Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
25 Reviews
1234.845
Write A Review
December 11, 2014

more

December 11, 2014

I have been a member of Thrive for less than a year. They put on terrific events with excellent content and speakers. It is a really nice opportunity to network and connect with peers and different players in the nonprofit sector. I highly recommend it!
October 27, 2014

more

October 27, 2014

I have been a member of Thrive almost since the beginning 2003. I have watched the organization grow and provide more & more services in San Mateo County from information, events, training's, to networking. Resulting in a strong organization from which collaborations have blossomed. I appreciate Porcia starting meetings with a small chime and a moment of silence to bring us all together in a focused way.
October 23, 2014

more

October 23, 2014

I was so skeptical about how Thrive Alliance can help non-profits. One day, I visited their quarterly meetings. I wasn't expecting much. I had a lot of assumptions the day before the meeting. I thought it was just another raw-raw meeting where everyone cheers on everyone else on then go home.

Well...I was wrong. Thrive Alliance is a great place to get information on how to run a non profit organization. I got to meet others who were in the same boat. Thrive continues to set the pace to make sure everyone knows each other. Attending Thrive meetings is like joining a team. Everyone helps everyone else out.

Porcia is the coach. She's friendly and wants to make sure you're taken care of.

You can get the most out of Thrive is to attend the quarterly meetings. It's such an encouraging place to let your guard down. You also get to meet the who's who of the non profit world. If I didn't join Thrive, I would have not personally meet the movers and shakers of the industry. It was like a dream to personally meet and speak with those who like they're out of reach. With Thrive, this makes all interactions possible.

Visit the quarterly meetings and you won't be disappointed!
October 21, 2014

more

October 21, 2014

Senior Coastsiders has been a part of Thrive since its beginning. We get invaluable support and connections through Thrive. We just participated in a volunteer fair of UCLA Alumni and it was well organized, well attended, and we felt we made some good connections and it will bring us new volunteers. Thank you for hosting this.
Cara
October 21, 2014

more

October 21, 2014

Thank you for hosting the UCLA event. We got to meet some very interesting people and made some good connections. Couple of them have already reached out to us. The questions they asked really helped us understand what people think about when they want to volunteer. Thank you for inviting us. The resources you bring to our nonprofit community are priceless!
October 17, 2014

more

October 17, 2014

I have been a member of Thrive since 2001. I originally joined the organization to network with non-profits on behalf of my students for potential internships. What I received was so very much more. I had access to a wealth of resources via the listserv and networking which assisted me in building a strong service-learning, volunteerism and leadership program at the college. Currently I'm a member of the board of Thrive. As a board member I am able to network and make connections for my colleagues in education, local government and non-profit to services and support that are not easily obtaining in other ways. Lastly, I'm a resident of San Mateo and on the board of my local homeowners associate. As a local resident it is validating to know that in San Mateo County we have an organization that is truly the voice of non-profit for the betterment of our community. Thrive is an invaluable organization in continuing to keep San Mateo County on the forefront of creating a collaborative community for all.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

invite more for profits to participate and assist in building a collaborative community for all San Mateo County residents.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 16, 2014

more

October 16, 2014

if you don't know about Thrive and you work in a non profit in San Mateo County - you are missing out.

I love the connection with younger people who are doing great service in helping our community and providing leadership inspiration in a variety of organizations. Really - I learn about
more good, mission driven work each time I attend an event.

I joined Thrive for my organization - Mercy Center in Burlingame - as a sustaining member so that we can help Thrive meet its goals of developing relationships and serving the common good. We are a religious non profit, but I meet like minded individuals who are so committed to those they support that I come away filled with hope for the world.
Thanks Thrive - and all who come to be part of this vibrant community.
Suzanne Buckley
Board member and grateful supporter
October 16, 2014

more

October 16, 2014

Our organization, Pacific Stroke Association, has been a Thrive member for over 5 years. As an ED, I thank Thrive for its continued commitment and attention to the need of small non-profits. The best reward from Thrive membership came to us recently by the way of having one of its staff member (trained and ready to take on a bigger role in non-profit) join our organization. Thank you Thrive!
October 13, 2014

more

October 13, 2014

As an independent contractor to nonprofits, a nonprofit staff member, and a nonprofit board member, I have been able to access excellent training and networking opportunities in all three roles with Thrive. I belong to several regional nonprofit alliances and Thrive far surpasses what is offered by others! I always look forward to their events and training because I know I will gain something valuable from the experience!
October 10, 2014

more

October 10, 2014

THRIVE is more than a resource - it's a catalyst. The diversity of nonprofit, government and for profit members builds community and encourages cross fertilization in all sectors and on all issues. It's like a continuous flow of information, learning, partnering and sharing - all for the betterment of San Mateo County.

There is no other organization like it and I'm so grateful it's there

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers