Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
10 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
September 20, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 20, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I had the honor of meeting the executive director and his wife, my planned short visit turned into a 2-hour sit down. I have never seen anyone more dedicated to animals in my entire life. This man had a wealth of knowledge and insight to the issues involving big cats especially tigers. And I could instantly see in his eyes and expression how compassionate he is about his work. Like the old saying goes, Still Waters Run Deep; I could tell that this man is gifted and he clearly works around the clock because he instantly responded to a personal thank you email that I sent out to him at 2:30 am.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 20, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
September 20, 2013

I've actually seen Tiger Creek in-person. And its new structures are amazing. Here's the real question that everyone should be asking: If I was a big cat in the USA where would I want to live? And hands down, I can honestly say Tiger Creek. Go see for yourself!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Gift them the needed $8 million needed for construction to complete the park.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 19, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 19, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a donor for many years and I am very happy with Mr. Werner. I think he is doing an amazing job. I will continue to donate for years to come.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 21, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

more

August 21, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

As a current member, and someone who has donated several hundred dollars in the last five years, I am rather stunned to find out about the excessive salaries taken by the top positions of the organization.

Deferred compensation or not, the numbers indicate that TMLF/TCWR is not quite the
"Labor of Love" professed publicly by this charity's administrators.

I won't be renewing my membership when it expires in 2014.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 18, 2013

more

April 18, 2013

Guidestar does annual nonprofit compensation surveys, as does NonProfit
Times, and as do others. The NonProfit Times guide for 2012, for the
record, suggests that for organizations with budgets ranging between
$2.5 million - 4.9 Million, the CEO averages $119,167; the median
is
$110,500.

Brian Werner's yearly salary as CEO is $130,000
Terri Werner's yearly salary as COO is $110,000

Looks to me that they are both on target considering they each have 20
plus years of experience.

Anything in addition to these annual salaries was clearly "deferred
compensation" being removed from the books from the first 10-years of
operations.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 18, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

April 18, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

Has anyone here commenting on salaries asked why the salaries are so high? No

But to answer this question: For the first 10-years the Werner's did not draw a salary, it was collected or reflected on the books / financials but never drawn.
Well despite this the IRS expects to tax and
collect 941-employment taxes on salaries including deferred compensation.
So no matter what the Werner's drew or left or donated back the IRS still taxes and thus it’s an accounting measure reflected on the financials despite what the Werner's donate back.

People are quick to judge!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 11, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

more

March 11, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

I cannot speak to the abilities of the Werners to care for the animals. I can, however, speak to the incredibly inflated salaries - well over $300,000 between the two of them. I am a 27 year nonprofit CEO who has worked in organizations with much larger budgets - and I have never earned what he is paying himself. As a lifelong animal welfare advocate, this truly saddens and appalls me - no one goes into these fields to get rich - and while I wholeheartedly support the mission, these people are totally outrageous in their compensation, and I will not give to their organization as a result. Guidestar does annual nonprofit compensation surveys, as does NonProfit Times, and as do others. The NonProfit Times guide for 2012, for the record, suggests that for organizations with budgets ranging between $2.5 million - 4.9 Million, the CEO averages $119,167; the median is $110,500.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
February 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

It's a shame that the animals are deprived because of the greed or arroganceof the people who run these organizations. While they may be due a living stipend, constantly soliciting money so they can stuff their pockets seeems to be dishonest at the least and, at worst, a scam.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Unsure

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 6, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
January 6, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I agree, there is too much money spent on salary of the founders.n I will spend my money on better run organizations, who do not just compensate themself.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unlikely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 31, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
December 31, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

I have been a donor for several years, but I've just discovered this website. Prior to beginning to donate I checked out this group to ensure it was a legitimate enterprise and that they were really making an impact. What I didn't know until now is that the founders are VERY higly compensating themselves at $320,000 between the couple.
Brian & Terri should be ashamed of themselves. Most non-profits compensate their Directors at a nominal fee (if any) such that the majority of the revenue is spent on the animals, with some spent on investments to ensure the survivability of the organization.
I will no longer support Tiger Creek opting to redistribute my donations to other organizations who do the work for the love of the animals without regards to personal profit.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Somewhat badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers