Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
15 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
October 31, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 31, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

TOMO is the absolute best non-profit agency I have ever been associated with, and I have been associated with quite a few! Founder Rayn B. and her board and dedicated, selfless individuals whose sole purpose is to improve the lives of children in need.

Jared S.
October 24, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 24, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have worked with non-profits for over 15 years, and I am very impressed with Things of My Very Own. They provide much needed resources to children and families with such care that you just rarely see these days. The clients that I had seen being cared for were extremely grateful and happy to be treated with dignity and respect. This is one non-profit that I would really like to see get more grants and donors because they are providing such a needed service to the community.
October 24, 2014

more

October 24, 2014

Consistently provides services to children and their families while demonstrating the utmost respect for those in need.
October 23, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 23, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have the privilege to donate to this awesome organization. together with my fb couponing group "Saving in the capital region (518) and my new organization " Couponers who Care" I was also able to volunteer a couple of times and it was a great experience, awesome people running an awesome charity.
October 23, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

more

October 23, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

I looked for years for a volunteer opportunity that made me feel good. I never felt fulfilled. Until I started spending my free time at Things of My Very Own. Knowing that I am part of an incredible organization that does amazing things for so many children, gave me exactly what I needed. I believed so strongly in this organization that my entire family became involved. I look forward to many more years of seeing Things of My Very Own grow and continue the amazing things they do for children each and every day.
October 20, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

October 20, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

I have had the extreme pleasure of working with CEO, Rayn Boncie for several years. Her non-profit, Things of My Very Own, (TOMVO) has provided emergency aide, school supplies, clothing, diapers, etc. to many of my clients through out Schenectady, Saratoga and Fulton Counties. Rayn always goes above and beyond to ensure each child has whatever they are in need of whether it be a winter coat, a toothbrush or warm blanket. For example, while working at an agency's foster care prevention program, I called Rayn to ask if she could help out a few of my families with book bags and school supplies, she not only supplied all my client's children with book bags and school supplies, she supplied all of the children in the foster care prevention program as well as the agency's families first program with them also. Rayn Boncie and her organization, TOMVO is an asset to all the communities she serves.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 20, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 20, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I run a charity softball tournament every summer in Schenectady's Central Park. I usually choose a local charity to split the benefits with the folks I run it for. Two years ago I was searching for another local charity to give to, when someone I know and trust recommended I talk with Rayn Boncie from Things of My Very Own. After learning she runs this organization by herself, from her home, on top of having her own children by the way, with 100% volunteers, and then hearing how many children she actually comes to the aid of each year in the surrounding counties as well as Schenectady - I was convinced who I'd be running my tourney for, and I was also floored by the benevolence of certain people among us called Saints. You are a Saint Rayn - and I am glad to be a small help to your cause.
Sincerely, Chris Foti of The Fraternal Order of Police 8

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 18, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 18, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I've been volunteering for TOMVO for several years and am always amazed at the range of aid that is provided along with the devotion and dedication of its Founder, Rayn Boncie. Children and families in our community are very fortunate to have an organization who is as committed to them as TOMVO.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 18, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 18, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I've volunteered for this organization in two different roles. As a member of the 501st Legion, I attended a Literacy event as a Stormtrooper from Star Wars to entertain the children and attract interest to the cause. As a friend of the organization I've picked up and delivered needed supplies from a retail supplier to the company's owner when the desperate plea was announced online for a driver on multiple occasions.

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

seeing the happy faces of the children.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

get them more funding. There is a desperate need for more money, more supplies for needy children and mothers.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

I wish they could afford to hire me because then I'd spend all my time making deliveries on their behalf.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

I've become closer to the organization's owner. I cherish the friendship with a genuine, caring individual.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Excellent.

October 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

This organization is one of the best around. The founder cares so much for the children that she serves, she puts them before herself. This organization helps those who are in need the most - children ripped out of their homes, often in the middle of the night, with nothing but the clothing on their backs. Things of My Very Own provides them with clothing, support and other items to help them through their transition. The founder told me a story of a teenager that she gave her first pillow to - can you even imagine not owning a pillow until you are in your teens? Her immense dedication to this organization is unparallel to any other that I have seen. This is truly a great nonprofit organization that needs so much assistance to be able to continue doing what it does best - help the helpless.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers