest Philanthropy 11/04/2012

You're so welcome! Thank you for your generous support!

1

General Member of the Public

Rating: 4

Recently I celebrated my 70th birthday. My husband and daughter, Debbie arranged a surprise birthday party with about 30 friends and family. Debbie arranged for each guest to receive a TISBEST gift card. The feedback we received from our friends and family was so reallypositive. They liked that the site offered a wide choice of nonprofits to choose from and were surprised at how easy it was to use the site. But most of all they really liked the idea that their gift was meaningful. We especially received positve comments from the middle and high school children who really liked the idea that they could help someone else.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

TisBest Philanthropy 11/04/2012

Wow! Such a beautiful way to share a birthday together. We are inspired! Thank you for your support and generosity.

1

General Member of the Public

Rating: 5

I love the idea that we get to select where we want our donation to help. And especially when giving the donations as a gift to grandchildren. They get to make the selection. It is a very good teaching lesson for the grandchildren. I have included a donation with their birrhday gifts this year.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

TisBest Philanthropy 11/04/2012

We LOVE your idea of including TisBest cards with birthday gifts! So creative and generous- thank you for helping us "give a better world!"

1 Tara16

General Member of the Public

Rating: 5

I love giving TisBest gift cards as presents because I'm not piling things people don't want on them, I know my gift will be used by someone who probably wants to give more and doesn't always get around to it, and the gift is not only appreciated by my person but by the charity my person chooses to honor. It's winning all around.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

TisBest Philanthropy 11/04/2012

Such wonderful thoughts! Thank you for sharing your experience, and thank you so much for helping us "give a better world!"

1 Ann W.

General Member of the Public

Rating: 5

I Love Tisbest and have given and recieived it for gifts often. Excellent

Comments ( 1 )

profile

TisBest Philanthropy 11/02/2012

Thank you so much, Ann!