Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
10 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
October 20, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 20, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have had the extreme pleasure of working with CEO, Rayn Boncie for several years. Her non-profit, Things of My Very Own, (TOMVO) has provided emergency aide, school supplies, clothing, diapers, etc. to many of my clients through out Schenectady, Saratoga and Fulton Counties. Rayn always goes above and beyond to ensure each child has whatever they are in need of whether it be a winter coat, a toothbrush or warm blanket. For example, while working at an agency's foster care prevention program, I called Rayn to ask if she could help out a few of my families with book bags and school supplies, she not only supplied all my client's children with book bags and school supplies, she supplied all of the children in the foster care prevention program as well as the agency's families first program with them also. Rayn Boncie and her organization, TOMVO is an asset to all the communities she serves.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 20, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 20, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I run a charity softball tournament every summer in Schenectady's Central Park. I usually choose a local charity to split the benefits with the folks I run it for. Two years ago I was searching for another local charity to give to, when someone I know and trust recommended I talk with Rayn Boncie from Things of My Very Own. After learning she runs this organization by herself, from her home, on top of having her own children by the way, with 100% volunteers, and then hearing how many children she actually comes to the aid of each year in the surrounding counties as well as Schenectady - I was convinced who I'd be running my tourney for, and I was also floored by the benevolence of certain people among us called Saints. You are a Saint Rayn - and I am glad to be a small help to your cause.
Sincerely, Chris Foti of The Fraternal Order of Police 8

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 18, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 18, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I've been volunteering for TOMVO for several years and am always amazed at the range of aid that is provided along with the devotion and dedication of its Founder, Rayn Boncie. Children and families in our community are very fortunate to have an organization who is as committed to them as TOMVO.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 18, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 18, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I've volunteered for this organization in two different roles. As a member of the 501st Legion, I attended a Literacy event as a Stormtrooper from Star Wars to entertain the children and attract interest to the cause. As a friend of the organization I've picked up and delivered needed supplies from a retail supplier to the company's owner when the desperate plea was announced online for a driver on multiple occasions.

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

seeing the happy faces of the children.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

get them more funding. There is a desperate need for more money, more supplies for needy children and mothers.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

I wish they could afford to hire me because then I'd spend all my time making deliveries on their behalf.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

I've become closer to the organization's owner. I cherish the friendship with a genuine, caring individual.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Excellent.

October 17, 2012

more

October 17, 2012

This organization is one of the best around. The founder cares so much for the children that she serves, she puts them before herself. This organization helps those who are in need the most - children ripped out of their homes, often in the middle of the night, with nothing but the clothing on their backs. Things of My Very Own provides them with clothing, support and other items to help them through their transition. The founder told me a story of a teenager that she gave her first pillow to - can you even imagine not owning a pillow until you are in your teens? Her immense dedication to this organization is unparallel to any other that I have seen. This is truly a great nonprofit organization that needs so much assistance to be able to continue doing what it does best - help the helpless.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 11, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 11, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Things Of My Very Own, Inc. (TOMVO) is a non-profit, 100% volunteer-run organization initiated by Rayn Boncie in 2008. They provide crisis intervention services to children that have experienced extensive abuse and/or neglect, and those in at-risk situations, within four hours of contact. Believing that no child should have to wait to have the basic neccessities, TOMVO provides clothing, emergency food, school supplies, hygiene items and household goods to children on an immediate-need basis. As a result of her working 80-90 hours a week out of her home, approximately 5,000 children in the Capital region (including 10 counties) are assisted on an annual basis. Whenever I am able, I am proud to donate time, money and school supplies, as I believe in Rayn's words of "what these children in need have endured, does not define who they grow up to be".

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 10, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 10, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have worked with Rayn many times over the last two years.She has went above and beyond to provide the children of Schenectady County .Ms.Boncie is an extremley dedicated and committed woman who goes out of her way to serve at risk youth and families.Her passion for helping those in need is amazing as she never says no and always finds a way to get the need met.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 9, 2012

more

October 9, 2012

Rayn Boncie has greatly impacted her community and outlying areas. She genuinely cares about families in crisis situations and will whole heartedly go out of her way to ensure that they are provided with basic resources within 4 hours of contact. Rayn opperates her organization in a manner that is both welcoming and friendly to volunteers while maintaining a professional level.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 9, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 9, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My experience with and professional knowledge of Things Of My Very Own, Inc. began 3 years ago. In every family I served in Schenectady County, TOMVO and Rayn Boncie's work has provided exceptional service, products ranging from diapers, seasonal clothes to all ages, bedding, housewares, educational materials of wide and excellent range, any item that enhances the integrity, healing, forwarding and sense of both community and personal support. Rayn Boncie in TOMVO provides the beautiful and rare combination of "all systems go" with qualified, equipped, thoughtful, dynamic, resourceful and dedicated practice. I served very challenged parents, children and families who want badly to give their children and family the right things in life. And, every time, really, TOMVO came through in even more extraordinary and poignant provisions to nurture these children, and parents to rebuild their lives and hopes and dreams for their future. Whether it was any old every day, a consistent period of need time frame, an emergency, holiday set-up, or last minute holiday "come-through" for this lost child or set of persons, TOMVO has been accessible, organized, set, flexible, astute and at the ready for every client I've ever brought to its enterprise or just called to see if we could do something here. This organization and its services are to my experience, professional and personal assessment the best in character, caliber, delivery, skilled & smart provision, perceptive needs assessment and deft organization and follow through!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 8, 2012

more

October 8, 2012

I had the opportunity to do some volunteer work for this organization as part of the 2012 COSIA Charity Beneficiary Program. Rayn Boncie is doing wonderful work for the community and the children by providing crisis intervention services to abused and/or neglected youth. I wish that more people knew about this organization, so that she could do even more. When abused and/or neglected children are placed in a new environment, it is a great gift to receive a book, toys, clothing, toiletries, and even school supplies. Every kid deserves a few things of their very own especially those children served by this organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers