Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
18 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
March 20, 2014

more

March 20, 2014

I certainly agree with the goals of this organization--rescuing and providing homes for the big cats that people without expertise, financial means for housing and care, and access to veterinarians have acquired. And that means virtually everyone who buys a big cat. As for the fund raising, I donate to multiple organizations and it seems as if most of them either have the same fund raisers or the fund raisers have similar methods. However, I have some sympathy for the amount of money being spent, although I would rather have to go for the animals. Basically, how many people are aware of these organizations or what they do? It is expensive to get the word out and then to compete with other similar facilities with the same mission of saving animals that should never been in private hands. I will probably continue to donate since the big cats did not contribute to their fate nor did they have choices. I'm also disgusting with the neighbors who bought property when cats were already in the area and now are trying to close down the sanctuary. Too much development! If they didn't want to be anywhere around an animal sanctuary, they should have gone elsewhere. This sounds like a lawsuit for financial gain. Shame on them.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Change the fundraising methods (stop sending dollar bills around) and comply with rating organizations.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unsure

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 11, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
March 11, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have watched this organization for several years and am very disappointed in the small amt of the donation that goes to the programs of actually helping the tigers. I will be sending a small donation within the next week (probably $5) and hope that at least $4 goes to helping the tigers at Tiger Haven. I certainly hope that you can find people that will donate their time to help you run this organization more efficiently so that most of donations rec'd will go to helping the tigers. Sincerely, Karen Frauman

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unsure

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unsure

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
March 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

This is a costly undertaking for sure, and I try to support it when I can. But your financial review on charity navigator is terrible. Your fundraising expenses are killing your program expenses, and sending out dollar bills to - what - 30,000 people?? Not a good strategy! Those who are willing to support the cause will do so regardless of the dollar bill. Those who won't, are just taking and pocketing my donated dollars. I will return it this time, but it seems I speak for others here when I say I will discontinue my support if this practice continues.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unsure

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unsure

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 18, 2013

more

January 18, 2013

Well, people please stop complaining, we are here to help out... whatever it is we are getting a lot of blessing from GOD by giving donations you have to give within the bottom of your hearth ok!!!!

More feedback...

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 20, 2012

more

August 20, 2012

Today I received $1 bill from this charity! I don't know who raised the stakes from a nickle or a quarter...? but I feel like I'm being played.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unlikely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 20, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
August 20, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

This charity is working for a great cause, but I am concerned about the amount of money being spent on fundraising efforts. I am sent some type of desperate-plea fundraising letter at least once a week, and it is off-putting. I wish they would limit those letters to 3 - 4 times a year, and spend the money saved on their operating expenses. Also, I am concerned about a lawsuit that they are fighting. Will my donation be going toward fighting that, or do they have a lawyer working for them pro bono? I wish they would address that topic in one of the frequent letters they send out.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Enlist the help of local schools to generate awareness, gain volunteers, and build support in the local community. I would also limit fundraising letters to current donors to 3 - 4 times a year.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 16, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

June 16, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

Mission is needed ! You spend all that money raising money why??? All you need is to give us pics where they live the conditions and you'll get your money!! All I see is sick big cats, where do they rome !!! Show us what the description says!!! i here the state is giving you problems why??? for real why? i have limited funds but my wife and have give in the pass I WANT TO GIVE !!! Give me the reasons with pics of the enclosures,explain why the state is doing this, i know its not your salary which must be the lowest in all these charities. i believe you are for real!!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unsure

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unsure

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 23, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

more

May 23, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

I have been on the board for a shelter and finding dependable help is difficult. It ends up the animals which are the most important thing get cared for by the people who are hard workers and things like paperwork and fundraising have to be done by paid professionals just because there are not enough hours in the day to do it all. Not the way you would like it but that is just the way it is. Donations are still needed so badly to continue to care for the unfortunate animals. They can't be adopted out like a dog for fear they end up in the same horrible situation so they are to be cared for until they die.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 28, 2011

I would hope this organization would want a favorable report and would welcome it to create more donations. In the current years they have had troubles with the state government and residents to stay in business. They have a dedication to many big cats, but to put so much money into raising donations they need to relocate their direction.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unsure

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unsure

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

August 18, 2011
3 people found this review helpful

more

August 18, 2011
3 people found this review helpful

I have been a regular donor to Tiger Haven for many years. I strongly support their mission to save/protect great cats and hope they succeed. That said, I am continually put off by what seems, at best, a somewhat chaotic management situation. Many of their requests for donations are frantic cries for help for daily disasters (e.g. "the truck won't start", etc). I have no doubt that Mary Lynn and her team do their very best, but it is really too bad that they can't persuade a good young lawyer or marketing person to come in pro bono to advise them (maybe university law students??). They seem to need vastly better daily management, awareness, and planning. Maybe that is why some raters only give them one star. I will continue to support them and I wish them good luck.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

helping them (through donations) to save great cats.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

hope that they can find some good advisors and planners to help them get the daily management of their organization on a more stable track.

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers