Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
3 Reviews
123.6666745
Write A Review
December 28, 2011

more

December 28, 2011

This was for the TRF at Montpelier in Orange, VA. I volunteered for 6 plus months AND adopted a TRF ex-racehorse named Monty. TRF is a wonderful organization that tries to place ex-racehorses in forever homes as companions or performance horses. The Montpelier facility is great--they take care to match what you are looking for in a horse and they are very knowledgeable. Some (due to injuries) are good pasturemates...others (like Monty) can actually be performance horses. I worked with Monty and showed succesfully at USDF recognized shows to 2nd level dressage! You do need to be an expert horseperson to help with the horses/volunteer--racehorses can be high strung as they are being reschooled. However, there are other ways to help TRF including helping at their benefit parties or sponsoring a horse to have shoes for a year. You could buy and donate hay or other needed items. You can even sponsor the reseeding of a field or buy art at Art at the Barn.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

showing my TRF horse! He was SO HAPPY to have a new home and life with an owner that loved him!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

give it more resources! The racehorse industry, in my opinion, needs to be responsible for what happens to these YOUNG ex-racehorses.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

none--I had a great experience and would adopt again.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

new friends, new skills, felt like I made a difference

December 8, 2011

more

December 8, 2011

I am fostering a wonderful retired 13 year old Thoroughbred on behalf of TRF and they were fantastic to work with. They have been so appreciative and interested in how he is doing and getting along with his equine companions. I can tell that this horse was well cared for. The work they are doing is so important. These athletes deserve to have a comfortable happy retirement and that's what TRF strives for.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 30, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
November 30, 2011

I hope they've improved the situation in the past few months, but I think these _New York Times_ articles raise more than a few concerns: http://www.nytimes.com/2011/03/19/sports/19horses.html?_r=1 http://www.nytimes.com/2011/03/20/sports/20horses.html?scp=6&sq=%22Thoroughbred%20Retirement%22&st=cse Donor beware.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I've never personally experienced the results of this organization, but trust the NYT as a news source and hope the horses' situation will be improved.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Keep a tighter rein on the finances and not shoot the messenger/vet when they gave their condition reports.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unlikely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

How did you learn about this organization?

It may not have a big impact on most people (see prev. question), but it has one where ex-racehorses and people donating them after racing are concerned. How did I learn about this? I Looked up reviews of different organizations helping ex-racehorses.

Write A Review

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers