Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
11 Reviews
1234.727275
Previous | Next
Write A Review
April 6, 2013

more


1 previous review
September 21, 2012

Tioga United is a local nonprofit who for many years have volunteered to rebuild the Tioga Community with the love and dedication of themselves and the entire community. However, there were and still ... more

April 6, 2013

Tioga United has been a blessing to more that 10,000 residents in the Tioga community and thier families. Since 1996 when a committee was formed to plan and host an annual festival, which 15 annual succesful festival have been held. Then by incorporating in 2001 and working collectvely with all our community residents, local representives, other community organization and elected officials, we have been able to make some great and positive changes in our community.
* We rebuild our playground in one day with KaBoom! and the Home Depot and 100 community volunteers.
* We sponsored 15 awesome festivals where up to 1,000 nieghbors, families and friends attended.
* we started baseballl for the first time in 30 years where over 100 young people are now enjoying.
* We rezoned and remapped our community for the first time in over 50 years so we will have a say in the development of our community.
* We hold monthly community meetings where many residents attend to be informed of what's going on in the neighborhood and in the city of Philadelphia.
* We clean over 200 vacant lots monthly.
* We host community projects to beautify our streets and landscapes.
* We have hosted 4 senior citizen's proms and are planning our 5th one now.
* We currently serve as a registered community organization to work with developers and interested applicants to get the required zoning and allow a fair process for the community to support or oppose and variance.
* We hosted a developers tour where over 100 developers and realtors participated to show the new development and to interest others in more.
* We work with all our resident, schools and universities on education issues.
* We are currently are rehabbing 6 houses for homeownership which 2 are completed and sold and we are working on the other 4.
*We have done this and much more with an all volunteer board and these are faithful and dedicated residents who love their community and believe all things are possible.
When i first moved to Tioga, I thought I died and went to heaven and I do believe we can rebuild Tioga back up so I can feel this way again. There was a 1973 article in The Philadelphia Magazine that called our community "a jungle" and it stated "if blighted North Philadelphia is to be rebuilt, they would have to do it themselves" and at first I was angry about it and then I decided we should use this article to inspire us to rebuild ourselves. All we need is a few more good partners and of course funding to continue our great work throughout the community.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 21, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Tioga United is a local nonprofit who for many years have volunteered to rebuild the Tioga Community with the love and dedication of themselves and the entire community. However, there were and still is stumbling blocks but with the help of devoted and committed board members and their faith we have been able to do some outstanding things, like host an annual festival for 13 years to promote unity in the community, rebuild our playground in one day with KaBoom and The Home Depot, rezone our neighborhood for the first time in 40 years, host monthly meetings to be proactive verses reactive, created a strategic plan to guide the future of our community growth and recently rehabbing six houses for homeownership. None of this would be possible if it wasn't for the prayers, the sincerity and the devotion of our board. I salute each and every past and current member of Tioga United and say to you Job Well Done, but we still have much more to do and can use funding and opportunities. If you can or would like to help, please calll 215-227-2858 and visit our web site at tiogaunited.org.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Many ways. I have seen us grow from a committee to a full bloom nonprofit working hard to rebuild our community one step at a time.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

More funding.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you learn about this organization?

Iam one of the co-founders and now serve as the Interim President,

What is this organization's top short-term priority?

To continue to empower our residents with information and knowledge.

What is its top priority in the long run?

To continue rebuilding our community and building longlasting relationships.

November 27, 2012

more

November 27, 2012

When I first moved to Tioga from West Philadelphia I thought it was North Philly. But my wife constantly reminded me that the section was Tioga. I am glad to be a part of the community and Tioga United because the fellowship, love and support shown by Tioga United to the community is outstanding. There is nothing as an organization, if they can, that they won't try to do to better the community and the residents.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 18, 2012

more

October 18, 2012

TU was established as a Community Organization because this neighborhood was in desperate need of such an organization, we have strived to better relationship with neighbors and the community and we would continue to do so in the future . TU has hosted unity day by requesting donations from different businesses so the community would not have to pay for anything, everything free. Unity day has helped to bond the community it was always a success. TU is in the process of renovating (6) houses for low income first time home buyers. TU has also help to start baseball for the youth, which the community did not have for a long time. TU also host Proms for our seniors which they really enjoy, we just hosted one in May already they are asking when will we have another one. So we strive to keep our community together. If you can be of any help please call 215-227-2858. Thank You in advance

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

16 years

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

recruit younger members

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you learn about this organization?

A founder

What is this organization's top short-term priority?

Community relationship

What is its top priority in the long run?

Developing houses

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers