Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
22 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
September 6, 2014

more

September 6, 2014

I found out about Throwaway Ponies from a friend when I expressed a desire to own a horse. I went out to the ranch and saw how so many horses, abandoned and abused were loved, cared for, rehabilitated and adopted out when they w.ere ready. Karen Bander, the owner, is knowledgeable about everything horsey and helped me find a horse suitable for me.

I adopted Licorice , a Tennessee Walking Horse and little Houdini, a miniature horse in April and brought them home in May. Karen let me keep Licorice at TAPS while getting my land refenced and my donkeys gelded. She has made herself available to me to answer any questions I might have. She really goes the extra mile with all the horses in her care and I can't thank her enough for caring for my horses while I was looking for them!

Paula Baker
September 5, 2014

more

September 5, 2014

One of my places I like to donate when I can. This place is a real special haven for horses. The volunteers that work directly in the feeding and caring of these animals put so much time and devotion into what they are doing. It's great to know they are out there and helping where they can. A great organization to support.
September 5, 2014

more

September 5, 2014

I had a horse that developed a health issue that I was not able to care for. Karen took in the horse and gave him the medical attention he needed. I am so extremely grateful. I am the kind of person who considers it a lifetime commitment to an animal when I adopt one, so I felt like a failure that I could not care for my gelding. Karen came to my rescue.

It is very hard to find a rescue to take a horse when you are the owner and trying to do the right thing. Many of the rescue organizations are so overwhelmed that they only take extremely abused or abandoned horses. So I was so relieved that Throwaway Ponies helped me.

After I donated my horse, Karen gave me periodic updates on him. Eventually, he was adopted by another family who can give him the special care he now needs. I feel good about that because Throwaway Ponies has a thorough application process. They make sure the horses go to good homes.

The reason Throwaway Ponies could help me when other couldn't is because they are such a well-run organization. They have lots of very committed volunteers. They work hard not only to care for the horses, but also to help raise funds. They have been in business a number of years and are a full-scale rescue. Karen is very honest and kind. She has impeccable integrity.
September 5, 2014

more

September 5, 2014

Throwaway Ponies came to my rescue by taking my beautiful horses that I was physically unable to care for. Karen rescued me. I couldn't stand the thought that my beloved Gambler wouldn't be with me. I brought him into this world, saw his first breath, and knew I'd be there for his last. Through TAPS, Gambler was adopted by a wonderful family--another little girl and spunky boy who will love Gambler as much a I still do. Our mare, Sue, has flourished with the love and attention from the outstanding volunteers. This organization uses each penny donated for the benefit of the animals they rescue. But they also rescue people.
September 4, 2014

more

September 4, 2014

Throwaway Ponies is the best part of my week. I have have seen the difference they make in the lives of the animals they take in along with those that spend time at their facility. I am so thankful I found them
September 4, 2014

more

September 4, 2014

Throwaway Ponies is a place of compassion and healing., for horse and humans alike.
I volunteer on weekends , as I can and never thought I would be so touched to see the kids get so excited , laughing about, interacting / connecting with their horse and becoming confident in their
classes.


It's also good for the spirit to see an animal that's never known kindness , respond to your voice or touch.

THe volunteers really work hard, and are the definition of "team work" . Everyone, and their contribution matters; all of it goes back into the program,
Please consider donating your time , money, or both!
September 4, 2014

more

September 4, 2014

I had been a stay at home mom for over 25 years. I felt a little lost when when last daughter moved out. I spent a lot of time praying and trying to figure out what I wanted to invest my time and passion. My daughter's best friend mentioned she volunteered at a horse rescue. I had a horse as a child and those are some of my fondest memories of childhood. I decided to go out to Throwaway Ponies with her and the I immediately felt at home. The people were friendly and enthusiastic about what they were accomplishing. The more I was there, the more I loved. I haves been volunteering at TaPs for almost two years now. I have learned so much ab out the care and the love horses have for others. I have learned so much about myself and have discovered the fulfilling passion I find in horses. The program's foundation is developing horses and people alike. The owner, Karen Bander, makes you feel like an important member of this family. She is a true inspiration to the volunteers. Please consider helping and giving to this great Rescue. I will be eternally grateful for this season in my life.
September 4, 2014

more

September 4, 2014

We visited Throwaway Ponies just to see this wonderful organization, and visit with the horses, hoping to some day adopt. Well after being there and seeing for ourselves what they do, we were compelled to keep coming back. We fell in love with a couple rescue horses, and even though we were going through some rough financial times, Throwaway Ponies made it easy for us to adopt them. If you are looking for a good cause to donate to, please help Throwaway Ponies, all the donations benefit the animals.
September 4, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 4, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I volunteered with and donated to TaPs last year. Every dollar donated is directly benefitting the horses, people and other animals served by this organization. The experience was awesome and the people are amazing. No horse, person or animal should be thrown away - TaPS gives all a place to be useful and valued. Love Throwaway Ponies!
September 4, 2014

more

September 4, 2014

Working with the horses, donkeys, mules, AND people involved with Throwaway Ponies has been a life-changing experience for me. Volunteering at TAPS has given me a wonderful reason to get off the couch and get busy helping others. One of my jobs is to help special needs children experience the joy of being "way up high" on the back of a gentle therapy horse. It's great to see the kids interact with the horses and, later, with each other.

My favorite part of volunteering at Taps is loving and caring for the rescued horses. It's such a great feeling to gain the trust of an animal that has been abused in some way. Not all of our horses are abused, however. Some of them come to us because, by unfortunate circumstance, their original families can no longer care for them. We love them all: no matter what.

Please consider helping us at Throwaway Ponies to care for our equine friends by making a donation to this worthy cause. And thank you, Karen Bander, for allowing me this opportunity to make a difference.

Sincerely,
Cathi Menges
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Be a side walker to a challenged child; feed and/or groom horses; scoop poop; instruct children in riding. All of our staff are volunteers