Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
12 Reviews
1234.755
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
October 28, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 28, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

THRIVE is a wonderful consortium of nonprofits that assists nonprofits in:
- finding collaborative partners
- learning about grant opportunities and funders
- sharing information about other organizations that host leadership and funding seminars

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have more small group working sessions for the nonprofits to discuss strategies

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 24, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 24, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

As a member of Thrive I have attended many workshops and seminars on many topics other than my primary interests. As a past Director of CARD of SMC, we trained San Mateo County Nonprofits how to survive and serve their cliental during and after a disaster, small or large.
Thrive not
accomplishes this, but cover so many other issues and concerns. It is one of the best resources in the area for information, training, networking and more.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

A bullet list of services. (i.e. publicity for nonprofit events, newsletter (other than schedule of upcoming events)

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 21, 2013

more

October 21, 2013

In my view, the primary purpose of Thrive is make useful information available to medium and small nonprofits that otherwise could not hope to get it in a personal forum. (I attended a presentation by Emmett Carson, CEO of SVCF, who basically said "I can't talk to every individual nonprofit, I can only talk to them together through organizations like Thrive.") Thrive does a good job of bringing in speakers, programs, etc., that are truly useful and thought-provoking for nonprofits. Also, Thrive does a great job of encouraging camaraderie and communication between nonprofits. At a Thrive forum, it feels like we the attendees are a true community, maybe even family, which is crucial to our sense of being in the same boat and ultimately on the same team, as well as being able to share, talk, think things through and otherwise process things as a group in ways you could never do on your own or at a really large forum of strangers or even with a few friends. Porcia and Cindy put so much professionalism and spirit into things. I think all these things help foster positive leadership in our local nonprofits.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

It might not be practical, but I think a "grid" approach to communications might help. What I mean by this is CompassPoint when it publishes its courses structures them in categories like Leadership, Technology, Finance. Thrive's would probably be different, but it could be appealing to be able to "check off the boxes" on different areas people wanted to target getting information in. However, it could be the nature of Thrive forums, in terms of booking speakers, might make that difficult.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 21, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 21, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I was a member and volunteer for Thrive before joining the board in July 2013. Thrive is a hidden gem of a resource, that deserves wider visibility and appreciation. They do wonders with a two person staff. I value the Chamber of Commerce-like camaraderie and networking, their promotion and support of the larger nonprofit community of San Mateo county and beyond. No other organization provides such easy accessibility. The programs offered are diverse and worthwhile, and for members, often free of charge. I receive announcements and communications via their listserv that I would not receive through other channels. Thrive's programs have directly benefited me and my own professional development, many organizations I have been actively involved with and friends/colleagues in the nonprofit realm. I have personally hosted two friendraiser/outreach gatherings to spread the word about this valuable community resource.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Provide financing to allow the organization the capacity to slowly expand.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Our organization has been a member of THRIVE for years. Their quarterly meetings are interesting and timely. They add to our network and help us to make our nonprofit work.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

Thrive continually offers a large variety of presentations and programs for it's member non-profits for free or very little additional cost. They operate as their mission states including having a focus on wellness for it's employees and members alike. They go out of their way to serve and connect non-profits with each other to support not only viable partnerships, but ones that can exponentially increase their positive impact in the community.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

Thrive offers a very broad array of learning opportunities for the nonprofit community in San Mateo. These are always well organized and well attended with good speakers. I loved the last one on local giving with a stellar and unusual cast of speakers from small business to large business to foundations.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 11, 2013

more

October 11, 2013

I can't say enough good things about Thrive! I've been the Executive Director at a small local nonprofit organization that is a member for about 2 years, but this position is my first foray into the nonprofit sector and first experience leading an organization. Thrive's programs have provided tremendous support and guidance for me, whether it be their quarterly forums on hot issues in our community, the leadership circle luncheons where I can connect confidentially with other local nonprofit leaders, or various other classes and programs they offer. The opportunity to connect with others in the sector is invaluable and the staff members are wonderful to work with. If you're a nonprofit in San Mateo County, you should definitely be a member!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 25, 2013

more

September 25, 2013

Having worked with so many nonprofits as a municipal governmental liaison, I saw the importance of the regular convening of nonprofit organizations, enabling nonprofit leaders to connect and collaborate around issues and topics that effect their agencies and the whole sector. I joined the board because I saw how Thrive could help be a conduit across sectors and help provide a voice, networking and education opportunities to all agencies and staff - helping the sector thrive, which in turn, helps our communities thrive. For a small organization, it has made a big impact in San Mateo County.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 28, 2013

more

August 28, 2013

We are so grateful to be a member of Thrive! The meetings are incredible resources for information that have helped our nonprofit immensely and also given us the opportunity to help other nonprofits. The connections we've made have been invaluable. Because of our Thrive membership, we connected with an organization that will provide us with exactly the right personnel we'll need to execute a crucial part of our program. Thrive is such a powerful force for good in San Mateo Country. Every county should have one. My best advice to you is, Join Today!

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers